Reputation Experiment - Will $100 worth of Steem Power Raise my Reputation Score?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

At exactly 6:30 PM EST I will be buying $100 worth of Steem Power with the sole purpose of determining if a simple investment would make a difference in my Reputation score. As of this moment, my reputation score is 46.

I am well aware that the reputation score is determined by the history of votes received by the account, but I am also sure that almost everyone checks the poster's Steem power before upvoting or replying to their posts. So my theory is that, by possessing more SP, I will likely garner more upvotes; and therefore my reputation score should rise accordingly.

I will post again in 24 hours and we will learn together from this little experiment.

If nothing happens, I'll still be happy to have more Steem Power for the long run.

UPDATE 1: 8:45 pm - I haven't been able to complete the BTC-Steem trade on Bittrex (I'm such a noob). I will update as soon as it goes through.

UPDATE 2: 9:45 pm - The transfer is complete. Now all we have to do is wait 24 hours and do a new post. Stay tuned folks!

Sort:  

Do you really think that most people check someone's steem power before commenting or upvoting? I never do and base my vote on the post alone.

Still, happy to upvote your experiment :0)

Thank you for your support, but yes, I really believe this to be true. We'll just have to wait to find out. I just hope this doesn't backfire and LOWER my rep score due to misinterpretation!

Don't worry, I have a feeling that your rep score will neither increase or decrease!!! I look forward to checking though!!

I don't think people do check out peoples steempower before voting, i had 87 upvotes on my very first post 2 weeks ago and a miniscule amount of sp.

I'm not "asking" for reputation, I'm experimenting with how and why people upvote in the first place. You see, I admittedly also do a combo check (Rep Score, SP, SBD) on whomever's article I choose to read before upvoting and commenting. And I'm betting that 95% of Steemians do the same. Especially if they are minnows or Dolphins. It's a legit experiment.

I don't think that many people do that, or at least I hope not. For the long term future of steem I hope most people come back for the content or to be part of the community.

I appreciate the experiment nonetheless

Keep us up to date brotha! Upvoted and Followed. I'll check your other stuff out too! Check mine out when you get a moment :) I've posted 2 articles that you may be interested in :)

-CryptoRock

I'm curious too. I did a google search for exactly this and your post popped up at the top of the list! :) Looking forward to the results.

2 weeks later and my rep score has moved up only 1 point. And even that may be because of more followers I'm getting. I wonder if I buy $1000 worth of SP? Hmmm

Yea, go for it!

good i like it Followed & Upvoted Thank you!!!

Thanks! I will keep you posted!

I Don't think that doing this will have any effect whatsoever on your reputation.

It is indeed a small amount, and the rep score will probably not move much, but it's still a valid experiment for us minnows.

The reputation score should only be affected by the votes you receive, so buying Steem Power should not result in any change as it is not associated with reputation. It should increase your Voting Power however and each of your votes should be worth more, so you will in turn be able to affect more the reputation score when you vote with the additional power you get.

Exactly my theory. Now we'll see if it can be proven.

very interesting. We wait!

@jaysanz

That's not quite how rep works.

Here's a tool @blueorgy wrote to help you out when trying to figure out the your rep based on the new system : http://steem.cool

Here's one that @jesta wrote as well that may give some insite into the voting and rep system as well : https://steemstats.com

Ugh, and as usual, slammed with a stipid error trying to remove my own upvote. WTF Does taking back an upvote on my own post generate an error?

Transaction failed: abs_rshares > 30000000: voting weight is too small, please accumulate more voting power or steem power

i cant even vote anymore because the error keeps popping up

I put this article together before finding yours, adds to your experience. Hoping it helps others

https://steemit.com/steem/@xerxes612/you-voting-weight-is-too-small

It is waiting for the result!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42