You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buying Advertising and Promotion discussion

in #steemit6 years ago

Only problem I see with your revised system is that newbies who don't have a lot of money would have zero chance of getting exposure. Right now even if you only have 1 SBD, you can keep that 1 SBD going indefinitely because the SBD payouts from bot upvotes will keep you about even, as your SP slowly rises. In your plan, if a newbie only had 1 SBD they could buy, they'd spend it once and never again be able to pay for a little extra visibility for their posts.

Sort:  

Chances are that 1SBD would be whittled down in no time though. What will be returned will be less than that 1 SBD, once the lower SP reward is factored in. And from one who bought into the bot thing very quickly after I got here, I can say for the most part it doesn't do much to get eyes on your work. What seems to work is interacting on others of like minds posts. Those are the people who upvote my comments and my posts. And yes, it is a slow process. But doable just the same.

The whales and those delegating are making out like bandits for something that for most buyers really isn't profitable, although it may be every now and then. I haven't even mentioned those who bid in at the last second, ensuring all the bidders lose 10% or more guaranteed. Or the value of Steem declining over that 7 days from votes being bought. A smaller account serious about growth would be better served investing that SBD into SP and focus on interacting, which involves them going to others posts.

I don't think it's either or. You definitely have to interact on the platform, particularly with posters who actually read their comments and reply to them, folks who want to get to know people on here. And if you don't have enough money, bots aren't going to get you on the trending page. But my experience has been that bots have really helped me too.

Other than my "introduceyourself" post, my 2 posts that I did not use bots on have earned only about $1 or less. My posts that I invested just 2-3 SBD in have earned more like $8-15. I'm giving prices in STU, as shown under rewards, not USD. Even once the 50-50 split is considered, I wind up with about as much SBD as I spend each time, and my SP also grows from each payout.

It is a slow process both from gradually growing relationships and for using bots with only 1-3 SBD per post. But it works way better than only doing one or the other.

But yes, it's definitely not a sure thing. There are always those folks who don't bother to check steembottracker before bidding, or do check it but don't understand the implications of what they see, so ruin the round for everyone. (I actually was that person one time, and by the time I realized it, I couldn't take it back!)

I don't see how the above model affects the content producer? They still get their vote. Maybe I need more coffee...

This is the idea of advertising. A newbie has options to go big and risk losing it or, engage with the community. I run a one person business, I do not have television ads, I have to do a lot of groundwork, always.

I think though that bots aren't exactly advertising. That's the closest model people can come up with to say "it's like this," but close isn't synonymous. It varies from advertising in that there is an expectation that you will just about break even on your spend. I don't think anyone would use bots for true advertising since unlike real advertising there is no guarantee the bots will get you more exposure, where advertisers due produce stats showing readership and suggesting likely returns.

where advertisers due produce stats showing readership and suggesting likely returns.

This is the blockchain, the operators keep saying it is all transparent so, they should be able to provide analysis and projection to users before they spend.

I think the closest to this now is the "last round" details listing on sbt. But 'past performance does not determine future results" has never been more true.

... I wonder how many people would advertise in papers/mags if they had to bid on the ad results and another bidder could at the last second cause everyone to flip from green to red.

ever wondered who those last bidders are?

I figured they're people who send bids from their wallets instead of sbt, so don't see what amount is left to bid. Or they don't mind paying for more exposure, when they could spread out the same SBD and at least be breaking even for the same payouts.

What if it is organised that way? I am not saying it is but, it has the potential to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56691.97
ETH 2499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23