So, What does STEEMIT mean to YOU?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steeem.jpg

I cannot speak for anybody other than myself when it comes to the levels of seriousness shown with regards to becoming a valuable part of the Steemit community, but the way I see it – if that ISN’T your primary objective here, then you REALLY ARE wasting your time – and everybody else’s for that matter…

I have not (as yet) invested any of my own money into Steemit - I started with nothing and have earned my way up to what and where I am now… and let me tell you… it is hard work! – LOADS of fun and a massive learning experience too, but plenty of effort is required… and as far as wallet value is concerned, I don’t even have that much in the grand scheme of things either – HOWEVER…

This is of no consequence to me because that aside, I have gained something FAR more valuable from Steemit than what is sitting in my wallet…

Every step along the way of my journey so far, I have been given support, advice, knowledge and insight from people that were once strangers but whom I would now consider friends. I have NEVER had this kind of uplifting engagement with people on ANY other social media platform, EVER! And from what I have gathered in the almost three months that I have been here is that, the “real” people of Steemit, are simply not interested in anything other than HONEST engagement and WORTHWHILE contribution – and I think that is the way it should be!

I had no intention of coming here and posting “rubbish” – I have made it abundantly clear on more than one occasion and on several posts, that I joined this community because I believed it would be a constructive and well-fitted platform for me to share my writing, which for the most part is motivational / inspirational and aimed at assisting others with their “dilemma’s or issues” through the sharing and dealings of my own.

I will be honest in saying that I DEFINITELY underestimated JUST how MUCH impact I would make in the lives of those around me, in such a short space of time! I have been repeatedly blown away at the amazing feedback that I get on most of my articles… and yes, I am referring to the GENUINE feedback. Lol

I am an emotionally driven individual, so what I write about has often been spurred by an incident, memory, conversation or the like. There is a huge amount of time and creative effort that goes into the compilation of one post and I take my time with the things that I share with all of you. I am somewhat of a perfectionist by nature and that coupled with being a graphic designer by trade, it is important to me too, that apart from the content I write being of value, that my posts are aesthetically pleasing too… so with the limited knowledge I have in terms of “formatting” here on Steemit, I do my best to keep it looking good.

Apart from absolutely loving the engagement with others on my posts themselves, I REALLY enjoy the time I spend scouring the various feeds…new/hot etc. and engaging with those around me. In fact, I would go as far as to say that… if I have managed to be particularly organised and have my post “ready and waiting”, one of the best parts of my day is kicking my shoes off, planting my rear end on my couch and seeing what the various feeds have to offer for the day…

I have met SO many AMAZING people this way – people I would NEVER have otherwise crossed paths with. All because I took the time to click on their post and see what they were sharing with everyone… and then starting a conversation with them.

“Happiness doesn't result from what we get, but from what we give.” ― Ben Carson

All of these things that I have mentioned – the thought, the creation, the writing, the time, the commenting, the reading, the engaging, the sharing etc. are (to me), all integral parts of a whole. Put together, they are the elements which make someone a valuable member of this community.

Well, that is how I feel anyway.

So, whilst I do not at all consider myself a “know it all” on the subject of Steemit, I have acquired at least a little bit of knowledge along the way (I would like to believe anyway…lol) and my advice to those just stepping into the arena would be as such:

Decide why you are here!

Because this, for the most part is a community of upstanding individuals, who work hard at their contributions and focus quite seriously on adding quality content to the platform.

If not to add value, then why are you here?

If not for the passion of it, then why are you here?

If not for the community and friendships, then why are you here?

If not for the knowledge gained, then why are you here?

If you are driven by the earnings alone and aren’t prepared to put in any real spade work, then you are not going to go anywhere either – not anywhere truly sustainable anyway…

In all areas of life, respect is something that is earned and I think we all know the “do’s and don’ts” of respectful behaviour in the real world, don’t we?

We all know how “give and take” works, don’t we?

