You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The three cardinal sins on Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago

I often see people think that content they owned and posted "years ago" is perfectly okay to recycle it through steemit.

There is THREE big problems with it:

  • A lot of people have posted things years ago. If we all start recycling old content from the internet together, we end up making steemit nothing more than a recycle bin with lots of old content

  • Google doesn't like to see duplicate content and will penalize a site for it over time. There was a company that use to "recycle and repackage" old internet content, called about.com and google actually blacklisted them at one point if I remember correctly (it was in the news)

  • Also curators and bots go looking for duplicate content, and could downvote you.

It's not about plagiarism. It's about "new, unique, fresh content" only available on steemit.

In my earlier days I wrote over 600 blog posts under my real name. Should I just dump them all here just to get paid? Nah, I decided to write new unique content that takes my viewers comments into consideration of what they're looking for... it works a lot better to talk to them, then AT them from historical content I wrote long ago in a different year, for a different reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83