MY FIRST 120 DAYS ON STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The BIG 120!

Yes it’s my 120th day here on Steemit!
Rip out the bubbly!

WOW, what an interesting 120 days it has been, a life changing experience to say the least.

I’ll start with where I am currently, then work my way to how I got here:

I have learned a thing or two about what Crypto is, how it works, what the potentials of Crypto are. I have taken just over $9,000.00 USD and invested it into Steem. I should say, Invested it into my future here on Steemit. I realize that there is no “easy and quick money” out there, so life has taught me. Life has also taught me that persistence and devotion does bring about a lot of rewards.

I am becoming a true blue Blogger, and not a remnant from other social networks.

So far to date I have tested out the idea of using Steemit for direct business, sales and marketing. Using a number of posts to promote the idea, to try out the ins and outs of this platform for these purposes and the final result of it all was that my wife and I opened up the following pages:

@classifieds
The page promoting Business 101 on Steemit
&
@fundraisers
The page promoting fundraisers on Steemit.

We manage them similar to what one would manage a Facebook page, by resteeming the relevant posts, making it easier for people to find these posts.
If we could delegate user roles on pages (profiles), that would be a fantastic addition to Steemit. As then more people could get involved and this would really help in making things grow here on Steemit. Just a thought!
Basically the platform here is terrific for crowd funding and likewise for promoting business like activities. So the potentials are out there. The Crypto factor here on Steemit opens up a tonne of new potential that the other social networks/platforms just do not offer.

I am running two fundraisers here on Steemit, both in accordance and as a direct result of the efforts described above.

'Women's shelters fundraiser' - Please help a worthy cause with your Upvote.
&
Lets Get A Donation To The SALVO's Stores - Please help a worthy cause with your Upvote.

You can take a look at the two fundraisers I have going in the links at the bottom of the post in the relevant links section.

I am practicing what I am preaching!

Another very personal project that my better half and I have started is a “Family Page”.

@millers

We opened this recently after our kids started showing an interest in what we are doing here on Steemit.

It has been one of the best moves for us as a family, as it adds new meaning to all this for us, not only is it a kids savings account, it is also a great way of getting the kids to learn how to appreciate that their invested efforts are worth something. To have them learn that they are not limited to the “old ways” of earning a living, that their education is important and all the other values that a parent tries to pass on, so as to ensure the best possible future for the kids.

And to finish it all off as far as where I am and what I am doing, ma “Goodnight Posts”. I have noticed that some bloggers out there on the internet have a specific “Trade Mark”, something that they are known for. As things progressed here I found that sharing a post that makes people smile and laugh once a day is something that I would dearly enjoy as “My Trade Mark”. To make it all the more worth it, all the funds raised via upvotes on these “Goodnight Posts” i am forwarding to the total accumulated on the above listed fundraisers i am running. Hopefully in the long run my efforts shall get some more support and everyone will be smiling all over the world.

SO HOW DID I GET TO WHERE I AM?

In the beginning when first arriving here, it was like as with everything, a lot of roaming around, trying to figure things out and so on, as with anything in life.

Like with anything in life, when arriving into a new community a person brings along with them their knowhow, experience and habits.

I remember that the initial reaction was “This looks similar to Twitter” it has “FOLLOWERS” and back 120 days ago a lot of talk was about “the number of followers”. I guess this is what gave this initial impression.
So, after looking around to see who has the most followers and so on, it seemed that the same methodology as with Twitter can be used, namely, follow everyone possible and a large number follows you back and it is all a “game of numbers”.

WRONG!
No need to go further with that topic! The answer is “NO”. N and O. Simple as that.

This is not Twitter, nor Facebook.
I’ll elaborate on this later on, when I get to the “community” aspect of Steemit.

As far as posting goes, it is nothing like the other social networks that I have been on, which were, Linked In, Facebook and Twitter.
I haven’t been on Linked in and Facebook in ages, just not for me. As far as Twitter went, I guess I was enjoying it there, but I used an account under a “nick” because it didn’t feel warm and fuzzy using my real name, same thing applied to Facebook, just wasn’t a place where I wanted to be doing things as me.

While here, from day one it seemed like a place where I could be ME.
Don’t ask why? I am still not sure, guess it was just one of those “Gut Feelings”!

Basically, my conclusion as far as posting is concerned is the following:

BE YOURSELF.

Don’t force it, it’s no competition, if anything, you need to be WHO YOU ARE.
Don’t pretend to be someone else, just be who and what you are and let people respect you for it.
Don’t let the “financial side” of this platform turn you over to the dark side, being a blogger is all about YOU and that is the only way a blogger can be a true blue blogger.

Remember this one thing and you’ll be right:
The Steemit community isn’t obsessed with the number of “likes” a person has on their post, the only person that matters on YOUR blog is YOU!

