What is OWNERS KEY, POSTING KEY and ACTIVE KEY?? Steemit Things You Should Know

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

ggggg copy.jpg

Steemit is a place where we socialize, express, learn and earn. we own a account with which we are able to connect to the community. Only you have the key to open the gate of your account and if you lost your key or someone else intentionally or unintentionally hacked the key, you can lose your account that contains your connection to your friends, people and even your hard earned money.
Since our account on Steemit do have a big value therefore Steemet developers created multiple gates to make it secure and nearly impossible to crack.
I am going to crack down the working+purpose of the keys we see on our Permission tab:

MASTER KEY / OWNER KEY

Master key is the Owner key, The Key that actually contains your account. YOU MUST SECURE THIS KEY ON SOME NOTEBOOK because one it is gone or hacked THERE IS NO COMING BACK. One can change your password, withdraw your all amounts he will actually become YOU!
therefore Steemit insists you to secure your password on multiple places and NEVER TELL ANYONE ABOUT IT.

How can I recover my account if I lost my owner's key?

There is no coming back now! you lost every thing now. right now even Steemit can't recover your account.

POSTING KEY

Active Key is used to login and do normal stuff like

  1. posting
  2. commenting
  3. upvoting etc

What if someone hacks my Posting Key or use it?

If you doubt that someone knows your Posting key and loging as you in your account, you can change your Active Key with the help of Owner's Key..

ACTIVE KEY

Active Key is used for some sensitive tasks such as,

  1. Transfering and Withdrawing funds
  2. Power Up and down
  3. converting Steem Dollars
  4. voting for witnesses
  5. updating profile details etc

System will ask for Active Key when you will try do to any of these tasks.

What if someone hacks my Active Key or use it?

If you doubt that someone knows your Active key, you can change your Active Key with the help of Owner's Key..

How can I change my Owner's Password?

You can change it by tapping approaching Wallet section and Passwords in it, you have to enter your old password and use the new generated password.
reset password.JPG

How can I Recover my account if I know the Owner's key but the Hacker changed it??

Logon to
https://steemit.com/recover_account_step_1
and put your username and password and click START RECOVERY. there is aprox 30 day recovery process. Here Knowing your Owner/Master Password can save your account.
dddd.JPG
REMEMBER! LOOSING MASTER KEY IS DEATH!!


I hope this helped, let me know in comments if you want me to cover any topic...
Know Steemit well to rise up in this community and play your best part... lets make this community better together!

U5duHYTny6g75Dg8YDQjSmZRjLEfJAP.gif

check out my previous posts

What is WITNESS?? Why should I bother VOTING?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamzainshahbaz/what-is-witness-why-should-i-bother-voting

What is STEEM, STEEM POWER and STEEM DOLLAR? Work and Purpose explained

https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamzainshahbaz/what-is-steem-steem-power-and-steem-dollar-work-and-purpose-explained

5 Steemit Facts You Should Know

https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamzainshahbaz/5-steemit-facts-you-should-know

Untitled-1.jpg

Sort:  

glad I found you man, your posts are awesome, and finally starting to understand how it all works. Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43