All Hail, the Mighty STEEM FLAG! ~ #flagspam

in #steemit6 years ago

Finally, a Flag I can get behind! I pledge no allegiance to any silly ruling classes flag, but the STEEM Flag is a completely different beast. It has actual use, compared to just swaying in the wind pretending to be a sign of freedom for its people.

steem%20flag%20.jpg

source

There are a variety of reasons one would use the Flag, maybe dispute of rewards, maybe you just don't like that person, maybe you just don't like the content, whatever. I believe using the flag for spam is its best intended use.

I wrote a post yesterday and within a few minutes I had a comment...ohhh goody, someone liked my post and wants to chat about it!! But no. It was something I have come to see too often in the first few minutes of a post being published.

Hi Guys! Today I help those peoples who are not earning well on steemit. I will suggest them and help them and soon I will start a YouTube channel for these peoples where I guide everyone. I hope you will also earn $100 of dollars on steemit. For suggestions Follow @jkgautam75 and get 50+ free upvotes by joining my community. https://t.me/target1000 So Join & Follow Now...

If you have been here as long as I have, you can spot the spam from a mile away. I think it also helps that I live in the state where SPAM is made, and the city is called Austin, which is my name. I was destined to be a spam spotter!

So I did what I usually do, I flagged his comment as spam and told him so. Poof!, the comment was now transparent. But wait! He came back and upvoted it with about equal strength as my flag. Poof!, it's back again as a normal comment. Damn. Ok, lets get more people involved.

I gave incentive to other good Steemians to flag this spam.

Full upvote to anyone that flags this douche spamming everyone with the same comment. Just leave a reply and I'll upvote it after you flag him.

I didn't have to wait long for @tcpolymath to come to the rescue.

I cancelled all his active payouts. No need to upvote.

Along with his own voting power and a little help from @steemflagrewards, all of his active payouts were sent to zero. Nice work, definitely these 2 accounts deserve a shout out for keeping this place clean of crap like spam.

But wait! It gets even better!!!

Not only did the spam rewards get put back into the pool, but the spammer now wants out of Steemit because he is 'too busy' and 'has no time for Steemit'. Awesome! Beat it, we don't value your spam.

He decided to make a post, offering his account to anyone that wanted to pay almost 3X as much as it's worth. Seriously. A $600 account, and he's asking for $1500. He did have a 61 reputation, which isn't easy to get to, at least without investing and using bots to get there fast. But what else does the mighty STEEM Flag do?! It lowers your rep. This 61, just as of yesterday, is now a 4 today. Yeah, you read that right, a 4. As in 1-2-3-4, cuatro.

So knowing no one stupid enough will pay that ridiculous price for his account, he is powering down. I say good riddance to all spammers, and let this be a lesson to others who think that this type of tactic is approved by the masses here...it's not.

All hail the STEEM Flag!

Sort:  

Lol, I almost regret the Steemcleaners report, not that I'm not happy his rep is 4 but this seems like a lot to spend to get it there:

spam.png

I guess it's their business what they think their power is worth, though.

Do those $ figures show how much that vote would have been worth if it were an upvote? If so, that's a crazy amount of power behind those flags. Damn.

He got to a 61 by spamming?! Fuck. I've been doing it wrong this whole time.

lol, I can only assume he used bid bots to get there fast, seeing as he has only been here for all of 2 months.

Jesus, that must have been expensive.

No doubt, I suppose you do get it all back after payout, but the initial investment must have been pretty big.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86