You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WTF IS GOING ON WITH @NULL AND ITS 35 FOLLOWERS?

in #steemit8 years ago

See, now thats the way to explain something. Not like the assholes before You. But for every kind considerate and polite person in this world there are atleast 3 absolute pricks.

Sort:  

I agree people should remain civil. While you are certainly likely proud of your achievements and should be, titles and degrees don't mean too much to a lot of people. Myself included. I don't have a degree, but have taken over jobs people with PhDs (from a good school) in Computer Science were not handling. I could have had a degree, but I became very angry with the speed they were teaching. I was in my last year for a B.S. in Computer Science and I saw them slow the class down for people that had no aptitude and really would have benefited from an advisor helping them find something they were actually good at. I was young, stubborn, and pissed I was paying thousands of dollars to twiddle my fingers while they taught such people. Later I worked for a place where I dealt with a lot of students and professors from different colleges all over the country. I encountered on one case a person with two PhDs and working on her third. She was a moron. These days degrees are meaningless... they give them to anyone that spends time and money. It is not a good measure of how knowledgeable a person is or skilled. If I were hiring people I'd accept applications from degree holders and non-degree holders, but I'd test the skills of the applicant with a test I made up. They wouldn't necessarily have to solve it then. I'd also be watching their thinking process, and how passionate they are, and how able to learn.

So why did I tell you this? Degrees are frowned at by some people because you can almost get them from a cracker jax box. If you are writing a post about yourself, feel free to share them.

When you are angry or concerned about something... don't throw them out there unless asked. Doing so is kind of like bludgeoning someone into accepting your point of view as some Appeal to Authority due to your degrees. Appeal to Authority is a form of logical fallacy. YOU DID NOT DO THE FALLACY part. You did not say "I am right because I have these degrees". That is good.

Yet some people could have read that as being implied. Really that is their own fault. We should try not to make assumptions. Yet I think all of us do make mistakes and assume from time to time.

I have a rule to keep it civil. I simply don't talk to people that are not civil. So even if you said something that annoyed me (you didn't) I would have replied with civility.

I kind of ignored the degrees in your post to be honest. I didn't even register them until I read someone elses comment. Why? They are meaningless to me. I've encountered far too many paper tigers in my life (people who look amazing on paper and don't know shit) that I don't really care one bit about papers and titles.

You on the other hand. If you worked hard and learned, and it is an achievement you are proud of. That is a good thing.

now that is a great comment !! good to read this one. ; - )

You're not very polite yourself because polite and kind people don't lower themselves into profanities like you have done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35