You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hard Fork 19 Reminder (this Tuesday) + Steemit Needs Series: Please comment with your ideas to improve Steemit!! | E. 7 | June 15th, 2017 | Community Engagement | Archives to help Developers / Community.

in #steemit7 years ago

This is more of a query than anything and anyone is welcome to chime in...but do you think the voting power situation is going change whether or not (in general) vote for their own posts? Especially lower-level minnows who don't have a ton to begin with?

I've always voted for my own post, because when I had a bunch of SP it wasn't worth much, and when it was, I'd already dipped into the honey jar and didn't have as much as I did before...but now I feel almost greedy at the thought of it.

I didn't before...I mean, my mother told me when I was running for elementary student council, "If you can't vote for yourself, how can you expect anyone else to vote for you?" And that has stayed with me, regardless of whether or not that logic is solid...I'm just saying that I highly doubt Trump voted Clinton (although I hope he did just for irony's sake).

I digress.

Anyone else have thoughts on this or a plan on what you are going to do on your own posts? Slider? Low percentage?

Sort:  

Well, we could not blame them because they did not invest in the platform for nothing, they have to make sure they're going to earn returns with their investments. There are just those who were lucky to receive their votes.

The thing is, there is an incentive to vote for yourself, and if there is an incentive, then x.x% of users will always be doing it.

Either the option to vote on yourself is taken out and nobody does it, or everyone should do it...

Edit: Also remember that the ability to vote for one's self also creates an incentive to buy and power up Steem - which is good for everyone.

I think it should be a given that each account will upvote it's own posts. Once. However, I consider the situation of multiple accounts, and how that can drain the Steemit account to extract personal wealth.

The classic problem of the commons.

I haven't thought of a reasonable way to limit the number of accounts an individual can have, or a different valid reason to do so - but this is a valid reason. In the event that Steemit becomes a platform for governance, it will be necessary to limit a person to voting but once.

Anybody else care to share thoughts on this issue?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68