How To Watch Your Voting Power And Your Bandwidth

in #steemit7 years ago

How To:

So there has been an issue around here lately with new accounts quickly running out of voting power and bandwidth. So I figured I would try to explain how to keep an eye on these two things.



Source


Simply and Easily

I use a site called SteemD.com to keep an eye on my voting power and bandwidth. Put your username in the address bar like this http:// steemd.com/@your.user.name.here. It will bring up all your stats including everything you have done on Steemit even all the upvotes you give and receive. To find your remaining voting power and bandwidth look in the top left corner.


Steemit2.png
Source


Knowledge Is Power

Knowing these 2 things can be very helpful. It lets you know how diminished your voting power is. I try not to let my voting power get much below 80% because you regain 20% voting power everyday. This means that everyday I will start fresh with full voting power ready to find new posts deserving of the rewards. Your upvote is worth nothing if you run out of voting power . Also a new problem around Steemit has been running out of bandwidth. When this happens you get a message stating you are out of bandwidth and you cannot do anything until it refills or you power up.


Steemit1.png


This is the message a friend of mines son received after he ran out. It can be very frustrating because you are helpless to do anything here after you run out. So always try to keep an eye on these two things. I hope this has been a helpful post for new people here. If it has been helpful or you think it can be helpful then please leave an upvote to allow the post to be seen by more people. Thank you for reading and see you in the next post.

Follow and Upvote to show Support!

Sort:  

Very helpful, I've been wondering for a while how I check my voting power!

For new members the bandwidth really can be a problem and editing posts also takes the same amount of bandwidth as making a news post.

i just created a simple tutorial that can avoid the bandwidth usage:

(By using "site inspector" editor to preview changes)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@techtek/how-to-fake-your-steemit-pay-outs-and-prank-someone-how-to-edit-and-preview-your-posts-without-using-bandwidth-simple-trick

Yup, good call!! We must all learn to utilize all the high class tools offered at SteemTools, there are some gems in there. I know I'm trying to anyway :D
Cheers!

Steemy or Not always makes me laugh.

thanks joey!

No problem. I hope to do more "helpful" posts like this.

Was the format good? And my writing? Sorry I'm no writer lol.

Thanks for the info.

No problem. Thanks for stopping by.

This post has received a 0.60 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @joeyknowsbest.

If you have 50% voting power, and you upvote something, do you lose half as much voting power as you would if you had 100% power?

No still the same 2% I think.

Informative man

Amazing... I just joined yesterday and both have run out already... oops! This is a really important post so thank you!
<3
Hart Floe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55