You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemHQ.com Community Witness wants YOU! Join now and get a witness - The next rounds starts soon on April, 1st

in #steemit6 years ago

This is very similar to my project that gives back to the community by creating more nodes (which I noticed you didn't mention or list here) to increase blockchain efficiency and integrity as these are essential to keeping the network running smoothly. Producing a witness for profit by selling votes (or voting for one with the promise of returning a profit) in my opinion is a questionable practice. Especially when the payouts are returned in favor of those with the most voting power. This essentially allows the witness to be "purchased". It's clever marketing I'll say, however it promises absolutely no more stability for the network and it's applications, nor does it fairly promise to distribute it's profits amongst all voters. Though tempting, I had to make the decision not to "sell" votes for my witness and opted to earn them organically. To each his own. Good job nonetheless.

Sort:  

Hi @justinadams,
thanks for your constructive feedback.

First of, thanks for bringing your project to my attention - I fully support you with one of my witness votes from my main account @roomservice. I guess I can speak on behalf of the Steem community, that your work is much appreciated!

Right now Steem is designed all about Steempower, which means that the larger the stake of Steem is, the more influence and profit can be made on this platform. Many whales use the system to their advantage when delegating their Steempower for a fee or selling their votes on voting bots.

The reward distribution on the Community Witness currently follows these principals of Steempower but I totally get your point on a more fair and wider distribution of Steem to the community.

If interested, I made a proposal on how to (in my opinion) improve Steem right here:
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@steemhq/how-to-make-steem-great-again-the-exponential-author-reward-method

Thanks for replying. And thanks for your vote! I have to admit that was completely unexpected. It is unfortunate that there is a disparity in distribution of steem monetary units. Just be very careful about it because the way you intend to distribute rewards leaves an open opportunity for some who may have malevolent intentions. That part of the campaign is really hard and I definitely respect your effort to find a way around that without stepping on too many toes the wrong way or seeming biased.
willie.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34