As the russian hacker would say: You've been leaving comments all wrong. Now I show you the right way.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Comments and upvotes go together well. Very few seem to know how to do it.

I keep seeing this problem, and it's starting to drive me nuts.

Scenario:

1. Someone writes a good story, that's a little controversial

2. I show up and comment and share my view

3. Someone comes in right behind me and says "I fully agree with you @intelliguy, well said!"

4. I look at how many additional upvotes my comment received: ZERO


People take the time to thank me for my comment and acknowledge that it's a good comment. But they never seem to find the upvote button. It's little frustrating.


If I see a comment someone has made, and I really like it, I will simply upvote it. If I feel super happy about the comment, I'll leave a reply AND upvote.

I don't understand why people keep forgetting to upvote good comments...

If you like an article, we upvote it. You should do the same with comments. That's how the system is designed. :)


P.S.

Who is the Crazy Russian Hacker? this guy on youtube.

Sort:  

I know what you mean I see it all the time. I try my best to up-vote good comments more then I do posts. Comments are not getting near enough attention.

I'm also happy to see you upvoted your own comment. People forget that they should do that too..

(Unless of course, you write something and you don't agree with yourself. Then you shouldn't upvote yourself. But that should never happen should it? lol)

It can happen if you are schizophrenic, thankfully we are not... lol

When you write great articles, it's upvoted. If there is a clever or intrigued comment, upvoted. When it's someone you know that knows how to standtheir grounds with solid facts, upvote it. It kinda shows that you appreciate on having critique or feedback. Not just upvotes. It also teaches what kind of audiences you are having that are reading your articles.

Upvoting a post is the default, so I don't have to remember to do it. That's not the case for comments.

It also feels a little dickish to spend my limited upvoting power (drip recharge and all that) on my own comments, so I'm conflicted about that.

I usually upvote good comments myself, but I'm pretty sure what it is is the curation rewards. People want to vote on things that they know/expect will get a lot of other upvotes on, so they get a bigger curation reward. Most of the time comments tend to yield smaller payouts, so people see it as a 'waste' of their vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51