The Rookie Mistake That Will Damage Your Reputation On Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

 It's sad to see people not understanding that Steemit is all about creating value for the community and adding value to the platform.

Despite having serious comsequences, copy-paste content is on the rise as is apparant from the latest Cheeta Report of 11 June, 2017 which you can see by clicking the link below.

Link:

https://steemit.com/cheetah/@cheetah/2017-06-11-txt / https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fsteemit.com%2Fcheetah%2F%40cheetah%2F2017-06-11-txt&h=ATNMrfMtREKrepEG1pE-2QJ4kWI6umX0suu0ovQSXF0iNoSRksiRtA2Ron63N_51EpmSFrOW0Ak1FIsq45CP6auUbBGGK0B6d_Ue7ovMuLgTZKLfByUE1X7YtJOsO37lny_pPnmRlziA

I went through the list and saw something pretty destructive happening and I would like to bring it to your knowledge; especially the very beginners.

Well, @cheetah is always running after copied content and if you are the one posting it, you are not going to have a good time on Steemit.

What Does The Unoriginal Content Do?

First of all, it invites Cheetah to comment on your post and upvote or downvote it. It may or may not be dangerous but if you invite Cheetah too often, it is going to end up not so well for you because Cheeta is always on...

Two Examples of What Happened!

From the lastes Cheeta Report, I have selected two tagged profiles to show what has happened to them. I didn't tag these individuals not to hurt their feelings but I hope they see it and make amends.

Example # 1

I clicked this profile to see where it stands in terms of Steemit metrics. You will see that too.


Now look at his profile. Look at his REPUTATION. Every new Steemit member has reputation of 25 and it increases as he adds value to the community. This guy had other plans though.

Example # 2

Now look at this name occurring again and again in the list. The guy above has been mentioned again and again too but not in same sequence as this one.


And now look at what it did to his reputation. You can't afford to lose the free reputation you got as a gift! 


Conclusion

There's a lot to learn in this post for the new comers. Do not fall prey to the ease of using shortcuts here because no one sees them as valuable. And you lose reputation.

The lesser the reputation, the lesser the trust. 

If nobody trusts you, how can anyone help or support you? Cheetah visited me once as well because I copied my own content from my own blog (ilyastarar.com) but I stopped doing that because my reputation as a genuine content creator is more important to me than my ease.

Do avoid this rookie mistake and spread this message accross by resteeming. Please upvote.


Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up! I'm new to Steemit and was thinking about copying some content from my other blog to here. Now I will be more carefull and not just copy and paste.

Glad to help just in time I guess. Welcome to steemit and have a nice journey!

Great post Ilyas. Tweeted to my 50K followers :)

Ryan, I'm so glad gladder gladdest to have you here! Wow! Welcome to Steemit and please remember me when you become suoer rich here ;)

If you own the content amd site the original source in the blog you should not run into a problem @fanstar. Many well established bloggers are recycling content feom thier own blogs and youtube channels. Its the flat copy past with no explanation that will get you.

Thank you for clarifying!. Steemit is not the easiest platform to learn and understand.

I think its pretty obvious when people clearly are here just to try and blackhat or go the fast way to make some money. I believe you have to think long term, as with all other things, and do it for the fun of it. Money, sure it's a motivation for I suppose everyone on Steemit, and that's OK. But you gotta create content, resteem and make contacts/friends an be an overall decent person. It's like, you cant get ahead in the "normal" business world without that.

Thank you for adding a valuable content which further clarifies my point. Being original and contributing generously is the key here in my opinion.

I totally agree with u.
Following u :)

Thank u so much for this helpful post. It really helped me in understanding what to post n what not to.
Resteemed n upvoted!
Stay blessed :)

Maybe it is not clear to some newbies that this is basically a blog site is for original content.

Some of them know that. Not all but some. Even then they try to see if it works. I'd advise working instead of finding shortcuts. Some people may just be innoncent as you indicated.

And glad to follow you. :)

Your post inspired me to immediately write this one just now, to add my voice to yours on this issue.

https://steemit.com/steem/@sircork/psst-wanna-know-a-secret-about-steemit

Thanks @sircork I saw my followers list and found you there and of course followed you back. Glad you're spreading an important word. Thanks

All part of the service! Thanks for returning the follow!

I have noticed some extremely different writing styles between post and comments by the same "author", makes me wonder. I have unfollowed individuals for this. Thanks for the article, keep it real, keep it fun, keep it real fun.

Have a good one! Q

Thanks a lot and you really go deep with your observation. It's great! I would love not to post rather than posting copied content which is not my own.

Love the message here brother. If you want to profit, and change lives, and make a difference, create, don't copy.

Thanks a lot, Ryan. I hope my fellow minnows get the message too. Wishing you best of luck here and I can see you becoming the big dawg steemian in a matter of few months!

niece can i past my blog link as a reffer

Yes, you can but Cheetah will still tell you that this content was found somewhere else. Do not post too much from other places on the internet.

@ilyastarar Thanks for researched posts. I have a question though, what about posting videos or gifs in the post. Aren't they copied ? What happens to that ?

Great points. Never thought about using my own stuff...now I know that's not a good idea lol.

Glad you know that now and hope to see the creative genius come out finally!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38