Steemit Trio in Prague. How I Smuggled a Whale Inside My Hand Luggage

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Monday morning I woke up at 6:28 to the uncompromising scream of my brother's blender. He was preparing his vegan breakfast. I wasn't exactly happy. I finally managed to fall asleep some 3 hours before that and I had one full round around Earth on my agenda in the next 48 hours.

not alone logo center detail.jpg

Best things are always served as a surprise. When they are the least expected. And so it was this crappy morning, when I woke up too early and too tired, with sore throat and headache and first 12h flight to Hong Kong (from Vancouver) lined up for 2pm that day. Around 9:50 am I got the first confirmation from the first client- she indeed wants me to bring that large painting she's been raving about for 2 years with me to Europe. Great. There's no way to bring a 6x5 footer (170x140cm) on a plane. I had two hours to take shower, get to studio, strip the painting off the frame, roll it up, wrap it up, get back home, grab my backpack and get my ass moving towards airport. I had to skip my morning coffee. Fuck.

IMG_1684.JPG

At 10:49am, when I'm almost done with taking the painting off the stretcher bars, whistling with contentment knowing that I'm on time, comes the message from the second client: Please take “American Dream” with you, I'm buying it. Shit. That's great. I just sold 2 paintings 2 hours before I have to leave to the airport. Can't those people just decide in a way that does not put a fire under my ass? Wishful thinking never helped anyone. Part of me is happy as a bear in honey store (my whole Europe trip was just paid for and there will still be enough $ left for a month or two) and part of me is thinking- how the fuck I'm gonna move my hands fast enough not to miss the flight.

Thanks God I prepared the Whale the night before.

! 3.jpg
Just before the first take off at YVR. Tired but happy.

I summon the God of Focus and move like a gnome, in efficient silence. Think positive. I even manage to snap a few shots of my progress so I can write a blog about the process for all of you sons and daughters of the Sun. 11:45am I'm biking back home, holding a heavy roll of two canvases in one hand and taking snapshots of my grinning self with my second hand. If I had a third hand, I could actually hold the handlebar, but I lost it in an accident, so I gotta ride like we do it in East Van- no hands baby. Why did I got rid of the car again?

Clipboard01.jpg
My head is spinning in Heathrow airport. Finally hit the European ground!

Fast forward 2 days, 3 flights, 2 of them across half of the planet, and my slightly sweaty and disheveled figure is treading the cobblestones of Old Prague. @gladysmak is with me, obviously. I would have hardly managed this whole thing without her. We are just having lunch in an old pub a blog away from the apartment we rented when my phone rings: the third musketeer has arrived.

And so it is, that only 5 months after our first memorable meeting in the same city (https://steemit.com/steemit/@jankasparec/reuniting-with-lost-brother-how-steemit-conquered-lady-death) the same crew got together to celebrate life and companionship. I met @lichtblick on steemit. It seems appropriate to bring a whale to him. It looked great when we stretched it out to the setting sun at Betlemske Namesti, in front of the curious eyes of guests of a restaurant patio.
Keep on staring y'all, this is Steemit poeple in action!

! 1.jpg
We made it! Showing off the Whale in Prague! Next time we gotta bring those Steemit t-shirts!:)

We dropped the Whale and Penguin back to our apartment and set off to the streets of Old Prague. We had places to see and things to share. What a glorious time of our lives!

Keep on Steemin' bros and sistas!

Much Love,
Jan

@jankasparec @lichtblick @gladysmak the Three Steemit Mousketeers:)
! 2.jpg

Sort:  

Fun action packed post!

We could have a special post strictly using the title "Thanks God I prepared the Whale the night before." ;) Maybe a bit of a word shift before posting it under the title "Preparing a Whale the night before, thank God!" Tag a STEEM logo on it and serve it hot!

LOL!! Namaste :)

Reminds me of the metaphor from steemit. We are just at the tip of the iceberg right now... So much awesomeness still to come :)

Cool!

That is awesome guys!!

Awesome work, best greetings to the others! Enjoy this great city. When I was last time in Praque I enjoyed hanging out at Reggae Bar Lounge, chilled place.

Following you now

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I hope you had a great day! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18