Keeping it REAL on STEEMIT!!! - I do NOT support "vote for vote" or "follow for follow"

in #steemit7 years ago

real.jpg

One of the things I love most about Steemit is the community and the genuine support that you are offered from those around you, it truly is quite phenomenal - but on the flip side of that coin… I am honestly just SO sick of “upvote” and “follow me” pests and bullies.

KEEPING IT REAL ON STEEMIT!

Let me say this loud and clear - I am NOT going to upvote rubbish! Nor am I going to follow a rubbish feed just because A) you followed me or B) you told me to… really? Are we in kindergarten?

I am always more than willing to head over to a suggested post and take a look at it. If I like it, THEN I will upvote it and if your feed captures me, THEN I will follow you – and I would expect nothing different in return to me.

The “upvote for upvote” or “follow for follow” systems hold ABSOLUTELY no sustainability! All you are doing is building a feed for yourself that has a bunch of random people in it that you have no genuine interest in… and the same goes for the followers you build around yourself… most of them probably don’t even know what you blog about or even visit your feed after they have gotten your “follow”.

I will also say that 99% of the people that are pushing this kind of system are the ones that are posting rubbish anyway, so in your “receiving” of their upvote, you are inadvertently promoting rubbish by way of your return upvote.

If you want people to follow you or you want more upvotes, then publish something decent for heaven’s sake. Begging people to follow you is about as effective as a child whining for a toy in a supermarket. If you want it, then EARN it!

Quotefancy-513533-3840x2160.jpg

We are all adults here! (Well we are supposed to be)

A little while ago, on my independent blog site, I began sharing my posts on some of the Facebook blogging groups. Well, WOW is all about I can say! What a bunch of bullies! They are so ridiculously insistent on the fact that you WILL like and comment on EVERY SINGLE PERSON’S link. When I refused to do this, because I said I would only do it for the ones that I actually liked, I got kicked off most of the groups.

No skin off my nose, I started my own group and made it ABUNDANTLY clear on the pinned post that people were welcome to start a like for like thread on the page but were NOT allowed to FORCE people to do anything in return… they would be allowed to be selective as to who’s content they liked and/or commented on. I also allowed people to post their content directly onto the wall – which is also not permitted on most of these blogging groups.

The feedback from the general public of bloggers was absolutely phenomenal!!! The “thank you’s” continue to this day. The other group admins however took a major dislike towards me and my group because I was cheeky enough to promote it on their walls before they kicked me off.... boohoo for them!

Needless to say the group has been enormously successful because people are afforded the freedom to share their content directly on the group wall instead of it getting lost in a “one million comment thread” and they are NOT obligated to like every single persons post - they can interact GENUINELY with the ones they ACTUALLY like!

People DO NOT LIKE TO BE BULLIED INTO "false" SITUATIONS! It is as simple as that! – There is a lot to be said for the freedom of choice and authentic engagement.

Apart from that, for myself personally, I don’t want a whole lot of upvotes that were given for the sake of me offering one in return… I want to know that the upvotes and comments I receive are there because I earned them by sharing quality content that the reader honestly enjoyed.

I want GENUINE interaction – GENUINE followers – GENUINE growth!

Isn't that what this is supposed to be all about? Building a REAL network... one which motivates you, inspires you and supports you... GENUINELY!

Now, this is just my opinion – you don’t have to agree with me – I am merely sharing my perspective on the matter.

PS. For those of you that DO make use of other social media platforms to promote your QUALITY Steemit blog posts - you are welcome to tag me (@jaynielea) on fb/twitter/instagram/etc.) and if your post SPEAKS to me, I will GLADLY share it for you!

You are also welcome to join my recently launched Steemit FB group and share your QUALITY posts "follow for follow" FREE!!!!!: https://www.facebook.com/groups/465820317130772/

Until next time...

Much love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations for the quality of your post, it was chosen among the posts to be upvoted on Steemit Community Quality Support. Thanks for sharing!

oh wow! What an honour! Thank you!!!! :) That means the world to me :)

Too kind. :) I only support good quality on Steemit. Because only thanks to it, the community will grow and the steem increase, making us all happy. :)

and I appreciate the compliment greatly! :)

We must have been using the same brain this week because I posted something similar, Beggars Are Choosers and actually I was part of some of those follow for follow, upvote for upvote groups. Even left a few groups on Buttbook because I refused to follow some of the garbage in there and resteem their stolen material. GOOD POST GIRLFRIEND, LET EM KNOW!

mi brain su brain hehehe :)

wow, cool, agree, love it, awesome, funny, scary, welcome, interesting ...

hahaha

You forgot about the, not only brilliant and unique, but also idiomatic, nuanced, sensitive and (to my opinion) from another planet coming vocabulary, that a lot of bloggers here use for more than 50% of their comments on the posts they visit.

They Pisssssssssssss me of as well

waaaaahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaaa!!!!!! MY BAD!!! lol How i can be forget about thees. i apologetic. :D I will dont ever be it again! heheheh ok... that was rude... lol.... still kak funny!!! lol :D

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @jaynie. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jaynie to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This is such a great post and I can only bow and say Thank you 😆 I have gotten a lot of those I follow and upvote you so you follow me and upvote all my posts... Yeah that will happen... NOT!
Or when you comment on a post and they are like why didn't you upvote me? Huh
Like you said if I come across a post I really like and want to upvote I do it, but why should I Upvote a thing I don't find interesting?
I love engaging and getting to know my friends and being genuine is important.
Thank you for sharing this and great spirit.
On your turms and no one elses.. Lol
My funniest one was I upvote you and follow you and you do the same and then recommend me to all of your followers cause I'm a master and can teach a lot
In stupidity mabye.. Lol
Hard to believe there are people like that

then recommend me to all of your followers cause I'm a master and can teach a lot - In stupidity maybe.. Lol

I had such a good laugh at that hehehe :)

It seems like I am not the only one annoyed by all of this :) Thanks for the input @saffisara - we will have to do what we can to keep the feed filled with decent content and real engagement :)

Yes my reaction was the same when I first read that.. Lol 😄
It was a pleasure commenting you great engagement and to know there are more people who finds it so hilarious and enjoying
Like you said we do what we can to keep filling this place with decent content and genuine engagement 😆
Have a wonderful day! Cheers

Follow pls Nd resteem

;0)

ya ya smart ass! lol... I was waiting for those remarks.... lol :) (runs away before it comes out to get me... hehehehe ....hahahahaha...eeeeek) lol :)

Hehe, I just could not resist it!!

em your genuine follower:)

Good to know a genuine person hehe :)

Well said Jaynie. Let's hope those that need to take note.
I'm loving the Dale Carnegie quote. 😍

indeed! lets hope... although I am guessing it will right over their heads and will probably comment here requesting a follow or a vote lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66188.19
ETH 3564.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14