SteemIt - Voting Weight Is Too Small, Please Accumulate More Voting Power or Steem Power

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Just got an error message when I attempted to upvote a post. Was pretty surprised, I didn't realize that this could happen.

I have discovered that, more or less, I used up too much steem power upvoting people and my content was not generating enough upvotes to compensate for it. Its all about the steem power.

Sounds like 25-50 upvotes per day for us n00bs until we gain enough reputation to muster more...

Here is what the message looks like:

This post from @arhog (operates a SteemIt witness node and appears to be a very capable programmer) is quite informative.

https://steemit.com/steem/@arhag/where-does-the-money-come-from-a-look-into-the-economics-of-steem

Essentially, SteemIt is constantly taxing us to provide incentive to miners to operate the blockchain. (Steem has two types of wealth taxes - hidden as an inflation tax). It taxes liquid STEEM at approximately 50% per year, and it taxes Steem Power at a variable rate of less than 5% per year) If you're not adding steem to your account, either by generating through content creation and curation OR buying more steem power, eventually you'll run out of steem to participate. To add a wrinkle, if the market cap for Steem increases at a rate of aprox 5% or greater, users don't need to worry because the gain will take care of their taxes allowing them to participate.

He also walks through some of the psychological narratives driving this platform. Quite the interesting read, highly recommend it. First great source of information.

Ultimately, be careful not to over upvote if unlikely to be reciprocated.

Also, anyone realizing any best practices to avoid this beyond purchasing Steem?

Sort:  

Haven't run into this, let me upvote all your stuff. Might give you more points to keep going

You rock fine sir!

I'd upvote you back, but... (Get you back either way when I can)

can you help me, got the message Voting weight is too small, please accumulate more voting power or steem power

For any poor soles who also find themselves in this predicament... (Or maybe my future self??)

I've really only been active for three sessions. The first session was simply setting up the account and throwing a couple of my twitter posts, more or less, on to my blog. I upvoted 20-30 people and logged off.

My second session was much more active and I was accumulating about .40 cents on each post. I upvoted maybe 100 people.

Tonight, I upvoted 200-300 and resteemed 5-6 and suddenly I started getting this message.

Now I'm able to upvote a post every ten minutes or so.

Please help me i cant upvote anymore :(

So in order to increase my voting power, I need to post more and get votes?

Follow me and I'll follow you!

Lended up here because I cannot upvote, facing the same problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71