How To Find Your Niche to Build Your Audience // Minnow University // Help for Minnows and New Users

in #steemit7 years ago

Minnow University (2).jpg

How To Find Your Niche to Build Your Audience

It’s important to find a niche when blogging.
This may be easier for some people than it is for others.
For instance, those that are already blogging, writers, musicians, photographers, crypto and financial analysts, technology experts, travel and food bloggers etc.
These people already have their niche and will generally have an easier time gaining an audience.
But that doesn't mean it is impossible for others!

I received a message the other day from a Steemian asking me to take a look at his blog and looking for advice as to how to get more attention on his posts.

I looked at his 7 most recent posts and sent him this message:

"Hey! You had 67 views, 108 votes, and $4.38 on your most recent post. You've only been here since August and your rep is 56. All things considered you are doing quite well!!! I gave that post some upvotes. Your posts about life and your travels do quite well so stick with those. Color challenges and meme challenges are hit and miss for minnows and new users so don't feel bad about that. Your niche seems to be your life outlook, your adventures, your travels, life advice, etc. So stick with that and maybe 1 or 2 other topics of interest to build an audience."

I often receive messages from people saying that they are having a hard time figuring out their place on Steemit and what to write about.
If you are feeling lost about what to write about then there are 3 things to consider which will help you.

3 Ways to Find Your Niche

  1. What are you good at?
  2. How can you help people on Steemit?
  3. What do you enjoy?

What do you do for a living?

Are you a nurse, doctor, teacher, retail sales associate, lawyer, mechanic?
Write about your experiences.
What do you love/hate about your job?
Write some tutorials to educate people.
Write about funny experiences that happened at your job.

How can you help people on Steemit?

Weekly contests, tutorials, curation efforts, community building, posts promoting other steemians, etc.
These are all ways that you can help.
I'll talk more specifically about these ideas in another post.

What do you enjoy?

Do you love animals, music, art, philosophy, psychology, gardening, cooking, reading, movies, sewing, religion, spirituality, esoteric subjects, comedy, politics, conspiracies, the environment?
Read and study about what you enjoy then write about it.
You can become knowledgable in anything you want to write about simply by reading, studying, then writing about it in your own words.


Write from your perspective using your own words

This is extremely important. I saw a post the other day where someone was recommending “ripping other writers off”

No

We are not here to steal other people’s work.
We may not be able to invent the wheel regarding subjects that we are studying, but the goal is to write about what you have learned from your own perspective IN YOUR OWN WORDS.

I know this seems obvious to most of you, but unfortunately Steemit is filled with users who are plagiarizing and creating low quality posts by stealing other people’s work.

I’ll be talking about the difference between low quality posts and high quality posts in my next post.

A great Discord to check out as far as finding people with similar interests as yours is Looking for Niche. You can read about what they are all about Here and join their Discord Here




Be sure to check out Minnow University Radio tonight on MSP-Waves. @swelker101 and @kubbyelizabeth will be offering helpful tips for new users and answering questions.

7PM EST / 12AM UTC at the MSP-Waves PALnet Discord





Minnow University is brought to you by witness @swelker101 with support from @isaria and @kubbyelizabeth to help new Steemit users understand the concepts and basics of Steemit and other STEEM blockchain platforms. We have working relationships with MSP at PALnet and The Writer's Block to help educate minnows on how to grow their accounts without resorting to spam or practices that may stunt their ability to flourish on the platform. Please join us at the Minnow University Discord.

Sort:  

Really insightful article for a newbie like me..
It answered a lot of questions that I was asking myself.. And ones I didn't think to ask. I'm gonna take ur advice and stick to what I know and like while keeping it informative and transparent.

I'm so glad it helped you. :)

awesome article, thanks for that! I think finding your niche is a big thing but not absolutely neccessary. I do not really have a nice and I just post the stuff I am interested in and what I love doing. So you will find my art, photography, drone videos and all the creative stuff on one side, but you will also find scientific articles that I write about the topics I am interested in. A niche is a nice place to start but I feel like suprising your audience is a good way too. Anyway, thanks.

i recommend to new users the exact same advice i give to other writers who want to know how i keep going, even when things aren't going so well:

create what YOU want, write what YOU want, and put out into the world that which you wish to see more of. anything else beyond that is out of your control, so better to be true to your passions and to yourself rather than not...even at the expense of some perceived level of "success." i'd much rather do things on my own terms rather than on those dictated by someone else.

Excellent words of wisdom!

Hi @isaria Thank you for your post! I would love to hear your comments and feeback about my posts as well! Really appreciate if you can visit y blog.

Hi @bucho, beautiful comment! I started following you and want to invite you to visit my blog and see my posts. I would love to hear your feedback and comments!

Great Advice!
As long as they're being themselves and not getting discouraged, they're golden.

Absolutely :)

Great advice! What would you recommend for someone new and writing on a topic that is not yet being written about? I am interested in a niche about law school. There is almost nothing about the law right now on SteemIt.

I bet there is an audience for it. Be the trendsetter! Start writing and use the tags: education, law, life.
Politics, science, psychology, and philosophy tags are a bit of a stretch but they are also popular tags.

This is wisdom personified. I'd like to be a part of this, pls how do I begin?

Thanks for the great tips for minnows!

You're welcome!

This is really helpful advice for newcomers, but also for some of us who have been around for awhile. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you!

My pleasure!

Great post and thank you for the advice. To be honest, I'm still trying to find my niche myself, though I did find at least one or two things I would like to do on a regular/semi-regular basis. I'll be sure to check out the links you sent and I'll try to catch the radio show as well if time allows.

Thank you for the taking the time to help us minnows!

You're welcome, thanks so much for your feedback!

Great educational piece. Thanks for all you do for the steemit community.
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Thank you for your continued support Chelsea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46