3 Tips On Turning Followers Into Friends

in #steemit7 years ago

3 Tips On Turning Followers Into Friends.png

In my never ending quest to find the perfect formula for growth here on Steemit I drew up my 5-500-5000 plan...

Essentially, I want to interact with 5 new people each day, build my followers up to 500 and with a lot of luck and hard work...Get 5000 Steem and power it up!

Last week, I talked about what we can control and using our ability to reach out to newer Steemians, interact and show support for members that have just joined. The idea is simple enough...Actually CARE about others and their experience here on Steemit and you will build great relationships down the road...

Relationships...

This is really what this place is all about if you ask me! Getting to know, like and trust others on the platform and having them do the same with you.

Today I was reading a book by Ken Davis called 'Fully Alive' and in it here had this to say about building friendships rather than fanbases...

IMG_0491.jpg

I thought it was brilliant!

And while we aren't expected to become buddy buddy with thousands of people on Steemit, what if we treated our followers like...Friends instead of just numbers to boost our ego.

And how can you do that?

It's easy!

Interact and engage with people as much as you can.

Here's 3 super easy tips that you can use right now to help develop friendships rather than just followers...

  • The obvious solution is to respond to EVERY single comment on your blog. I see this being such a missed opportunity for lots of Steemians...You don't have to upvote everyone, but at least comment. It shows respect that they took time to comment on your blog, the least you can do is give that same respect back.

  • Next, you can always use that little technique I talked about last week and get out and say hi! to newer Steemians. But maybe, if one of the people starts interacting back with you...Give them a follow. Obviously you don't need to follow everyone, but the idea is to find like minded individuals and share experiences on the platform.

  • Comment on the blogs you follow and your followers blogs! Crazy right? Heaven forbid you actually COMMENT on other blogs. And don't comment with the hope and a prayer that you are going to get an upvote, do it because you want to actually ENGAGE with people. This platform is at it's best when we interact with each other.

Doing these things over time I truly believe will help us develop those relationships long term and turn a follower into a friend.

That should be the ultimate goal of anyone trying to build a community or be part of one...We need more friends! And I'm grateful that we can do that here on Steemit!

I look forward to interacting with anyone that reads this post and calling you a friend one day :)


UpvoteFollowResteem.png

Sort:  

Comment on (snip) your followers blogs!

This is actually a lot harder to do than I wish it was. I have a similar growth strategy to you (though kinda took a break the last two weeks), and part of that entails engaging with followers to make them more active followers.

Unfortunately, there's no easy way to see a blog stream of my follower's posts (without following them all back).

I suppose that's kind of the point, though.

Yeah it's a catch 22 for me. I wanna follow so many people but then it just becomes a nightmare trying to keep up with it all. And I'm just a minnow lol These whales and dolphins must go through a lot just trying to keep up.

What I tend to do is look for accounts that are posting about things I’m interested in, who are also actively engaging with other accounts on the platform (eg people upvoting posts on the tags I’m into).

Then I engage with those people, but I tend to unfollow anyone who keeps posting stuff not related to my core interest, because otherwise I miss stuff in my feed from the people posting stuff that I am interested in.

It’s not so much a follow/unfollow strategy as it is an attempt to find people posting business/entrepreneurship content that isn’t just about steem or crypto

I hear you. At first I thought the only things talked about here was crypto lol And decided to just do what I did outside of steemit, here....Which includes the live stream and book review. The live stream is taking a lot of work to get going but seems to capture the attention of entrepreneur types...Still trying to find the right 'formula' for content here tho..

Well, you and I have somewhat similar goals. I could actually care less about my follower number. It's out of my control. I leave that to them.

I am much more concerned about my 'following' column. I actually edit that column. When I have followed someone that doesn't measure up I trim them there. So what I have in my feed is stuff I want to see.

I passed 2 months yesterday. And I got my slider! That is huge for me, I have averaged near 20 comments per day, and now expect to move that to 50. Engage, engage, engage. I already have a list of 'friends' that I know like and trust, and that is going to get larger!

Another great post, Jon. Thank you for it.

Came to say this, I am probably 15 posts a day behind you, but. I care more about pruning who I am following so I can extract value other than SBD, I want to learn not just earn.

You and me both! Earning is a bonus, the learning for me is what is key!

Appreciate it man! Yeah dude I'm stuck on Busy until I get some more SP lol . It's cool though, it's working great right now as is. Loving the engagement for sure, this place thrives off it.

Yup, and I agree....Trimming is required every now and again lol

Just treating people like you would in real life is what I aim to do. Simply show a bit of repect with a please or thank you or at least an aknowledgement. Great post!

Thanks so much for the comments! Yeah simple to do, yet so many seem to forget how much of an impact a simple comment can be for a newer Steemian.

If I'm not following one of my followers and he or she comments on my blog, I almost always check their blog out and if there's something recent I have a comment on, I do and upvote.

If recent posts are from a domain I'm not familiar to, I try to keep quiet. :)

LOLOL Very good advice sir!

These are good tips. Really learning allot from your posts, i mean that is the reason i followed you.

Appreciate that sir! Glad you enjoyed it!

Just treating people like your friends, to converse with them and share information with each other. It is that simple.

Agreed. Basic human need is communication....Why not spread it to those that give it to you :)

Thanks for the comment sir!

You got a 1.44% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @jongolson!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 1.92% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @jongolson! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86