BECOMMING A MEMBER OF A COMMUNITY

Steemit has its own chat service and many of us Steemians are on a chat service called Discord.
Personally, I didn’t have a clue about any of this, until one of the blokes from the TeamAustralia community approached me and introduced me to all this.

It is here where every person with their individuality makes up a part of a community. Lets not forget that Steemit is growing and the best way for me to describe these communities on the chat services are to the “Groups” on Faebook. (I am comparing to what is known to me.)
Not to say that they are the same thing, far from it, as the chats are “live” and no post like conversations, pure and simple everyday like chatting.
It was through these conversations that I learned a lot, mostly by reading what people were talking about and then using Steemits Search bar and Google to fill in the gaps.

As with any newcomer, somehow I felt a little “alienated” and wanting to prove myself. Basically, there was no need for it, just chat away as you would at a bar with mates. Everything is leisurely and cool.

Ask questions, people will help.
This is what kept me here on Steemit. The people factor.

We are at the very beginning of Steemit, try and go back to the first year of Facebook or Twitter, that is where we are here on Steemit. So when you meet people who are willing to help you along, lead you into the right direction it really means a lot.
So there, is what I have to say about the community factor!

This now brings me to the SUPPORT side of things.

THE SUPPORT FACTOR

One of the best things that I have seen is The Minnow Support Projects (MSP). Where the people who have the knowhow and the means are trying to get projects up and running to support the newcomers here.

It is all a little confusing at first, which is normal, but as time goes along one learns the ins and outs of this all and starts to see what projects one can use to help move forwards here on Steemit.

Most of these are financially based, meaning that they are there to help your posts along financially. No matter whether that be via upvotes or via resteeming or commenting, all in all these projects are there to help all of us. Because I still firmly believe that the minnows (newcomers) of today are the Dolphins and Whales of tomorrow. Once the minnows of today make it up the ranks to become Whales, then Steemit and all of us here have succeeded.

Ok, what I am about to say here is a little unpopular, but I shall say it anyway, not as a bad thing, just as something that I have noticed here.

As with any groups out there in our lives, people form their own little clans, groups and friendships. So too is the case here on Steemit. Human nature is and always shall be human nature. It sometimes seems that many of the people who have a very strong voting power are not noticing a lot of the minnows here who are trying really hard. I’m not talking about the “suck ups” the people who are doing their very best to become brown noses, i am talking about the people who are the exact opposite. The ones who shall make Steemit into a platform where individuality is appreciated and promoted.

Now, this could be just something that seems to be the case to me and to some others out here. It probably shall be the case until the number of users starts to boom into the millions. However until then there could be maybe some way of not letting our human habitual nature take precedence over the potential to make the number of minnows grow faster, the minnows out here who are doing a lot and putting in a lot of effort and work and giving of themselves. Now I know that this may sound romantic to some, this may be taken the wrong way by some. I just don’t know how to wrap things up, usually that has cost me in life, but at least I know that everyone out there knows that I say things openly to their faces and many people respect me for it. In fact, most people trust me very much because of it. So maybe this could be something to be looked at, at this stage of things.

THE ECONOMICS

I mentioned earlier that I invested into my Steemit account, I went out and purchased Steem.

At this point in time I cannot advise anyone out there about this decision. Is it economically sound, I think so.

Why, well let me say again what I said a moment ago:
“Remember the first year of Facebook, and Twitter”
That is where we are right now here on Steemit.

Imagine if you could travel back in time and invest in some things when they were starting out!
This is it, I firmly believe that this is our opportunity here!

Crypto is here and it is here to stay and it is only a matter of time until it becomes just as simple to use if not easier than the FIAT currencies. Technology has boomed out of any imaginable proportion, and is booming to the point where sooner or later “paper” will not be used for currencies anywhere.

So this is the future of economics, at least one branch of it.

That is my conclusion on the "economics" after being here for the past 120 days!

As far as the learning side of things go, I am still taking baby steps, if there is one thing in life that I have learned that is not to rush into the unknown. Look, listen and learn before jumping in. Don’t “hope for the best”, make it what you want it to be!
That is where I am at as far as the economics side of things go!

ALL IN ALL

I am in for the long run, I have finally found a place on the internet where I can be who I am and enjoy my time here. Share my individuality and get rewarded for the fact that I am an individual and not some drone obsessed with the number of “likes” others give me.

Yep, and the best thing about it is that I am a part of something new here. Something that is growing and becoming one of the biggest and best social networks out there.

So, there it is, my 120 day After Action Report (AAR).

Thanks for reading,
I hope that my experiences can in some way help you all understand a little more about me as an individual as I have come to learn a lot about others in similar posts about experiences people have had through their different stages along their timeline here on Steemit.

