You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem with One-Sided Conversations

in #steemit8 years ago

That's a great observation! I haven't thought of it that way. The "Replies" section could really do with an unread notification to make sure things don't go unnoticed. I'll request for that feature on your behalf, if I can't code it by myself. Man, I consider that a gamechanger in terms of unnoticed replies. Thanks for bringing that up. I can't believe that went unnoticed.

The "Replies" section does seem to look very discreet, and I hope that change will rectify it somehow. I'll send you a DM in chat with the screenshot of that request.

I'm sure glad that you've already gone over that hump! Welcome to the other side. I have no doubt that you haven't damaged enough that you can't repair. This shift in consciousness is what I really wanted to have with this article. Having your reply go unnoticed by the poster can be really disheartening, since you spent some time crafting that comment. I can't speak for anyone else, but at least that's how I feel.

It's great you pointed out that "me"-mentality, because I feel very strongly about that. Social networks by definition are meant to promote socialization. I don't know when it came to be but it evolved into something more of a place to showcase ones own thoughts and work. That's all well and good. It's human nature, and every one has the right to do that. But, the problem starts when everyone just focuses on themselves. All those promotion bombs without checking other people's content. There doesn't even have to be long conversations or relationship-building, there just has to be some sort of reciprocity to acknowledge other people's effort.

Yours is probably the longest comment this post has received so far, and it that doesn't scream thoughtfulness, I don't know what does. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50