Meet a whale with @jamesmovic....episode 4

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

DQmeWuaw1vF78f3RWon2doWyHwgAtJddeF6enmfSZdBnUCV_640x480.jpg

Wow!!, guess what friends? Its the fourth episode of meet a whale...incase you dont know what its all about, "Meet a Whale" is the first of its kind, founded by me and comes up every Sunday. It's an interview with a whale, or a geriatric steemian in which I ask Steem-related questions from which newbies might benefit. Be sure to look for the post each week and learn about the platform!.. Guess what friends ? I invited @papa-pepper to be Our guest for today, which means today is gonna be fun filled.

Lets begin!!!

@jamesmovic - Who introduced you to steemit?

@papa-pepper - A guy I knew first introduced me to steemit. He knew that there was value here and encouraged me to get started. I jumped right in and began to figure it out. Obviously, that was a very good decision.

@jamesmovic - Your motive for joining.. I.e was it to promote your business?

@papa- pepper - My original reason for joining was that I heard you could possibly get paid. I've been trying to figure out things to do from home that could possibly earn an income since I want to be more present in the lives of my wife and children. There is certainly a lot more that steemit brings to the table, but the original reason was the rewards. The reason that I never got into facebook or other online platforms was that there wasn't really any tangible incentive for me. Steemit offered that, and so I finally got caught in the worldwide web.

@jamesmovic - Which is preferable and better in renting of steem power or buying steem for powering up?

@papa-pepper - That is an interesting question, especially for me to answer. Personally, I've never done either. All the Steem Power that I've had I've earned by posting, curating, and entering contests, and all the STEEM I've powered up I've gotten the same way. My advice would be that if you can afford to rent SP, then you can afford to purchase STEEM and power it up. It may not be near as much as what you could have rented, but at least it will be yours to keep.

@jamesmovic - Newbies see the reputation score as just a mere number, what is it to you?

@papa-pepper - That is a great question, especially these days. All the reputation score is based off of is the total Steem Power of incoming votes, whether upvotes or downvotes. Before vote-buying, it was a better gauge of another steemian, but now you can technically purchase a higher rep. While my reputation number is rather high, I think that my actual reputation is not only more than a number, but more than a number could even express. I wouldn't get too caught up with it if I was a newer steemian.

@jamesmovic - What can you say is the cause of bandwidth issues among some new users and how can it be stopped?

@papa-pepper - That is one that I don't know the actual answer too. I tried helping some steemians like @godofbit with that issue, but I'm not even sure what the exact issue is or what is causing it. I've personally never experienced it, but I think that since a certain amount of STEEM is needed to accomplish certain things newer users may just not have enough to accomplish all that they want to each day.

@jamesmovic - A new way scammers steal newbies private keys is through phishing sites, is there any way to identify this type of comments. If no, is there any possible solution.?
@papa-pepper - This has been horrible to watch and terrible to see. These scammers and thieves are so bad. I think that the new improvement to steemit that shows you when a link leads away from steemit was an awesome step forward. Too many people seem to be creating steemit lookalikes to try to trick people into thinking that they are on steemit. Then, when they try to login, someone steals their keys (passwords) and hacks their account. I wish that things like this would never happen.

@jamesmovic - Does steemit has an official exchange market for converting steem to Steem dollar or vice versa, as newbies are also defrauded trying to make exchange?

@papa-pepper - Users can use the internal market in their wallets, so that is a help. I have used it successfully before.

@jamesmovic - Any advice you are willing to give to newbies feeling sad due to low upvotes?

@papa-pepper - This is one that I mention rather often. First of all, don't compare yourself to anyone else. Just compare yourself to yourself. As time progresses, hopefully you will too, even if it is only slowly. Also, think about how much money you made others places online like facebook or twitter. Most people have never gotten paid for anything online, so that is where steemit makes a difference. But, remember that steemit only provides an opportunity and a possibility, there is no aurantee or promise that you will ever get paid. If the opportunity is enough for you, then try it out!

@jamesmovic - What's your impression about this interview and do you have Any advice to give in making it better?

@papa-pepper - I think that this was a solid interview with some great questions! I was blessed to have the opportunity. Nothing comes to mind about making it any better right now. Thanks!

DQmevHD1ZLA5DKtPiMr25WAZvv5d9DUa9Xs4vpNrpzfNxLV.gif

I want to say a very big thanks to my previous guests @pharesim, @ehiboss and @d-pend

You can send me your steem related questions via discord @jamesmovic, via whatsapp@+2348141693587, and via gmail @ [email protected]

You can also join my whatsapp group to learn more about steemit for free.
https://chat.whatsapp.com/I28fEttLZCj2yrC2JjFNlz.

Till next sunday...love you all.

Sort:  

A new way scammers steal newbies private keys is through phishing sites, is there any way to identify this type of comments. If no, is there any possible solution

Wonderful interview first of all, but lemme chip on something.
The problem is see here is that people are not properly informed and I will write a lengthy article on it later on.

First of all, if you have set your browser to always save passwords then you should get curious when you get logged out of such sites mysteriously especially if your cache memory was not wiped. Then look at the site, is it secure (https instead of http), then look at the spelling for any alteration. Cancel and reload the page.

The new scam is to alert you that someone has stolen your work, click here to view it. The major thing is cheetah will deal with anyone who copies so why are you concerned about those who people claim copied your works.

When in doubt, always inquire. Thumbs up

Great interview @jamesmovic..

Alot of people have this mindset that steemit is a path to financial independence, while this is one aspect, alot of people also deny the fact that or pretend not to accept the fact that they steem because of the money. You hear people say "I steem just because I am addicted to steeming" and so you wonder why alot of newbies still keep posting despite the extremely low payout, this is because something drives them: Hope, that oneday they would become like the people you look up to.

I say Steemit is a sea, now you either swim or get drowned. You decide what exactly you want to do in the sea; surfing or fishing.

Alot of people dive into this sea and come back the way they dived in, some even got their underclothes stolen by the sea and some emerge as new creatures.

The financial part is something that keeps one going. And apart from that, steemit gives you the opportunity to create relationships which could give opportunities that would last a life time.

Keep up the good work!

Ride on!
This is exactly what I needed.
Am glad you were able to get @papa-pepper to share this with us.

Wow! You are definitely doing a good job @jamesmovic, and you asked great questions most minors need answers to.

@papa-pepper is a very cool steemian and I definitely enjoyed reading this interview.

Happy palm Sunday!!!

Happy sunday chemmy

Wow, this is really cool.
Love it!

Wow,unbelieveable,papa-peper on the show,nice job movic

Thank you sis

This is wonderful

Just knowing about this
And the questions answered were wonderful
Now I am thinking of power up instead of delegation

That part is strong
Thanks @papa-pepper

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jamesmovic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Excellent interview and great questions~

Thanks for the opportunity~

My pleasure .....thank you too for granting me the oppourtunity

Love the interview with @papa-pepper as he is a real human being, no- nonsense guy and to top it all, he is a Christian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24