You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I started blogging within a community 14 years ago: 20six versus Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Great post…and one that really brings back memories for me. I started a blog about bikes in 2005 on a .blogspot domain (before Google bought Blogger). Back then, I was amazed that I could connect with people all around the world who shared the same passions and interests, and I absolutely loved the community that developed around my blog. Things changed with the advent of social media, monetization, and blog focused PR. As my blog grew bigger than I ever thought it would, I started to feel burned out. It felt more like a chore than a passion, so after 10 years of blogging, I ended it in 2015.

I really missed those early days of blogging though, and Steemit has come to fill that void for me. I should probably follow your lead, and elaborate more about that connection in a post of my own, but I really am grateful for the community that I have found here. To me, the “earnings” are just a bonus. That feeling of connecting with people who share similar interests is what it’s all about.

Sort:  

I'm SO SO glad you have found 'us' and Steemit! I can relate to your feelings of being burned-out too - it can weigh heavy upon you once you have readers, and maybe even ad income...

I've used blogspot too, I've had several 'side adventures', and then got totally absorbed in the twitter-facebook stream as well.

That period just ended and then there's Steemit. I'm more aware now of what I want to put in and where I have to lay some boundaries. I'm here for the long haul and don't want to be burned out in the future :-)

Please share your story if you feel like writing! If not: just keep doing what you are doing and enjoy the community here.

I appreciate your personal note to my blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45