180 DAYS ON STEEMIT - What A Life Changing Experience!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

180 days, or should I say SIX MONTHS?

Either of the two are fine by me, they flew by like the Road Runner zooms past the silly old coyote!

That's right, 180 days have gone past since I first registered here on Steemit. What a life changing experience it has been.

From being introduced to Crypto to learning what it means to be a blogger, literally a life changing experience, no other terms can describe it.

I truly have found a new challenge in my life, in the second half of my life span, maybe even the last third of my life span, but what ever it is, it is going to be the most interesting part of my life as I have seen an entire new world out there. Crypto.

Not to generalize, but I guess that one thing I have seen is that Bitcoin is just the first of many that are going to change the way things work on this planet and from what I have seen, Steem and SBD are definitely in the top ten of the Crypto currencies that are going to rock this world!

So, what all am I doing here on Steemit?

Well, my wife and I are managing two pages, somewhat like a Fakebook page would be managed, still waiting for the options to name Page Authors/Managers like on Fakebook. Not to compare things, just saying that this option would really make things a lot more "community" based here and would sure as anything draw a lot more people onto Steemit. Teams of people managing pages/walls with a click of button!

I'm sure that this shall be coming soon if it isn't already in the works!

Ohhh yeah, the pages are:

@classifieds - The page promoting business 101 here on Steemit.
&
@fundraisers - The page promoting fundraising efforts here on Steemit.

For now the pages are used for resteeming relevant posts, soon we plan on posting too, so as to try and promote the vast list of possibilities here on Steemit in both fields.

No, these pages are not future Whales, they are not here to make money, they are here to promote ideas and peoples efforts in expanding the diversity of uses that Steemit has to offer.

What else am I doing here?

I currently have two fundraisers up and running,


https://steemit.com/fundraisers/@jackmiller/update-on-the-two-fundraisers-that-i-am-running-here-on-steemit-10-december-2017

'Women's shelters fundraiser'

TOTAL RAISED VIA UPVOTES TO DATE = $238.60 Australian Dollars (AUD)

TOTAL STILL NEEDED TO RAISE = $125.40 Australian Dollars (roughly $94 USD)

GOAL: $364 (AUD)

&

Lets Get A Donation To The SALVO's Stores

TOTAL RAISED TO DATE VIA UPVOTES = $203.11(AUD)

TOTAL STILL NEEDED TO RAISE = $32.09 Australian Dollars (roughly $24 USD)

GOAL: $235.20 (AUD)

As you can see, we are almost there, just a few more upvotes and the donations are on their way!!!!

Wouldn't it be nice to get these out for Christmas!

Well, as things are going, with all the posts that I am allocating the upvotes from, I am sure that it won't be too long for both of these donations to be in the hands of the listed community charity organizations.

Sharing is caring! - That's what they used to teach us at school.

So, what else am I up to, when I'm not posting and/or reading other peoples posts?

I am involved in an effort to get a new SMT out as soon as they are up and running.

Yep, found that my skills and know how can be used in a project environment, just had to adapt a little, improvise with the communications and overcome my own uncertainties and fears.

So I am part of a growing team of people who are working on a new SMT..... something that lets say six months ago was impossible, has now become possible and not just possible, it is happening!

Remember what I said at the beginning of this post? "....life changing experience....."

How about the other things that I am doing or have done?

I have participated in a contest that @v4vapid organized and I won, still can't believe it, as I am one of those people that when placing bingo gets the card with none of the numbers that are drawn!

You know, like if there was a chook raffle with 100 tickets and 99 prizes, I would have that unlucky ticket that gets laughed at!

So, I still need to comprehend that I actually won!

Thanks @v4vapid , you sure do have some excellent contests running here, makes this place oh so interesting for both the people participating in the contest and for those of us who generally enjoy reading peoples submissions.

Great stuff man!

Enough about him, this is my post, my 180 days... NHF man, will do a post about you too one day, this is my special moment!

There it is.... I've been babbling on about me, what about all the other people like @v4vapid who are doing things for others here, both on the scenes and off the scenes via the chat services that most of us use?????

Like TEAM AUSTRALIA!!!

If it wasn't for @teamaustralia I probably would have been long gone by now, or just mucking around with some twitter like posts that are kind of out of place here.

BIG THANKS TO ALL MY MATES IN TA.

and also a BIG THANKS to the people who are really trying hard to make things here work for everyone, like the Minnow Support Project - MSP people.
Wish to give a special thanks to @sammosk who has via Discord been there when I was literally lost here on Steemit. He was there for me as a person and that means a lot to me. Thanks dude.

Likewise, @tremendospercy our favourite Brit on Steemit, he too was there when I was wandering around the deserts with no water.....

Then there is @sirknight who offered a hand of friendship when I was new to Steemit, and the dude that made a world of difference at times when I was in need of some guidance, our one and only, in the TOP 20 witness, @ausbitbank !

Thanks dudes!

Wait a minute, at this rate I'll be needing like ten pages of text to thank everyone out there....

So here it is, the general THANK YOU:

I Jack Miller thank everyone out there, from all the people I am in contact with on a regular basis (you all know who you are) to everyone who has ever read a post of mine, to everyone who is going out of their way to make Steemit a better place!

THANK YOU!

Ohhh yeah... when someone asks themselves WHY is this guy here?

Here's the answer to that question:

So, signing out for the night, with this big 180 days on Steemit post....

Jack Miller

STEEM ON!

Image souce: All gifs are from giphy.com

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention mate.
As I said before Jack, I'm proud to have been part of your journey.
When you first came I saw something in you that reminded me of me, we have so much in common even though our backgrounds and life journeys have been completely different.
You have embraced Steemit into your heart and have brought in your family too thus making it a fantastic medium to stay in constant touch with them. It must be so hard to be so far away from them for so long. You're unique on the platform mate and I'm certain there are more great things to come from you.
Keep on Steeming brother, it's been a great 180 days!

Thanks bro, after all we were both baptized in the same church!

happy half-anniversary!

It's nice to see ordinary people become successful in this community, and best of all involving the family to be part of it.

Well done my friend.
Cheers,
@yehey

I just realized that my 180 days happened in November. The Steemit platform is indeed a very good experience! Keep going!

Congratulations @jackmiller! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.12 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jackmiller from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been upvoted at 100% thanks to @heroic15397!

Great post Jack, it sounds like it has been a very eventful six months. I have be an active steemian for a similar amount of time. My take on steemit is, keep your posts interesting, of good quality and well researched. Good luck for the future I will be keeping an eye on your progress. All the best for Christmas and New Year.

& a very merry Christmas to you and your loved ones too.

Great picture of the family and very cool shirts. Congrats I think my 180 days or 6 months is coming up within the next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98