Reuniting With Lost Brother. How Steemit Conquered Lady Death.

in #steemit7 years ago

Prague in late December was cold even for local standards. Little did I know that this is going to be one of the coldest and longest winters that Northern Hemisphere has seen in a long time. Hopefully nail in the coffin for the brainwashed crowd of Di Caprio's followers and other global warming mongrels. Sigh...wishful thinking. All it's gonna bring is higher rate of frozen homeless people and sold out south-bound flights.

Uhelny trh on cold February night logo.jpg
"Uhelny trh", Old Prague, oil on canvas, sold to private collector.

I kept the tradition of getting lost in the irregular zig zag of Old Town streets. As if I didn't call this city home sufficient number of springs. By the time I finally found the hotel, my bones were thoroughly chilled. Receptionist was nice, hotel premises were old, and massive beer tap stoop proudly amidst an array of creaky chairs and tables on the ground floor. Rooms with high ceilings and old curtains at the end of curvy stairways emanated just the right amount of shabbiness. I felt instantly at ease. I ran myself a hot bath to unfreeze all of my limbs, some of them showing severe signs of shrinking.

snowy street logo.jpg
"Snowy street under lamp", oil on 10x10 inches canvas, available.

I knew that the man I came to meet checked in the previous night and was waiting for me in his room, one floor down.
Twenty minutes later, I was standing in front of his room. One deep breath of anticipation before my knuckle rapped on the door. I heard a response, quick step and gush of cigarette air in my face. There he was. The man who 4 months earlier challenged my identity on Steemit, asking me to post a picture of myself holding a paper with date written on it. Broad, almost too broad a smile spread like a clean cut below a tall German nose. The set of eyes that pierced me right through. The eyes which knew. The eyes which left me with zero doubt that I have not set across the ocean for nothing, but to reunite with lost brother. To meet again the soul flame who I've encountered and partook on countless adventures so many past lifetimes.

Czech (20).JPG
View from my hotel room

Thanks God, some things cannot be explained. World without the magic of mystery would be a grey place without longing for long gone love, that we've never really lost but still keep on seeking. It would be a world without the kind of art that can move your guts to tears, without rationale, with deep sense of remembering of something sweet, all embracing, other-worldly.

Rest of the day flew by in a haze of walks, dialogues interchanged on the same wavelength, and silences shared in comfort.

When the cold damp night fell upon us, we left his smokey room to raise our glasses in the warmth of Hany Bany pub. By then we both knew very well that although only 8 hours passed since we met in person, we've just build a bridge between us that will last for lifetime, and beyond. We both knew that we moored our battered pirate boat to the safe waters of hidden harbour behind the coral reef. Until the black lady comes collect her price, relentless and merciless, so that we can set our sails to search for each other, again, and again.

Happy birthday Jochen @lichtblick !

You know it and I know it, but I'll say it anyways: I love you brother. Thank you for being in my life.

To Life & Death, to Courage, to Infinity, to Love!

Forever yours,
Jan

We took the red pill and washed it down with Staropramen Lager.
Czech (19).JPG

Sort:  

Excellent work @jankasparec, I really like how you write "world without the magic of mystery would be a gray place and no longing for love disappeared long ago" how much reason there is in this sentence.
Thank you very much dear friend for this beautiful story
I join the birthday greeting Jochen @lichtblick! have a beautiful day.

Happ birthday from me too :) All the best for your way though this mysterious thing called life :) I wish to you love, laughter and good health :)

Really like your work. I feel the cold air and draw my coat tighter about me as I wander through the damp streets of your artwork.
I like art that can draw me into it's very fabric, that allows me to be a part of the story.

That was a nice read. Thank you very much @jankasparec :-)
I am looking forward to meet you soon :-)
Love you too bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36