Relevant links:

You can take a look at the two fundraisers I have going here:

'Women's shelters fundraiser' - Please help a worthy cause with your Upvote.
https://steemit.com/fundraisers/@jackmiller/women-s-shelters-fundraiser-please-help-a-worthy-cause-with-you-upvote
&
Lets Get A Donation To The SALVO's Stores - Please help a worthy cause with your Upvote.
https://steemit.com/fundraisers/@jackmiller/lets-get-a-donation-to-the-salvo-s-stores-please-help-a-worthy-cause-with-your-upvote

Our Projects
@fundraisers - The page promoting fundraisers on Steemit.

@classifieds - The page promoting busines 101 on Steemit.

Our Family Page
@millers

& of course my better half here on Steemit
@sylviamiller

& our eldest son who is either at work or at the GYM or doing what an 18 year old does!
@chrismiller

Sort:  

Good post Jack. Congrats on sticking around, learning what works/doesn't work, and then working hard to improve yourself based on that. Your steemit journey has certainly been an interesting one and I like where you are headed.

Thanks mate.
Still a long way to go and I know that there are people here willing to help out and point me in the right direction.

;)

pocketsend:121@choogirl, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: choogirl
New sending account balance: 966708
New receiving account balance: 120
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 628dbf33f17f0035c530cd5b748947862a43a3e2
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun,trying to raise awareness about a hackathon! View my source confirmer code here.

congratulation and stay on and given us more knowledge on your post.
thanks for sharing.

Thanks you.

pocketsend:121@radhemohanswami, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: radhemohanswami
New sending account balance: 966587
New receiving account balance: 120
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: e4ffa64f04a36b824546565bcac94d9c7feecb92
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Congratulations friend,! Go ahead towards your destiny... Good luck... And resteemed your valuable post, like me, more newbie can be helpful.. Thanks for sharing...

That is one of the best things about Steemit, people sharing their individuality, experiences and know how as people!

Something that I have not seen anywhere else on the social sites out there!

Yes, I agree with you friend..

pocketsend:121@mamu77, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: mamu77
New sending account balance: 966224
New receiving account balance: 120
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: d54b532f9cbf66f382605b520ca0e24fce078272
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

Thanks...

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

That's a mighty effort Jack

This to me was like my first "mark of the match".

Now I know that I can go all the way to the Full Time siren!

pocketsend:121@stephen-somers, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: stephen-somers
New sending account balance: 966345
New receiving account balance: 220
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 716352aeb36113621991b4e71fff852b5a843abb
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

Thanks I can feel those jangling in my pocket.

Congratulations on your achievement. :)
You are doing really great work in helping others using your blogging strengths.
I wish you success in your life.

pocketsend:121@tusharg, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: tusharg
New sending account balance: 965982
New receiving account balance: 120
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 77f0c39d0db440e48341127a30dd80a16971a51e
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun,trying to raise awareness about a hackathon! View my source confirmer code here.

Great post Jack.
Damn has it only been that long, time flies eh? You've mellowed since you got here too buddy which is a sign of being in a better place I guess.
The charity stuff you run I very admirable, I'm glad to know ya mate.
Steem on.

Thanks mate, in my lifetime since becoming a parent, my wife and I have given donations out to local kindies and other charities. We have helped out a number of organizations in their fund runs and so on, so I guess all i am doing here is just doing what I know works and trying to make it happen here too.

I am sure as time goes along that we shall see thousands of things happening here on Steemit, things that none of us right now might not even be able to imagine.

This combination of Crypto + blogging has got me, totally am all into it, can see a really bright future for everyone here.

& as we all know, the first 4 months of anything new is the hardest.... i just made it to that mark!

So from here onwards.... it should be calm sailing!

pocketsend:121@tremendospercy, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: tremendospercy
New sending account balance: 965861
New receiving account balance: 16120
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 52051fb1d154343f0a7004fdf11054c583ecd65f
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun,trying to raise awareness about a hackathon! View my source confirmer code here.

Congrats on making it to 120 days. I don't think I'm too far behind you as far as when I joined. One too many ss's on your sons profile at the very bottom. @chrissmiller I'm guess it's supposed to be @chrismiller

Mate, time flies, but it does take a lot of thought and effort to get through it.
This is mostly all new to me, from Crypto all the way to blogging.

& thanks for the note about the name, as if it makes much of a difference, he's in his own little teenager world... some days he's normal, others... well, need I say any more!

We've all been there and gone through it.... now it's his turn!

pocketsend:121@gniksivart, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: gniksivart
New sending account balance: 965740
New receiving account balance: 660
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 7c4670de1ff52eab030800a1c902be7c7544c3e0
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

congratulations🎉

Thanks mate!

pocketsend:121@kawaiipower, A little gift for everyone who shared this day with me here on Steemit!

Successful Send of 121
Sending Account: jackmiller
Receiving Account: kawaiipower
New sending account balance: 966466
New receiving account balance: 120
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: ea6b708e439febebf467964e9dbc11daeeabbd76
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun,trying to raise awareness about a hackathon! View my source confirmer code here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83