Writing posts and getting followers is only 50% of what you are suppose to do here. CURATION EXPLAINED.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Can you make money upvoting posts? Or even downvoting posts? Exploring other blogs makes you money too.

curating-content-makes-money.jpg

Exactly one-half of the steem blockchain is based upon authors getting paid for the content they create.

The rest of the value here, comes from curators, and investors.

Let's talk about curation.

Curation is like being a janitor. All of us are in charge of upvoting good posts and downvoting bad and cheating posts.

Now, most of us have no problem upvoting good posts. We do that, because, if we have a good post, we also want people to upvote us too. So we share the effort by visiting other blogs upvoting and commenting so we're seen and we're paying-it-forward by doing it for other people too.

What about downvoting? Why would you ever downvote someone? Isn't it just easier to walk away and let someone else do it?

As your reputation level increases. I think most people start at Reputation level (25).... being able to downvote because of your reputation level and steem power becomes more and more important.

Let's give some examples.

You are a Reputation level 48 user, you have about $700 worth of steem power. While you are looking around steemit, you see some newbie with Reputation level 32 (with steem power $42) plagiarizing, copying posts from the internet, and trying every trick possible to flood the blockchain with crap content.

When you downvote someone like that... This is what happens:

  • (1) It is the responsible thing to do
  • (2) Since a level 32 is so far behind you, even if they attempt to downvote your posts, it will not have any real effect
  • (3) You can help the effort to curb their evil behavior "while it is still early" which may get them to stop
  • (4) Since you are more experienced, you can explain to that person what they are doing isn't right in the comment, and maybe give them a link to a helpful page or post that goes into more detail.
  • (5) A larger dolphin or whale user that comes upon the same post, sees you DID comment, and DID downvote that user who was basically breaking socially acceptable rules of the system, has a greater chance of upvoting your comment and following you.

What reasons does someone downvote a post? If you've never done it, this is the popup box that shows up:

downvoting-rules.jpg

So when you consider downvoting something, for legitimate reasons, all of us will appreciate it.. There's a couple things not mentioned in that popup box, that I'd like to add:

  • (1) Only downvote someone that is several reputation levels lower than you (At least 5).. If you are reputation level 48, feel free to downvote someone level 43 or younger if they are obviously abusing the the trust bestowed upon them as a responsible steemian user.
  • (2) Don't downvote immediately. Try and appeal to the person first. Explain what they are doing is wrong (if it is wrong) and give them a chance to correct their behavior. A couple of explanations and warning helps. Some people will listen. Some won't.
  • (3) I know it sounds weird, but many new users to steem think they are the first one to figure out how to "game the system" for rewards with cheap content, copy/pasta (cut/paste), spam, running an amateur bot, or upvoting their multiple accounts. Once they are caught doing something wrong, soon as a spotlight is cast on them, the majority will stop right away.

So how can you make money downvoting? Or explaining to younger reputation users that they should behave?

  • If you are successful, that is one more new account that won't attempt to steal rewards from the daily reward pool that is allocated to authors.

  • It stops one person from doing it, another person from watching that behavior and saying "look at that guy. He's trying to cheat. I know how he does that... I'm going to do it too"

  • Abuse of the system these ways are like a fire burning on your stove. Do you put out the fire now, or do you wait until it grows and starts burning down the house? We have to keep stomping out these small fires as quickly as possible

Ok, what about upvotes, and visiting other people's blogs? How does that make me any money?

When you upvote a post, especially within the 10-30 minute period after it was written, and that post goes viral, if you were one of the first people to recognize it was a good post, you can make handsome curation rewards by doing so.

  • OH! @intelliguy, I think I know what you're saying. I can just upvote as many popular posts as I can, and some of them will pay me well, right?
  • NO. Not quite. You'll run out of voting power if you keep doing that. It also depends on how many VESTS you have.

VESTS? What is a VEST? I know what STEEM is, and SBD is, and STEEM POWER is... now you're talking about VESTS?

Steem Power that you hold (as a locked in investment until you power down) is quantified as VESTS. You might have only 500SP (steem power), but that is known as a very specific number of VESTS.

If you are a huge whale, with lots of SP (and also lots of VESTS) and you upvote a viral post early (10-30 minutes after it was posted) and contribute a lot of your voting power to it, and it gets a high payout, you also, gain a large curation reward from that too.

Q: Uhhh.. I'm not a huge whale, and my SP is under $500 worth, so that doesn't help me. How can I still make money?
A: The extra bonus of upvoting other people's posts and writing comments still gets you noticed. When someone comments on your blog, especially someone you're not familar with, have you ever read their beautiful comment, then clicked on their name and went to go see who they were? What type of stuff they write? Most of us do that... Human nature is to be curious

This is a lot to learn, can you summarize the basic points for me?

