Steemit; The Vast Ocean of Opportunities.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

SEA.jpg

Source

Hello everyone, I hope you're all having a blast! Today I'll talk about our beloved platform Steemit. It's been 4 days since I first set foot on this platform and I've seen plenty of things, many are good and pleasing but there are also some disturbing issues that I have encountered/seen these past few days.

Steemit; The Vast Ocean of Opportunities.

As we all know for a fact, steemit offers plenty of opportunities for everyone in almost every fields like; music, art, technology, humanitarian, health, literature, travel, food and so many more that it would take me a day to list all those opportunities. And most members do in fact benefit from these opportunities. The sad thing is, these benefit comes from both good and bad ways. How?Let me show you a little minnow's POV.

The "Sea" in a Minnow's Point Of View.

For a minnow such as myself, this "sea" is both a safe haven but also a terrifying place. We love swimming around this vast sea, seeing fresh ideas, heart warming humanitarian missions, playful post, amazing travel adventures, and so much more, we love exploring not only the things that are new to us but also those which we are familiar with. Some of us also showcase our talents in many ways, like writing poems and odes, some shows their ever so lovely captures of simple things they see everyday or those rare captures of extra ordinary events, some showcases their talents at drawing or painting may it be the old fashioned way or the digital. But here's the terrifying part, we, the minnows do sometimes contribute something worth noticing but the sad reality is that we can't be noticed due to our status, so some good contents gets left unnoticed and undervalued. But some of us refuse to give up without a fight, some resort to extreme measures, what are these extreme measures? It's up-vote buying or the use of voting bots. I personally think this is terrifying because we became a whale's dinner due to this trend. Some minnows buy up-votes from whales so they can increase their social status, in hope that someday they will also grow into a whale that feeds on their minnows brethren. Up-vote buying is so mainstream at the moment, that it doesn't matter if the content of a post is mediocre or abusive as long as they have the money to buy votes for it, it won't matter. In my own understanding this platform was built for people to value those useful, relevant, and quality posts, but sadly it's the exact opposite.

A Minnow's Wishful Thinking for a Brighter Future

I personally wish that the day comes when those whales would up-vote quality posts even from unknown authors, and see them for what they really are and what they really deserve, I wish that those "carnivorous" whales would rather stop feeding on the "need" of starting authors, because honestly being in the pit of despair and depression even the most talented and optimistic of authors could break and decide to rage-quit. I hope to see both talented and un-talented alike write enthusiastically with passion because their pieces are appreciated and valued for what it's worth and not because they paid for it to be noticed.

So there you have it folks, this concludes my talk about how a minnow sees this platform called Steemit, I hope this won't look like an attack against voting bots, but rather an eye opener for whales to support quality contents even if it came from an unknown minnow, swimming in this vast ocean of opportunity.

steemitfamilyph.jpg
I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply and for calling out @steem-untalented. You have my sincerest gratitude.

Loading...

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.15$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Based on what I have experienced you really need to establish a sort of reputation here. It is not enough to have great content when you can't get your content read because there is just too many posts out there and not enough whales.

I have been able to get some dolphins to notice my posts being interacting with them on theirs and get their curiosity.

The fastest way to alienate them is to give a nonsense comment or fluff comment and ask them to follow you.

The interaction needs to be genuine and with sense. Hopefully we get enough interactions and gain some attention and increase our steem power.

Good luck on your journey I have been here for about a month and so far have enjoyed a lot of the posts that I read.

Thanks for the feed back, yeah I enjoy reading and posting here, but I also noticed the items I pointed on my post and find it unhealthy for the platform. There are about 4 millions registered users but only about 30-40 thousand are active(based on the statistics from @arcange, and I assume that one of the few causes are disheartened minnows who sees reality as it is, that for their posts to be noticed they need to "pay" whales to take notice of them. On the other hand, I don't see this as a discouragement in fact I see this as a challenge, and I eat challenge for break fast, dinner and lunch, and the occasional midnight snacks.

Loading...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jamesanity06 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36