MEET A WHALE WITH @JAMESMOVIC....episode 5

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

JamesMovic-1-1.jpg

Wow!!, guess what friends? Its the fifth episode of meet a whale...incase you dont know what its all about, "Meet a Whale" is the first of its kind, founded by me and comes up every Sunday. It's an interview with a whale, or a geriatric steemian in which I ask Steem-related questions from which newbies might benefit. Be sure to look for the post each week and learn about the platform!.. Guess what friends ? I invited @surfyogi to be Our guest for today, which means today is gonna be fun filled,and you are gonna learn a lot.

unknown-2.png

Let's get started!!!

@jamesmovic - Who introduced you to Steemit.com?

@surfyogi - @ned - One of the founders of Steemit. I wrote about it on my blog recently,so I hope everyone reads my blog if you want to understand steemit better!

@jamesmovic - Where does the currency used by Steemit come from?

@surfyogi - New blocks for STEEM are generated by Block servers that work with the top witnesses at a set rate of inflation per year, is how I look at it. This is a system called DPOS, and is beyond the scope of this interview, but if you compare it to POW (that bitcoin uses), DPOS is much more efficient (greener) and Dan has developed it to the point it becomes usable for some types of blockchains. DPOS creates an opportunity for blockchains not to charge users fees for transactions, and then blockchains can decentralize all kinds of applications that really are not possible with bitcoin. That is a very simplified view but I think it's enough to note that value comes from the blockchain, the community that encircles that blockchain gives that blockchain value! SO.. the important take away is that P2P money is very valuable to the community that uses it and agrees it has value. PEOPLE made that money and AGREE, it is money. That is so cool, and it's not easy to explain to older folks (that think they understand economic Liberarianism, need banks to feel secure, and think I'm trying to sell them an investment; which I sort of am, VERY indirectly.

@jamesmovic - How did you get your steemit username?

@surfyogi - It's a handle I have used for decades. It comes from the metaphor to surf the internet and be a guru of the internet, which I have been for over 20 years. I would quickly mention, when I first saw e-mail, I knew the US Post Office was going to start losing a lot of business, and that was the first app I saw running on the new internet! I worked at Intel then. We all had email addresses. Most people didn't know what the internet was then, it was before the web. And I would ask the networking guy about it, and he's explaining all about the ARPANET, and so I was aware of the internet before almost all professionals at that time.Then my first personal computer, I used to reach USENET, was the official bulletin board of the open internet. I published a book to it. Before the web. For Free, just to try it! And I could learn about any subject in a snap! All the best scientists in the world used it too, and I would log into very interesting arguments between top scientists in ANY SUBJECT. And I could learn new things so quickly, it blew my mind and I never wanted to do much else! I was such a geek, as well as a lady's man ;-)

Then, the WEB. And I was in love and using it before ANYBODY else in Silicon Valley, on my Mac desktop. As soon as I saw the web, I knew it would change the world, governments, and "change what it means to be a humane being"! AND I knew I WOULD MAKE MY LIVING FROM IT! No question. Never looked back! NO FEAR BRO!!! And finally, that NOW AGAIN, I see something of this magnitude. Again. This does not happen often. First we have the blockchain, it will change nations and banking. And now we have STEEM, a 3rd generation blockchain with many innovations that make it very valuable, and will again, change the internet forever, as really the first model for a new blockchain-based INTERNET.

Amazing! Way to go Dan and Ned! Wow~!

@jamesmovic - The first step hackers take is knowing the amount of money you have in your wallet, is there any way to block others from viewing the wallet?

@surfyogi - GOOD QUESTION - and I think people are becoming more and more aware of privacy issues in crypto that will make user experience better and protect users privacy. Certainly, at this time, I feel sorry for married guys trying to send their new crush flowers using crypto ;-)

Simple answer - no. More complex answer; buy a second account from blocktrades and do separate transactions from your own second account, created for exactly this reason, privacy. If managed correctly it can provide enough privacy to send your lady flowers and then some..

@jamesmovic - What special side projects are you doing on the block chain e.g curation trail?

@surfyogi - Thanks for asking! #wafrica and #artzone tag curation is now up and running, and growing very fast. Please check out @wafrica and @artzone accounts, and see the daily new content on these tags. If you want to use these tags, just include them as one of your tags and our upvote bot and live curation staff will look at your post! ARTzone is now 4000+ followers, in less than a month! I expect 10000 in 90 days or less! And maybe 20000+ for WAfrica Community in 90 days...

I'm working with @ackza, whom I really enjoy and love hanging with, on all kinds of STEEM promotion, and advertising projects soon. And then I have a few secret projects I'm working on the back burner I'm not really ready to talk about yet because we are busy staffing these ongoing concerns. Please check in on my blog for updates!

@jamesmovic - Any advice to encourage and inspire newbies to avoid them from falling apart due to low upvote?

@surfyogi - Do this for fun first, do it because it's way better than letting Zuck advertise to you (FBook). STEEM could replace Paypal, Twitter, Youtube, Facebook, Instagram and more.. Because there are so many cool peeps to make friends with here, from all over the world!

Join steem.chat and make friends! Chat up the cute girls, talk to people that have things in common, find your new best friend. Get out and travel and see your new friends, go to meetups and learn from more experienced users that way.

Use this as a growth experience to know yourself better, understand this new society we are creating, find your place in it. Find a soulmate..

Learn more about crypto, and how it can change your life! On STEEM you have access to some of the top experts in the world. Learn how to use new financial services that will change your life.
Making money initially can wait, if you are INVESTING the real work, of finding your place!
Money is the last priority; learn about it over time. Invest your own money too. STEEM is a great investment, put your own money to work! it's way easier if you just buy some SP.. Sheesh, it's a great investment outside of the USD! And the price is low right NOW.

