You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notice to Tag Spammers

in #steemit8 years ago

Having worked on websites before tags are given weight according to their placement. So in a 5 tags allowed system, this goes as follows, Tag1- 100% Tag2-80% Tag3 60% Tag4 40% and Tag5 20% My understanding of this is the first tag must match exactly with what you think the main category for your post should be. If that is not the case I would call it abuse. As for the other tags, those are usually supplementary to the main Tag and the responsibility of what weight they are given should not fall on the poster. I do not use reddit and do not know how reddit deals with tags, my definition of tag abuse is different, but I will limit myself to one or two tags from now on. The posting process seems to invite people to use 5 tags, without notice of restrictions. When posting about Steemit on twitter I use tags like #Bitcoin, #Ethereum, I made the choice to use those tags based on the audience I am targeting and not the content of my tweet. If I am to tag my tweets with #Steem or #Steemit I will be talking to myself. This does not mean on steemit it is OK to abuse the tag to target a certain audience, but how these tags were supposed to be used was not crystal clear.

Sort:  

This may be controversial, but to me abuse is repeatedly mis-tagging, pseudo-tagging, or ninja-tagging. If a person does tag the first tag correct, it doesn't necessarily mean they are abusing the tagging system. It might mean they are tagnorant or a bad speller.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00