Yes.

  • (1) Visit other people's good blogs, upvote them, comment on them, and help keep "good stuff" being valued high and appreciated on steem. This is my duty, your duty, and everyone else who uses steem to have as a duty and responsibility so good blog posts get rewarded.
  • (2) If you happen to show up and see someone cheating the system with crap posts, intended or not, it is up to you, and me, and everyone else, to downvote or at the very minimum explain to them, they're not doing it right, and by constantly uploading bad cheap content, it hurts everyone equally.

I already know this is a complicated subject, so please ask your questions below, and I'll do my best to answer them.

Can you make money upvoting posts?

A: Yes, depending on your steem power, or if your comments are upvoted and noticed.

Can you make money downvoting posts?

A: Yes, a downvote to a scammer, means they won't make very much, which means more good rewards for everyone else who is acting properly and making good posts has a better chance of getting paid better. (including you)

Let me give you one last example:

Just recently this user comment-spammed my wallet named @oguzdelioglu and here was his comment:

oguzdelioglu-comment.jpg

So with the help of https://steemd.com/@oguzdelioglu

I was able to trace his tracks and history.

He is a new account, this month, created September 2017.

He claimed he didn't spam anyone.

Yet he has over 800 posts (comments + articles) in less than 30 days. It turns out, he was using a BOT to automatically run around upvoting people's posts with generic comments, hoping to make automated curation rewards and build followers.

@oguzdelioglu is from the country Turkey. He's a gamer, and SEO person, and a programmer. He's under 30 years old, and he thought with his technical skills he could write automated bot scripts to make money while he slept.

He started with reputation level (25) and now he's reputation level (-1) now.

He thought he could gamify this blockchain to his benefit, with his technical expertise, and when it didn't work as expected, he figured he'd wallet-spam all people with reputation level (60) or higher. That didn't work either. Experienced users investigated his username and saw where he ran a bot and was trying to cheat the system.

His last words in his latest blog posts were removed, and edited, and he replied in turkish:

bunun farkındayım ve bir daha bu şekilde davranmayacağım.

translated into English it means:

I realize this and I will not behave this way again.

What does that mean? It means that my efforts, @pfunk's efforts, and a half-dozen other people with high reputation downvoted his post and explained to him that trying to cheat the system in the first month you are here is a terrible idea.

I'll refer to this bad situation as an accident scene.

I was on the accident scene with comments and downvotes to take care of this, and explain it to him, when @pfunk doing his regular monitoring of the situation, saw me there already and upvoted my single comment to almost $10 USD

At this point, it wasn't about money for me, doing what I did.

I just wanted to stop the spam and the possible cheating of the system.

Shouldn't you want to help do the same?

Together, all us can keep good posts treasured, and junk posts thin, if we curate well. :)

Sort:  

Thanks so much for explaining this, I have no problem flagging these individuals and have done so recently. Not doing anything encourages them and others to scam the system. In the end it hurts all of us to stand by and do nothing. Steemit doesn't need those types users, so it's our duty to get them to cease and desist. This post is resteemable!🐓

This is very well written. Although curation is less than 25%, especiallly when hundreds of other people are curating the same posts as you...

We need to improve that percentage back to 50% - I agree, most people don't put a lot of time or effort into curation, and if they did, it would benefit everybody at the same time.

I feel like I've had this conversation with you in the past? You've been in favor of the 50% curation. I still feel like curation is too easy to manipulate (bot voting, auto-voting curation trails, etc).

I would personally like to see an alternate method used to calculate curation rewards. Something more complex, like the percentage of votes you make toward a single author, or the percentage of votes you make on authors who you have followed for less than 7 days, or something more than simply clicking the "upvote" button.

Also, if you upvote content 1 minute after that content was posted, and the post is half as long as this one, there's no way the person read the post, so they aren't technically "curating", but they're simply trying to earn rewards from the post. So maybe include an algorithm that calculates the number of words in the article and the number of seconds a person spent reading it before they upvoted it? Sure, this could be "gamed" also, but at least it's an added layer of "defense".

I would personally like to see an alternate method used to calculate curation rewards. Something more complex

I know you would, and so would I... however. Machine will never beat the human greed instinct.

We can keep writing complex algorithms to try and automate the prevention of abuse and human greed. However, artificial intelligence systems can only do so much.

This is a social media platform, with humans participating... At some point (especially now) we need to identify what is socially accepted and what isn't.