@jamesmovic - What are newbies expected to do before they can benefit from the wonderful communities you are in support of (the artzone and the wafrica)?

@surfyogi - Usually just submit your post with the tag included. The upvote bot is looking for 300+ chars and 1 image link. That data tells the bot, at least it's got something to read and view, and we should upvote it. Manual curators may decide your work is valable even without those things but that's a different person doing that each day and sometimes they are busy looking at too many posts! ;-)

If @cheetah upvotes your post, we will not upvote your post. If you make it onto our blacklist, you will be there for at least 30 days and may need to request to be taken
off if you are multiple offender. Plagiarism (unoriginal work) not marked as History or Documentary (or spam) may get accounts blacklisted.

@jamesmovic - What advice would you give concerning the stagnant and low price of steem now (sell or hold)?

@surfyogi - I like to bitch and moan myself but I think these prices are manipulated by traders and I try to take adantage of low times to buy, and high times to sell, and so do the traders! ;-)

  • Time to buy, I usually try to watch BTC prices and wait until the very low point if possible ;-)
  • If you know how to take advantange of SP, then buy some and use it to boost your posts and make money that way.
  • STEEM is a cool investment compared to most crypto that sits in your wallet and does? NOTHING!

@jamesmovic - What's your take on this interview and is there Any advice you are willing to give to make it better?

@surfyogi - Move it to a video interview format. @ackza and I are pushing for anyone that likes to do interviews, to move to video format if possible to increase viewers!

@jamesmovic - thanks for coming in

@surfyogi - my pleasure

U5dsaad155XH8obJPthbHXnuJ3WnwE8_1680x8400.jpg

These are the links to the previous interviews

1.pharesim

2.ehiboss

3.d-pend

4.papa-pepper

DQmYEEBsuscQVio67ya4eWJ2pqAjdHQewntMrmKMcxsxwRf.png

Here is a video interview @surfyogi had with @Nantchev. It contains things not covered here in this interview. It also contains content I consider great knowledge for everyone.

DQmYEEBsuscQVio67ya4eWJ2pqAjdHQewntMrmKMcxsxwRf.png

time to unveil the best from our great communities @artzone and @wafrica

Here is a superb animated art donated to the artzone by @web-gnar

https://steemit.com/steem/@web-gnar/surfyogi-ackza-and-sweetsssj-chillin-holdin-up-africa-with-steem-eos-blockchains-supporting-africa-gif
!

()

I want to say a very big thanks to my previous guests @pharesim, @ehiboss , @d-pend and papa-pepper

You can send me your steem related questions via discord @jamesmovic, via whatsapp@+2348141693587, and via gmail @ [email protected]

You can also join my whatsapp group to learn more about steemit for free.
https://chat.whatsapp.com/I28fEttLZCj2yrC2JjFNlz.

Till next sunday...love you all.

Sort:  

@surfyogi you are a genius in account privacy management, hmmmmm. I get to talk to my dude to open a second account, and send me steem through blocktrade so I can get some flowers.😉😉
@jamesmovic your show is a dope keep steeming on. Remember don't send your admiral steem through your account, coz there are people who are dam good in viewing wallets.🤒🤒
Have fun all the way.

Thanks Jules..

Did you know that l had to read over this and again?? Wow.. @surfyogi thats genius. Thanks for this beauty too..good post @jamesmovic

A very useful information deserves to be read over and over again

This is truly remarkable. I agree that we should start making more videos and I have started making efforts towards that direction. Very interesting read. Keep it up.

Oh my blockchain transparency and it's negative effect,what a brilliant solution but if the wife turns out to be an adamant type she will definitely trace it!

Awesome interview @jamesmovic. Wafrica is a beautiful addition to the African community, thank you so much @surfyogi for your passion towards Africa.

Thanks for the nice comment

@surfyogi is truly a man full of projects,too rich with ideas
Wonderful interview

Thanks for stopping by

Yeah!! @Surfyogi is a man supporting a whole lot of meaning projects

Oh beautiful. One of the greatest man I have met no Steemit. Before I met @surfyogi, I was just concerned with writing posts, comments and hoping for upvotes. But in the last few days I have reconsidered my works on Steemit and am already doing lots of research to involve myself in developmental projects on the Steem blockchain. That's surfyogi - two days with him and you will already believe you can be the next Dan.

I feel sorry for married guys trying to send their new crush flowers using crypto ;-)

I didn't know you have this much sense of humor. Glad am not married yet but the advice will come in handy someday.

Good one @jamesmovic, hope to see the videos coming in soon.

Thanks for anticipating

This is really a good interview man. I agree it will be more fun on a video.

Thi whole time I thought you were wearing a Burqa but your picture is so small, like they all are on steemit, that I couldn't see it was just your hair! Hah I assumed you just a muslim from middle east or something and It wasn't until recently that I found out you were African, and I saw your great VIDEO surfyogi sent me woooooo you just leveled up in my eyes now that I found out you have been working with surfyogi! :D

Cheers mahn!!! ..... And yes, Surfyogi is someone everyone wants to be with. Working with him has been part of my greatest achievements on steemit.. . Thanks for stopping by @ackza

Ooh really!!! 😂😂😂
I didn't know it looked like a burqa until you said it.

@surfyogi mentioned how you inspired him to work with Africans. I have also seen you pour out your passion in writing.

You have a good heart, I must commend.

Videos coming soon.. Lol

this is great. I enjoyed reading surfyogi's responses. I really enjoyed listening to him in the interview too. Hey! thanks for sharing my art on this post man! cheers. good interview.

Nice meeting you mahn....

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Interesting interview with @surfyogi. Truly helpful, great answer to every question. Great show @jamesmovic. Keep up the good work 💪

Thanks for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43