“We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give.” ― Winston S. Churchill

If you want to be treated respectfully and shown appreciation, then you need to reciprocate those qualities. If you want to add value to someones life or to something that you are doing, then you need to give of yourself - REALLY, give of yourself!

People quickly see the wood for the trees, and the reality of the matter is - if you don't put your first foot forward CLEARLY stamped with integrity and honest, visible intention - then people will form their opinions, make their judgments and move on... regaining their interest after that is twice as hard!

So don't squander the initial opportunity to REALLY offer something of value here.

Make an effort! Go the extra mile! Think about what you are contributing! Give the community something to CHEW on!

Sacrifice of self is ALWAYS rewarded!

What started out as a something I was casually enjoying has very quickly developed into an absolute passion (borderline obsession actually... hahaha!!!) and there is no question that the time and effort that I put in to this community is returned to me ten fold - time and time again!

“Help others without any reason and give without the expectation of receiving anything in return.” ― Roy T. Bennett,

So go do it... and do it PROPERLY! ;)

On that note... let me sign off, I need to start prepping my "Happy Hippie Post" for the day

Happy Steeming folks!

Don't just learn, experience. Don't just read, absorb. Don't just change, transform. Don't just relate, advocate. Don't just promise, prove. Don't just criticize, encourage. Don't just think, ponder. Don't just take, give. Don't just see, feel. Don’t just dream, do. Don't just hear, listen. Don't just talk, act. Don't just tell, show. Don't just exist, live.” ― Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

#thealliance

Sort:  

Ive always hated "social medias", got rid of facebook over 5 years ago, never used Instagram or Snapchat. To me its all based on Falseness and Attention...Steemit tho has the most genuine and real people, like yourself, which is why I love it here so much

I absolutely agree! I just said to someone else now... the only reason I visit other social media platforms these days is to share my steemit posts lol :)

That Einstein quote are some of the words I live by. Become indispensable.

They have proven themselves time and time again...

Oh, and I think I'm in love with that picture up there...amazing.

The one of Einstein? Didn't know you swung that way honey? >:D

Great post and one many should read, I am loving my time here on Steemit and have invested a little bit in it, but most I have on here is what I have. Built up, but my real focus on here is all the interesting people on here so many of them so creative, whether it be with writing such informative or interesting post, or the others more artistic, music or photography based,
I love the sense of community here and look forward to doing my part to help the community and Steemit grow

That is SO true @tattoodjay - I have engaged and met more people here on steemit in the last three months than I have in ALL the years that I have been on other social media platforms! In fact, if I am honest... I seldom visit any of them anymore... other than to share my steemit posts... lol :)

I am the kind of person that keeps to myself for the most part and on other Social sites I just shared photos, on here i find myself sometimes whethe ron the post or in comments sharing a little bit about myself and I swear people who have known me for a short time on here know me so much more than those who have known me for years on other sites

That's the power of the community on this site

That is so TRUE! It brings it all out hey :) Love it!

you are so right! It seems counterintuitive at first but it really isn't when you give it some thought. For example, my best performing posts aren't the funny stories or the nice photos, but the tutorials where i share my knowledge of photography. When you give to this community it gives back!
I often see posts on steemit from people where they complain about other people's success and making really nasty assumptions about them. They are their own worst enemy.
Thanks for posting this, this is the kind of wisdom we all need to read :) sorry, kinda rambled on there a bit!

Each of your posts add so much value; enriched with quotes, wisdom and practical application. I think you nailed it on this one. Finding your why. Such an important step. I enjoyed reading, thanks.

@tunnelrat - Thank you! That means the world to me! Glad you enjoy what I put out here :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jaynie to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

I just realized you are from South Africa. Die Antwoord FTW.

Steemit means not being bombarded with advertisement. So far I haven't even seen many political post like FB has. This feels more connected to the world.

Absolutely!!! I agree! :)

The more I'm here the more I want to connect with people...that is my primary goal.

Well you are onto a good thing with that one objective :)

It's ultimately the most important thing, imho.

indeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42