Steemit/steem is still in BETA mode. The added layers of defense are only added layers but not fully defensive. :)

For this particular topic discussion, the general point has been made. Let's work with what we have at the moment.

(Which means, let's all use human power to decide what is good and what's not, and upvote or flag accordingly)

I do appreciate your comment...

Quickly: To me, it's not necessarily trying to "beat" human greed, but to Deter. If someone has to spend a significant amount of effort up-front to create an algorithm to "beat the Steemit defense", there are going to be fewer occurrences, and they will be easier to identify and manage.

Anyway, I'll leave this discussion for another post.

For this particular topic discussion, the general point has been made. Let's work with what we have at the moment.

(Which means, let's all use human power to decide what is good and what's not, and upvote or flag accordingly)

Agreed!

Amazingly well-written post with a bunch of great information! I definitely think the voting system on Steemit is still in it's rather raw form, and especially in it's current state, Steemit users, as a community have to enact disciplinary action upon behavior which does not help the community as a whole. There will forever be new waves of users find ways to game the system, and improvements of the reward systems will definitely help, it is still up to the community to make it work. Steemit is a value-based economy, and no policy or system can ever truly derive what true value is, that is left to the human mind to discern, which is the foundation of how we will make this community work! I hope to see more amazing post from you!

Personally, i'll always check Steemians's content when I don't know them and they post comments under my posts before I upvote them. Especially their comment history section, sometimes is see copy-paste comments and know straightaway they are just fishing for easy upvotes!

Yes, that is a really good tip too! Nice!

When I come across good content like this I just have to comment, upvote or resteem. I try to do at least 1 of the 3. I am new to steemit and spend a lot of time here learning. I will have to refer back to this article from time to time because I want to know how to be a good author and curator. I read a lot of posts that interest me everyday and I don't open some because of not being interested in them (at this time but my taste may change so I can learn other things). I have been around for 18 days now and I came across a post that told me if I mention @cleverbot when making a post or comment the bot would respond back and upvote my post. Is this considered spamming a blog?

Come on, cleverbot. I know you have it in you.

This what I have learnt from Curation rewards on Steemit:

Each post reward is split 75% author, 25% curator

After 30 minutes and more = ENTIRE portion of that 25% goes to the curator PERIOD.

27 minutes and 30 minutes past the time the post has been made live, will be split 90/10. 90% curator and 10% author.

15 minutes and 27 minutes of when a post is created. 50% curator and 50% goes to the author.

3 minutes and 15 minutes after post publication. 10% curator, author receives 90%

3 minutes after the post has been up. 0% curator, 100% author

Yes, okay.

People only caring about how much they get paid would worry about this... I purposely did not bring this up, because I was trying to encourage people to do the responsible thing, and flag inappropriate content, and seek out good content.

...and not focus on every action they make on steemit depending on what time it is...

I've commented on posts 8 days after it was made. I've commented on posts 1 minute after they're written. I know the mathematical algorithms and I still do that.. Want to know why? I'm a responsible user of this system that doesn't always do what makes the most money 100% of the time.

Do you agree that we have a social responsibility to act well on this system, rather than paying attention to how many minutes a post or comment is before we do something?

It's like when you figure out the "optimal" strategy in a videogame but then you realize that the strategy is boring as hell, so you just decide to have fun even if you don't get as many points or finish the game slower.

Very very good post. What you've said is very true. Am a newbie on steemit and there is this urge to want to grow big fast, truthfully I succumbed to it for some time, but truthfully I've stopped. My followers hip has stopped increasing but am happy am building the steemit community and site. Thanks for your efforts. 💪

truthfully I succumbed to it for some time,

Your honesty is admirable. Thank you very much. :)

This is an excellent post explaining curation. I have upvoted and resteemed. I think there are a lot of newbies like me that would find this helpful.

As in any other media, content is king and good content providers are the ones who make Steemit grow faster. Helping select those good content providers with up and downvoting is a great way to organically filter the good ones.
Thank you for the detailed post!

I have never down-voted any one,but when the time comes i will do it.

The reasons you gave for down-voting is what i will base before i spoil someone's day!

I actually see many authors here who earn from curation rewards mostly.
They rarely make posts,but keep looking for great content to upvote.

This rewards are handsome on authors with a high Steem Power and not us newbies.

Thanks for this well documented article of curation rewards,stay blessed.

It doesn't surprise me that many people earn mostly from curation. For me personally, I find it easy to comment or vote for the same reason that it's really easy for me to ask questions in class or engage people in conversation. However when it comes time to actually create stuff, I have no idea what to write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14