The PASSION of STEEMIT - and it's people

in #steemit7 years ago

passion.png

Several words come to mind when I think about @steemit. Namely: Community, Support, Growth, Knowledge, Friendship, Positivity, Experience and most importantly – Passion!

When I joined the @Steemit community (and yes, it is VERY much a community!) just over a month ago, I can honestly say, I had absolutely no idea what to expect. For years now, I have been studying other social media platforms (by myself, for myself). I literally LIVED on them – ALL of them! I am probably THE most annoying person to follow if I think about it lol, because not only do I post frequently for my personal pleasure, but I also use the platforms for promotional purposes.

So when I stepped onto this platform, I expected to be met with pretty much the same fundamental “make-up” as all the other social media sites that I frequented. I could not have been more wrong! And I realised that VERY quickly!

There is a saying “birds of a feather flock together” or “you are who you hang with” if you prefer.

Quotefancy-461626-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

Now considering that in the initial stages, Steemit was a platform predominately frequented by crypto geniuses and financial gurus – it is not at all surprising that this platform stands apart from all others.

As a general rule in life, you will find that individuals who are financially driven or successful, tend to be over achievers in one or several other facets of their lives – be it academics, the arts, hobbies, business, sports, whatever. All those aspects are a part of their complete character dynamic. The key ingredient to my mind, being – PASSION! They are all passionate people with exceptional drive.

Quotefancy-3255754-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

So when a group of people with that type of mind-set step up together onto a stage to share their view points and/or opinions, it is unlikely that you are going to walk away anything but inspired or motivated.

That – was the VERY first thing which I discovered was “different” about this platform.

Have you spent any REAL time on some of the other major social media platforms? If you have (or do) you will be acutely aware of the fact that there is very LITTLE of the above mentioned “passion” in your feed – unless you have specifically GEARED it to such by being actively selective as to what you are being spoon fed.

Without doing that, you are bound to be exposed to copious amounts of sarcasm, bitterness, bickering, racism, anger, violence, crime, and an endless array of negativity in general – as well as way too much mindless RUBBISH - with the odd dollop of good stuff. People on those platforms literally get SO wrapped up in all of it and it is NOT PRODUCTIVE (or even remotely good for your mind for that matter).


Image Credit: http://fredharrington.com

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that all the people who actively use these platforms are negative, or “bad people” – what I am saying is that people “by default” tend to love drama and negativity, and without even realising it, they give it so much power, simply through the click of a button.

Mother Theresa quoted – “I was once asked why I don't participate in anti-war demonstrations. I said that I will never do that, but as soon as you have a pro-peace rally, I'll be there.”


Image Credit: http://q.likesuccess.com

Many people don’t grasp this concept – yet it is so simple. What you resist persists. What you give your energy and focus to will materialize. It is THAT simple.

When I stepped onto this platform, I noticed that there was little to none of that. People, for the most part were talking, engaging and discussing topics of general interest and OH MAN was it refreshing to say the least!

Now, I am no idiot – I do realise that the simple fundamentals of this platform encourage that – nobody is going to upvote your derogatory comments or posts are they?! No, no, they aren’t. lol Nor are they going to aggressively engage in controversial topics to a point of explosion because, well… I think they may feel a “down vote” coming on. Haha…

In fact, I think I stepped on that nerve once with one of my posts (completely unintentionally and SO mildly so, I might add), and I very quickly learnt why it was “greyed out”… and why I should probably stick to writing what I am passionate about and not what frustrates me. A lesson I know well, but reminders are good at all times ;)

Even though aware of the way this community is structured in that respect, it does not make it any less authentic. The complete opposite in fact! There is another saying… (Yes, I like my “sayings” haha) – “Fake it until you make it” or “It takes 21 days to make or break a habit”.


Image Credit: https://darcsunshine.files.wordpress.com

Whether the initial comments made by you or others are (completely) genuine or not is completely irrelevant – Why? Well, just keep doing that and I can promise you one thing – one day you will suddenly realise that your words of response to others are actually coming from your heart - and are ABSOLUTELY real! You will also begin to find that YOU now stand in a completely different place, with a VERY different mind-set and approach to life - One which is constructive and productive.

Oh look – another quote lol: “The words you speak become the house you live in.”

Quotefancy-103742-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

That is, to my mind anyway, what this amazing community of inspiring people is there to offer. Yes, there is financial reward for quality content shared, but that should not be the focus. If that is going to be your approach, then I think you will most likely end up feeling more frustrated and hopeless than motivated.

“Focusing your life solely on making a buck, shows a poverty of ambition.”


Image Credit: https://cdn.shopify.com

I have always said that I would like to inspire and motivate people.

