Getting Back to Steemit! Here's What I Was Doing During The Absence!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hi People,

It's been a serious amount of time since I have actively used Steemit. Reasons are quite a few. I had some urgent but important matters to solve. On top of urgency, one of the issues required critical financial management. Unfortunately for me, the crypto market went down like crazy and the recent revival took a long time to come. Unfortunate because my money is either invested in crypto or was loaned out.

U5duAdBjkkYgVvPAs4ukU5tPfwAXtbR_1680x8400.png
Image by @krypto

I was in dire need of money and had to get a chunk out of my longterm savings to solve the crucial financial problem at hand. Actually, I had planned to buy my first ever car in March, 2018 as a part of my 2018 goals. I really wanted to go ahead with my plans but finances were bleak. I requested people to return my loan but to no avail. Along with that, I kept waiting for the crypto market to yield some profit; also to no avail.

The obvious mismatch between my goal to buy a car and the financial circumstances took quite a toll on me. I must say that navigating through such a situation was very difficult for me as I had to make some urgent, bold, and risky decisions. Some of the decisions have paid off. Some could have paid off a little more.

One such decision was to sell all of my 900+ SBD not for cashing out but to invest in a more promising cryptocurrency. Even though I was in need of cash, selling my hard earned crypto asset at that petty price was simply not an option for me. The little financial intelligence that I have did not allow for such a stupid action. I, alongwith my friend @jbn, sold most of the SBD and bought SmartCash. We bought it when it was just $0.07 and in a few days we are sitting at a nice 70+ % profit. I think it is one of the best short-term as well as long-term investment that I may have made.

We got itchy about SBD's situation due to its confusing position is the Steem blockchain and the apparent pegging to USD. We took a decision to sell our SBD to buy some coin at its lowest and expected to rise. SMART was a good decision. However, the day we sold, SBD pumped nearly 100 % in two days. We could have waited for just one more day and made a lot of profit. But as @jbn and I agreed, we cannot time this market. We made a good decision though. SBD won't probably make us rich, SMART pretty much may.

So, whatever SBD I had, I have put it in other cryptos; mainly SMART. I had some Steem too which I sold twice at the pump to buy some other coins and wait for Steem to dip. It had dipped and I am looking forward to adding back at least the amount that I have sold. The only chunk of Steem that I have sold for cash it the lastest 221 Steem transfer to Binance. I needed to clear the final leg of pending payments for now and get things in order.

These final payments are for my first ever car. It has arrived at the showroom but is being registered with excise and insurance agencies. I hope to get my hands on it for the first time before this weekend. Whatever I have earned from Steemit has contributed a lot to my first car. Not so much directly but I could rely on availability and the expected appreciation of my crypto assets to get loans. I got some money out of my savings to clear these short-term loans (from friends only and interest free). When crypto rises back, I hope to be able to fill up my savings, as well as pursue my pending goals.

IMG_20180410_120050.jpg
Waiting for the white one to be mine. ;)

The process has been going on for a few weeks now, almost corresponding to the duration of my absence. I knew in my heart that I was wasting every passing day because I haven't been this inconsistent ever on Steemit. The market situation disheartened me a bit as well. There were other reasons for my absence too but this post is focused on letting you know what I was up to.

One very positive and satisfying thing that I have been doing on a daily basis is reading books. I am close to finsihing Saladin by John Man, which is an epic story of crusades and how Saladin became the focal point of Muslim revival. He's praised by Muslims because he conquered Jerusalem and by Christians because he was a generous and kind conquerer; unlike the crusaders who filled the Holy City with blood and dead bodies when they first arrived in 1098.

152390992731689742218.jpg

I hope to be active again, reply to your comments, upvote them, visit your blogs, share my thoughts with you, bring back the community element and, of course, Steem on!

Sort:  

Welcome back to Steem! Looking forward to reading posts from you. And Congrats on buying your first car! That is so very exciting :)
So awesome that crypto was able to help you make such an epic purchase. I love seeing everyone's success in the crypto community. It really warms my heart. Thanks so much for sharing your story!
Ivy

Thank you so much. Crypto helped me a lot. Other sources of incomes themselves are too scarce to afford risk taking or bigger purchases. I have kept 95 % of my portfolio intact (rather kept adding) because I didn't want to sell at such low prices.

I can totally relate to that. I wouldn't sell during the downtimes either unless I absolutely had to. I just hold and add to my crypto portfolio during dips but this one has been a longer one for all of us. Good for you that you were able to stick it out!

Good to see you are back mate, and I hope you can share with the community some pics of your first ever car, that is an important moment in everyone's life, and probably every person remembers their first ever car.

Cheers!

Thank you so much. The car is at the showroom and will be handed over to me in a few days after insurance and registeration in my name etc. I sure will share my happy moments and probably save the memory on the blockchain forever!

My heartiest congratulations brother....
Like we say here....
Mubaraaan!!!
Allah Pak naseeb kry...
Gari to aa gai, gari wali kb aae g???

Mehrbaaani paa ji!!! Thank you! Gari waali ke liye e li hai keh aa jaye tou ghumain phirain ;)

May she come soon....
I used to say when I was a bachelor....
"Oh God, for God sake, just a girl"
Lolz

Do you really believe in smartcash or you just bought it for speculative reasons only? And if so, why do you like it so much...

Welcome back! 😀 Congratulations to you for having a new car. 😀 Lots of your followers are waiting for your very informative blogs. It's great that you're back! 😀

woow welcome back :)
yep your blog posts are serious helpful to the steemians always wait for your awesome effort post ..
See you on Steem On..

Thank you so much. I do realize I need to get back to Steemit and execute a lot of ideas that I have yet to deliver.

Welcome back Ilyas. So all of your absence for the good reason. Congratulation to become the owner of the car. May the car ease your life and help you to climb more success in your life. All the best @ilyastarar

Good to see you back man!

Was getting worried when I didn't see your blog posts appearing in my feed recently.

Glad to hear you are coming back though, your content is 'must read info' for all Steemians.

welcome back brother <3
I hope you will buy that car soon!
best wishes <3

It is almost mine. I will get it in 2-3 days In Shaa Allah. :)

JazakAllah for your good wishes.

INSHALLAH <3 it's mean we should get ready to take treat from you ;)

It has arrived at the showroom but is being registered with excise and insurance agencies

So you got the car?

Congratulations

I will get it in 2-3 days after the insurance is done. Almost mine. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72