Time to Recover my Voting Power... 85 hour voting fast.

in #steemit6 years ago

I really enjoy giving out upvotes.

Even though my upvote isn't worth a whole lot, I really enjoy "dusting" comments and posts. My voting power usually remains around 20% - 30% most of the time. If I can get it above 50%, I'm doing well.

This means my upvotes are only 1/3 value of what they could be.
Voting with low voting power is not the best steemit practice.


Credit to @shenanigator for the image above.

The mechanics of Voting Power.

Simply put, every 100% vote reduces voting power by 2%. It takes 2.4 hours to recover a single 100% upvote.

A real-world example:

If your VP (voting power) is at 100%, and you voted 10x at 10:00 PM, your VP will be reduced to 80%. If you waited until 10:00 PM the next day (24 hour recovery), your VP will be back to 100% again.

My new strategy for generosity.

First, I have to go on an 85 hour upvote fast. Regain 100% voting power again. It's going to be agonizing, but I think I can do it.

Second, once I get back up to 100%, I need to discipline my upvoting habits. With 37% voting weight (percentage of upvote), my upvote is currently worth about $0.02. I can upvote 20x per day @ $0.02 each. This is the upvoting habit I'd like to form.

It means that I can give out $0.30 per day (after curation fees) to Steemians. That's $9.00 per month!

Finding the perfect Voting Percentage

I'm not on steemit 6 hours per day (really, I'm not!), but for my calculations, let's say 6 hours curating (draining VP) and 18 hours offline (recovering VP).

If I vote @ 100% @ $0.04:
18 hours / 2 hours, 24 minutes recovery per upvote = About 7 - 8 upvotes per day

If I vote @ 37% @ $0.02:
18 hours / 53 minutes recovery per upvote = About 20 upvotes per day

37% is my perfect voting percentage, maximizing my number of upvotes and upvote value.


My voting power would always be between 84% - 100%

Don't forget about Dustsweeper!

When I vote on your comment @ 37% and give you two pennies, you may not even receive them! Posts and comments under 0.025 will not pay you anything, the post/comment value must be over a certain threshold before the reward goes to you, otherwise all that dust gets swept back into the reward pool. What can we do about this?

Enter Dustsweeper!

By sending SBD to @dustsweeper, this friendly bot will make sure you are always above the threshold and collect your dust.

https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

@dustsweeper will upvote your comments with dust votes so that they are worth over $0.025. That will ensure that you keep them!

Seeing a 2 cents profit turn into dust doesn't sound like much, but for someone new, it can make all the difference. @dustsweeper is trying to prevent that potential disappointment by helping protect those tiny profits.


Image Source

I want you to receive my pennies! Send SBD to @dustsweeper and they will credit you 2x that amount in upvotes.

Conclusion

Please be patient while I recover my voting power, then I'll be back in full swing. I plan on continuing a generous upvote campaign (20x or so per day average) once things are recovered. By Monday of next week, I should be good.

@ironshield


Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Do you want to learn how to format your Steemit posts?


Make your steemit posts more appealing! Check out the course by @sumatranate on markdown and learn how to make your Steemit posts stand out. Check it out here.


SmartCashSXJLtozyeJeCxYMd5ckXU2rGHGjAwUePMa
Bitcoin14USVaf7cnCZzMtvFaqGuSXdKcVq4pFHzf
LitecoinLPRHooiVYgvM6Jp7jsDYhcvXeTB2qnBfk9
Ethereum0xAd1E93433DD92d07425ADa83d9192d6bD1ee08e0
Bitsharesir0nshield <----with a "zero" for an "o"

ALL PHOTOS ORIGINAL TO THE AUTHOR UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED.

Sort:  

@smartbot tip 1

Your post has been tweeted to 2000 followers. Follow me on twitter
Your post has been shared with 2000 facebook members. Join facebook group

Σ$$$ Tipped @ironshield Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.075 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.07 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

I remember reading your post on dustsweeper. Does the ROI change with the price of steem/SBD? Is there ever a time where it wouldn’t pay to send SBD to get the dust votes, or will it always be of profit?

The price of Steem/SBD hasn't changed much since @dustsweeper started, so I don't know. A dust vote would be worth more and so would the Dust Sweeper vote. Unlike most bots upvote, there is very little ROI on the dustsweeper vote after curation, but you do get to keep the initial upvote value. You will always profit a little. @ironshield

howdy there @ironshield! wow, I usually am around 45% voting power, I don't know if i could go 85 hours without voting but if you can do it then more power to you! I know it's going to be torture. It's very good planning though. God bless you sir!

I may still make tiny percentage upvotes on comments as a show of appreciation. Come Monday, the fun will begin again! @ironshield

yes sir on Monday the fun begins again but then you have to have discipline to keep it high!

Voting strategy is important. I usually vote down to 75-80 percent on an active day. I can not give out as many votes, but I can give out more powerful votes. Stay with your decision. Waiting 85 hours will be hard but it will put you in a better place.

Yes, 85% would be a challenge for sure. I'm handing out 1% dust votes on people's comments... I wish I could do better right now! It's only a few days. @ironshield

The problem with @dustsweeper is that they are now upvoting only two comments for each member. Too many members and too few SP.

AH..so that is what is going on! I was wondering...I used to get more!

Man that's to bad,it looks like they need some deeper pockets!

TWO comments only? Oh man, I hope someday it can improve. Delegation rewards or something. @ironshield

: - ( Ah man....no upvote from my friend!
Understandable...see you in a few days! : - )

I'll hand out 1%'s all day long! I'm looking forward to Monday when I can begin some serious upvoting again. @ironshield

Looks like your 1% are even lower than dust...you might as well save them up!

I don't like seeing real comments below the bot junk. @ironshield

I like the dustsweeper app,I wish it could up vote post payouts also!

Yes, dustsweeper is great! I would advise everyone put something into it. @ironshield

So wierd. I've been looking forward to Shabbat to have a 36 hour fast from Steemit. And then my voting power can increase. But here I've been panicking because it hovers around 70 to 80 %! I've been thinking it has to hit 100%. Hope you can wait so long. I had forgotten about dustsweeper. Definitely going to give it a bash. It'll be my first bot. I don't like bots and prefer reading each post and voting myself.

Yes, I'm off Steemit for Shabbat and it's the only time my VP recovers. If you use any bot, dustsweeper is the one. @ironshield

Thanks for the advice. Have a blessed Shabbat

This sounds like an excellent idea, @ironshield. I think I should follow your example and refrain from voting for a while. Hard to do. I am addicted to curating! 🤣

I know how you feel! @ironshield

Your post has been resteemed. Thank you for using my resteem service
Join my discord server for free resteems

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56