I was definitely blessed with an ability to “see through the crap” and to VERY efficiently and often brutally, problem solve - and although I own a design and print business, I have recently been discussing this fact with my family and close friends more and more frequently… yet it seemed somewhat impossible, considering that I have no qualifications in related fields - and I am not about to attempt being a business owner, mother AND student – AINT happening! Lol

Steemit has ABSOLUTELY opened that door for me. Well that is what I “feel” anyway. Yes, I have a blog site and yes, I have been writing elsewhere, but none have felt quite as “engaging” as this platform. Here – I feel like my writing has a purpose!

Quotefancy-105755-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

I am in MANY respects a complete babe in the woods here on Steemit, but I do know one thing, I have finally found a place where I can engage with like-minded people and I am loving every second of it!

I have connected with, and made friends with, SO many AMAZING SOULS! – Whales, Dolphins and Minnows alike. I have received tremendous support, encouragement and feedback from each and every one of them and I am EVER grateful!!! You and many others are the reason that this Steemit journey is such an uplifting and empowering one.

Quotefancy-221702-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

Oh look… here comes another quote: “Encourage, lift and strengthen one another. For the positive energy spread to one will be felt by many.”

So a BIG thank you to ALL of you – in alphabetical order (so there is no squabbling. Lol) - and if I got the alphabetical order wrong, you will just have to be good friends and write it off to the fact that I make pretty pictures for a living, not pack library books. hehe ;)

@anneke
@arekwolf
@bley47
@creativesoul
@godfish
@donkeypong
@enginewitty
@fitinfun
@gaber
@giantbear
@gringalicious
@jacquelyne
@jerrybanfield
@johleen
@john-gpr
@pkvlogs
@progressivechef
@rushikesh23
@sweetsssj
@tattoodjay
@thedamus

I really am so in love with this platform and the community within, I can only hope (and do my part) to try and preserve its wonderful uniqueness.

Until next time.

Much love From Cape Town, South Africa xxx


Image Credit: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com

Sort:  

Best one yet @jaynie! This one came from deep within and I loved it!

Loved the inclusion of so many quotes and phrases. I used to write them on my walls so they were always there when I needed them lol.

Very moving and inspiring!

Thank you SO much xxx!!!!!

and Yes I am also a complete sucker for motivational quotes. They are what see me through... well... them, and all the amazing people in my life.

Thank you again!! Honestly!

You bet @jaynie!

It is definitely nice to have great people in our lives as well!

Absolutely!!! Very refreshing!!!! Thanks for the feedback 😁👍

You, my dear, are definitely one of those beautifully inspiring minds you speak of. Excellent post and I agree on so many levels. Steemit here, is all about community, and a good one at that. It nurtures the good souls and shuns the negativity. Unlike its predecessors...but yes, I also wanted to touch on the passion. You can tell when someone has it by the emotion intertwined in their words or speech and you surely portray your passion sweets. Full Steem ahead!

contemplating response.... (might encounter a timeout due to overwhelming emotion)...

Your words (and your voice) make me giddy!

Thank you!!!

timeout official.

Yeah... this response sucks. lol (I blame you - haha)

This is sounds like a Sith's motto:
Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
Through passion, I gain strength.
Through strength, I gain power.
Through power, I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me.


star wars

VERY F****NG awesome! thanks for sharing!!

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

Firstly, Thank you :) and secondly... I think I might need to be educated as to what that means :D hehehehe xxx

I think it means that steemit might share your post from their Twitter and/or Facebook page. And they did. I found the link on Facebook. Congrats :]

Oh wow! Thats awesome... going to go look... 😁

Nice post @jaynie
Thank you for sharing 😊

Always and ONLY a pleasure!!! :D and thanks for the feedback - it is always appreciated x

Very nicely said...thank you for your contributionism! Cheers, Damir

hehehe only a pleasure. love that word :D x

@jaynie big Thanks for This post,,,
Really Very satisfying

Only a pleasure xxx

I don't think STEEMit is big enough for the really big knock out brawls you get in other social media sites. Just give it time.

People are passionate about their arguments. ;)

hmmmm... I think ill keep my rose tinted glasses on for now ;)

Great post! Youre so right about most social media and how this is completely different. Good luck as you keep going!

thank you!!! xxx and yes - you too :D

Thank you for your comment on our post. We are not sure why you wouldn't be interested in governing your own affairs thou. "In free governments, the rulers are the servants and the people their superiors and sovereigns"

This is the way we envision The ADSactly Governance Model to be built upon.

https://steemit.com/freedom/@adsactly/a-tale-of-two-futures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48