Challenges with Steemit, Can You Relate?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys! How's it goin? I'm faced with some real blogger challenge right now.

I have been writing since high school and I thought blogging would be a piece of cake. However, this past few days I spent like the whole day just trying to write a few paragraphs then leaving it.

I would then start to write about another topic and not finish it again. Writers block? Maybe. I tried to sort things out and evaluate which actually causes the problems and here are some of my realizations.

Ps. I'm not even gonna include understanding cryptocurrency here yet because honestly, I'm still trynna figure that baby out!

The Difference

Steemit is freedom!

I get to choose whatever I wanna write. There are no limitations, no space and character issues, and most especially, no killed stories! I can write whatever I want and know that it will be published at the end of the day! Unlike in the newsrooms and other publications where the editors can just throw my piece to the garbage bin of they want to!

There are times before when I had to pour in long hours on an article only to realize the next day that the editor killed my story to give way to advertisements. Sigh.

What's cooler is that I get paid everytime people likes my writing!

The challenge with this is that sometimes, I am free to write about almost everything that I am no longer sure what yo write about. In the news rooms it was easy. The editors often gives the assignments.

Next, Cool, You got a really nice article there but WHERE ARE THE PHOTOS?

Oh God, I have pretty good articles waiting to be published already but they don't look good without the photos! I wish I had a good camera. When I was writing for some publications, I often go with a photographer. People are more visual nowadays. Would they even read my blog? Or will they just scan and look at the photos then comment: "Nice post! Please follow me"

Lol!

And hey, should blogs even need to look professional? Or am I overthinking the wrong things?

Now this is a test. People often only scan blog posts without reading them. If you happen to read this, please comment something relevant in the comment sections.

But do I regret writing in steemit? Absolutely not! Not even a bit!

I pondered on this for a long time and realized how lucky I am to stumble into such beautiful platform to hone more my skills and get paid at the same time. It's like a free space that really allows me to go on trial and error and see which things will really work for me.

This time, Steemit is allowing me to explore more and create my own path. What I so love about the community is that it is still so new and there is still a lot of things to discover and improve here.

How about you? What are the things you find most challenging in steemit?

Sort:  

Nice post! Please follow me. Just kidding! I do think you need relevant pictures for your blog post. I even put some pictures in when I post a video.

You are very funny! Lol! 😂 You really read my blog! This made me so happy!!! By the way, I already followed you a long time ago. Thanks for sharing your insights.

I just post about things I do and enter contests. I'm a horrible writer, terrible grammar skills and I've managed to make friends. My advice here on steemit is to just be yourself and blog about it, a good camera phone is all you really need unless you're entering photography contests, but even then you can use a camera phone and they cut you slack.

Your writing looks fine. Wow! That is such a good advice. Thank you for sharing your perspective. This actually made me worry less.

Journalists moving to steemit as a creative platform? Pretty cool.

Thanks! It's both exciting and scary!

I believe it really is the freedom to choose what topic to write about which is the most challenging part of steemit. For now, I am just writing about quotes and bible verses as I don't really have anything to write for now.

We share thesame sentiments @daddynifort. You now gained a supporter. I will be following you now.

Sometimes need to get in the zone or find that creative energy to get things rolling. I have so many half completed projects and posts and just comes with the territory. Just keep trooping and let time handle the rest.

Yes yes! Awweee thank you so much Chris! You are always very generous and helpful.

It's challenging here because if a whale or someone lower than a whale sees your post then upvotes, then you earn a lot, otherwise you're just gonna set yourself up for a heartbreak if you're seriously considering this place to earn you a lot as a newbie.

I suggest you start out at other write-to-earn sites to develop your blogging skills. This is where I was able to improve my writing/blogging skills.

If you want to improve on blogging I suggest you join us there too. :D Top members are mostly Pinoys so I'm sure you can make it there too.

I still write some stuff here in Steemit but I am not expecting anything anymore thus I can write easier and have more fun writing here lately.

Thank you! I checkes it out already. I think it's pretty cool. Can you connect with me there too? I don't know how that works yet :( As for me I am fine with a few cents worth of upvote here on steemit as of now. I'm still very new anyway so I don't mind profits that much yet.

Oh cool. What's ur username so I can find u there?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by janicemars being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61