My One-Year Steemiversary and 12 Reasons I’ll Still Be Posting on Steemit This Time Next YearsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

This past weekend marked the one-year anniversary of my first two Steemit posts. Here’s a screenshot of those first payouts, followed by a few more posts that provoked a rollercoaster of emotions in my soul.

Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 9.58.10 pm.png

Yes, you read that correctly. My second Steemit post ever paid out just shy of $3600.

Back in those days, there was no slider to determine voting power before up-voting a post. When you got a whale vote, it was 100 percent; all or nothing.

Oh, how glorious those early whale votes were.

But there was also a dark side. With no way to follow anyone and no personal feed for viewing preferred authors, getting a decent payout was a crap shoot. After spending hours crafting your message and carefully selecting relevant images, all you could do was roll the dice and hope your hard work wasn’t buried deep in a pile of other posts.

The enormity of my second post made those next two posts with payouts of $0.27 and $0.05 very painful.

I’m sure you’re thinking, “What did you have to whinge about? Steemit had already paid you more in one weekend than many people earn on here in one year.”

True, but I didn’t know that yet, and I thought four-figure posts were normal, at least for me. It took me a while to realise that my payout, big or little, was not a reflection of my self-worth, or even the quality of my post.

Soon I got into a rhythm though and began building a following. My payouts became more consistent, although not quite as large; but I was happy with that because I knew relying on mammoth whale votes was not sustainable.

I kept posting consistently for the next four months, and then regretfully, I went on a seven-month Steemit vacation. But I've been back posting again for the last two months as regularly as my schedule and creativity will allow.

With that, here are twelve reasons I’ll still be here posting on Steemit in another twelve months:

1. I have relationships with people here and I enjoy connecting with them through their work and ideas.

2. There will be new people here in twelve months; people who I’m sure will be able to learn from.

3. I get pleasure from writing and sharing my thoughts with others, hearing their feedback, and engaging in respectful dialogue.

4. The people here on Steemit tend to be more intelligent, more thoughtful and more aware of what’s really going on in the world.

5. I like being recognised and rewarded for the value I contribute rather than donating my content to the shareholders of a company.

6. I can say whatever I want here and no one can stop me.

7. The blockchain is the future of money, and who knows what else, and I still have a lot to learn about it.

8. Exchanging my time for crypto is a small step toward liberating myself from central bank controlled fiat.

9. The decentralised nature of Steemit is giving me new ideas about what life in the real world can look like.

10. Steemit is challenging me to think out of the box and consider new ways of accepting payment.

11. I think STEEM could be worth a lot more than it is today, and I want to maximise the unique opportunity I believe I’ve been given.

12. There will never be a better time than the next twelve months to grow my following here on Steemit.



There you have it. Those are my twelve reasons why I’ll still be here posting on Steemit in another twelve months.

How about you? What did I miss? Why will you still be here posting on Steemit one year from now?





Jason Staggers

Sort:  

Wow so much contrast in those first few payouts! Wish I'd got involved with Steemit when you did, do you feel it's better overall now or when you first joined?

It's definitely better overall now, which I think is reflected in the higher sustainable price. The platform had to change to make it more inclusive of new people starting up. The voting power and rewards were too concentrated and needed to be distributed more widely to encourage people to stay and keep posting.

Heady days for those early adopters.
Steemit will be here in a year and will hopefully be bigger and better. It's pretty great now. The freedom to air your views virtually censor free was the attraction for me and since I came I've met the most fantastically intelligent, well educated, funny and frankly awesome people you could imagine.
Sir Knight was one of the first I met as we joined a few days apart. Since then we've evolved together here world's apart, that's the best thing. Anyone from anywhere can connect any time in anonymity if you choose to as I do and create something amazing.

Love the list mate, ill still be here in 12 months too particularly like number 8, always feels good being able to stick it to the central bankers

Haha! Indeed. That one's definitely near the top :)

Hi Jason, my name is SirKnight - you upvote me pleassseee! Hehehehe.

Mate great post - I was about to hit the sack but saw it here and wanted to read it first. Nearly $3,600 - that would have been a nice feeling.

Well assuming we are all here in one year - I reckon I am going to be a pretty happy man - probably still running mega-challenges too.

SK.

Haha! There are some desperate folks around here. LOL

I will never forget going to bed with a 2 cent post and waking up to $1200. Then it just kept growing from there. The craziest part was someone stole that post minutes after I posted it and literally copied and pasted it then reposted it as their own. Minutes later their post was up to 29 cents while mine was still at 2 cents! I was gutted, until the next morning of course :)

Sleep well mate.

Wow that is inspiring..

Nice post @jasonstaggers
i upvoted you, please visit my blog and dont forget upvote me @muhammadriky

Congrats. Following, Upvote, and Resteem. Cheers fellow teamaustralia mate.

Thanks crowe. Same. Looks like we have a lot in common.

I have voted for you can you vote my comment please .. Thank you dear in advance .

First of all, congratulations for your first year at Steemit @jasonstaggers. I think your journey through Steemit is a great experience. Try to think of 12 reasons to continue in Steemit, but not concrete 12, I have thousands. Haha I think that as I spend more time, I'll select the most important thing. Thank you for sharing it. I wish you more success. Greetings. :)

I am very pleased to meet educated and intelligent people.
Sometimes there is more than one thing and nothing of the other.
I just wear my first 40 days and I posted it yesterday.
My wonderful achievements? Friends and freedom to write and publish, from the simplest things to the most full of feeling.
Thank you for your reasons to stay in Steemit and be an example.
May you continue to be happy @jasonstaggers .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80