After Working on a Post for 4 Hours, I Quit...

in #steemit6 years ago

So, I was planning to publish the next post in Understanding Steemit series. I published the first post of this new series by me yesterday. It was about understanding Steemit economy and has received great feedback. I had promised to post the next post on understanding Steemit reward distribution. I was doing that for the past four hours, with speed of a turtle because I am on smarphone.

ilyastarar
An unrelated image from my cousin's marriage

You May Be Thinking...

Yes, you may be thinking why it is a big deal because I could easily use a desktop or use the Mark Down editor on smartphone, or just use eSteem app. If you are wondering what I am talking about, read the Steemit editors tutorial here and eSteem app guide here.

I Was Working on a PC...

Well, it is a big deal because I have to manage a lot of factors at the same time. Let me explain. I started writing the intended post at 10:00 PM (four and a half hours ago). I was using my PC and created the basic outline and text part in an hour. When on PC, I prefer using the visual editor because of my WordPress experience (from ilyastarar.com). So, I was working on a PC and it was fine.

Then I Had to Switch to Mobile...

It was fine until I had to leave my room and laptop at 11:00 PM for something urgent and important. I still wanted to work on the post and publish it tonight so from the visual editor, I switched to HTML editor, copied the HTML verison of the post and sent it to myself on Facebook. The plan was to copy the Facebook message containing the HTML version of the post, paste it in the mobile broswer in HTML editor, switch to visual editor and start working on it.

And It Was Pain In The Ass...

As per plan, I worked on it for almost 3 hours. If you haven't experienced visual editor on a Chrome browser on Android, you cannot imagine how much of a pain it is in the arse. I kept working patiently because I wanted to publish the post. But I don't like to publish posts containing errors and duplicate paragraphs. Visual browser on a mobile device is a painfully difficult thing to handle. I have done it before with shorter posts but for a post that needs thousands of words, visual editor is too much pain in the ass.

So, I Quit!

I downloaded an application which saves files in .txt extension to save the HTML version of all the work that I have done in four hours. The work is saved now. I will open this file on the desktop tomorrow, switch to visual editor on Steemit and publish after removing stupid errors and duplications caused by the mobile version.

Mark Down Editor Works Best on Mobile Apps

Thank goodness there exists Mark Down styling to use on mobile phones—which I am using seemlessly right now—otherwise I cannot imagine being as active on Steemit as I normally am because I do most of my work on mobile phone due to certain limitations. I wish I had done all the work on PC in Mark Down styling because that would have enabled me to publish the post in two to three hours.

80 % Work Done But Unable to Complete...

To share with you the agitation, almost 80 % of the work on the post has already been completed and it required just half an hour more to be published after review and preview. I could have posted it by now but I am glad that the work is saved and I will be able to publish it tomorrow.

Steeming On But It Has Its Pros & Cons...

To be honest, maintaining Steemit account, being active here, and creating detailed content is not as easy task; especially due to multiple constraints. More than 90 % of the times, I use mobile device to do everything on Steemit. I have to. It's not as convenient as the desktop is, and it takes a lot more time and effort to create content, but I do have access to Steemit all the time. That's a big plus.

Share Your Experience

I shared these thoughts with you to let out my frustration that I have gathered in four hours of work on a post which I really wanted to publish tonight. It would be interesting to know about your experience of using Steemit on PC or smartphone. Do let us know in the comments.

Sort:  

Oh shit I do really feel bad for you.

I got frustrated several time creating posts for steemit.
Always and always again I forget to cache my posts for Steemit.
So it happened a few time that my pc broke and my whole texts were gone.
And as you might know: It takes me mostly several hours to create my posts since they are usually bigger...

I try to cache as often as possible now.

It happened with me some times too. I wrote the whole post and while adding tags or publishing, the clear button got clicked and yessed. Haha!

I have been lucky. Many times the battery of my laptop went off and I was left with a dead PC containing my post. I turned back on and found the post intact in editor. The Steem Dream post was completed in literally 3 weeks. All the time relying on the browser to save my work without a proper save or back up option.

Sorry you are having a tough time across platforms. I would never attempt a complete blog from a mobile phone.

I did this one from mobile as well. I am out so can't use PC. Mobile does give me flexibility. Most of my posts are done from mobile. I manage that with some difficulty but posting from mobile can be very hard for some people.

And thank you for the vote. I remeber having conversation in comments when your were new here. August/September perhaps. Good to see you this big. Best of luck and more success to you!

Most of the times I also put up the posts through my phone. This because of most of the pictures I use are from my phone, so its easier to add them in. Writing long posts on the computer though.

Sucks mucho @ilyastarar!!

What? You do all this from mobile? I can't even!

9 out of 10 times, I use mobile phone to create graphic images, take screenshots and edit them to show the required area, write my posts, link other posts etc. 9.9 times out of 10, I use mobile to comment or reply...

Definitely agree with your paragraph regarding maintaining your SteemIt tasks.

"To be honest, maintaining Steemit account, being active here, and creating detailed content is not as easy task; especially due to multiple constraints. More than 90 % of the times, I use mobile device to do everything on Steemit. I have to. It's not as convenient as the desktop is, and it takes a lot more time and effort to create content, but I do have access to Steemit all the time. That's a big plus."

It is not easy, it takes time, patience and perseverance, but at the end of the day it is worth it. Especially, when you receive great comments regarding something you posted.

My experince is so tough because I am always using mobile for my all work .I am also a youtuber I maked many videos with my mobile and here i am using mobile for all posts and taking pictures etc. I am new in this field and i am also a student.I manage that with many difficulties but I like to face all problems with always smiling. I really like your post . Your all posts are interesting.Thanks for sharing your experince.

It's not only you.
At times I give up on post that don't intrigue me, when am reading it like the audience.

Working a content with a mobile phone is annoying, but thanks to steemit for having Mark Down it is easier to make my posts.

And here I find it incredibly difficult to even get that esteem app to load on my phone :/

I feel your pain... I also once in a similar situation, and now I use StackEdit (desktop/mobile) to write my draft and copy/paste to Steemit and publish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66