You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you think steemit is good enough ?

in #steemit7 years ago

One thing I see so much in the promotion groups on Facebook is this rampant “follow for follow” and “upvote for upvote” attitude prevailing among newer users.

Steemit is not Facebook. It is not Instagram. So many people are conditioned to the world of F4F that many are trying to bring that to Steemit...I think these people think they’re supporting each other, but I think it’s quite the opposite.

Steemit is about finding your community and digging into it. Sure, there are Steemit Celebrities out there (most who earned such titles by simply calling themselves Steemit celebrities long enough that they became one), but it’s really about the content.

I joined in October of 2016. I have used the earnings from my Steemit account to pay bills and essentiallly survive as I am a professional musician, and Steemit has really helped during those hard or slow times.

However, I feel that I worked for my Followers. I engage people in conversation in the comments, I answer questions, I ask questions, I converse with others in their comments.

It’s all about value here. Not in a monetary sense, but a higher sense. The true value of a post is not just whether or not you like it, but also whether or not you think it is quality...and that’s been the biggest roadblock with the surge of new users and trying to explain the difference between a Like and an Upvote. They value different things.

Great post. I thought the headline was a little shocking, as of course everything can be improved upon, but after reading the article, you have some great ideas here. Best of luck! Cheers! :)

Sort:  

Thanks for this amazing support, about facebook yes I hate that and I saw what is happening there, and this why I converted my facebook group with more than 18000 members to change the situation. Now my group is not free because I work hard to make people there follow the rules by not spamming or asking for upvotes or follows or whatever but I organized there very well and I try to help new people by shoing the best way to grow in steemit and if they will follow my rules step by step they will successed for sure. Here is the idea and the consept of the group : Steemit for resteem group rules.

If you want to be a participante in that you are welcome, because have also a kind of partnership, here are the details of that : Earn 30% with the group ↕

My group is organized there and if someone will post there he will never get comments from others because I turn off comments to any post there and always check if they are resteming each other and following the rules of steemit and the group or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57