The time I got delegated 2k Steem Power by @justinashby for one month. This is what I'm doing with it.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So I'm chatting in Discord the other day and we start talking about Steem Power. I join in and make some random comment about having 92 SP & one day I'll be famous when I have more SP. @justinashby secretly checks my SP, and says, " From 01 March you'll have 2k SP for one month". After I got up from falling over due to shock, I said, "What! Really?".

This was a few days before 01 March. So naturally I think, "Yea, we'll see". A true as I'm sitting here typing this article, as soon as the clock hit 01 March I got delegated the 2k SP from him. He sent me a DM informing me of my new found status.

For someone to do this for someone else, without expecting anything in return, shows true character. It reflects selflessness, a personality trait that is rare in this world we live in. This just goes to show the type of people found on Steemit. Willing to help others, willing to fill the gap where someone can be blessed and give them a chance at improving themselves and make them more visible on this platform.

With this delegation I have vowed to:

  • Never upvote myself in the one month ( incl. any alt accounts )
  • Fully support the people who support me daily
  • Not randomly give out 100% upvotes

I know it's only 2k SP to some of you, but to me it's about the principle of the matter. What if this was 100k SP? Would I still not upvote myself? That is a tricky question, because it's so tempting to do just that. For me however, I have a target I need to hit with my daily posts to survive. ( Doing Steemit fulltime ). If I had 100k SP I would upvote myself with 1% or 2%.

The reason for this is because, for me, my target is $15 per post per day. If my post is at $13 let's say, I'll try and make up the remainder with commenting. If I don't succeed there, I'd upvote myself to fill the $2,00 gap. I believe that if someone trusts you with a delegation, why use it on yourself with a 70% upvote or 100% upvote? We're all here to help each other, so if someone helps me, I'm going to use that to help someone else.

It basically snowballs into people helping people I believe.


Image Source

The voting slider is also pretty damn awesome. It makes me feel important to be honest, like I'm not invisible. LOL. No really, for me it feels great. Everyday I look for new posts, new people on the platform that has quality content, and then upvote them at 100% if I feel it's worth it. It feels so much better giving someone $0,40 odd instead of $0,02. @justinashby believed in me enough to delegate this SP to me, & I don't want to let him down by just upvoting myself or giving random posts 100% like a post containing one picture of a palm leaf or whatever.

I have never been delegated Steem Power before and I must say I feel honored that @justinashby trusted me enough and believed in me enough to bless me with this awesome gift for one month. This is a huge thing for me to be honest. For some of you it might be, "Bleh, 2k, whatever", and that's fine, but for someone like me that's still a goldfish it means a lot.


Image Source

So I'm using this Steem Power to the best of my ability to help others. When I help others I inturn help myself. So it's a win-win in my opinion. When the delegation ends, I'll still continue doing the same I do now, the only difference is that I'll upvote myself then. With that glorious $0,02 :-)

So @justinashby, you have my gratitude and my thanks. I just hope that one day I can return the favor over & above. You Sir, deserve all the credit. Thank you once again, THANK YOU.

Sort:  

Holy cow man!

Major props to @justinashby for doing this. He made a great choice in selecting you. And this post is proof of that. Good luck resisting the temptation of the self upvote.

My one suggestion would be to monitor your voting power. I went a little upvote crazy once and it felt like it took forever for it to recover.

Hello my man!
Thank you so much for the kind words. Yes, I really gotta keep an eye on it. I'm so used to voting at 100% that equals to $0,02 LOL

Thank you once again my friend.

Very interesting post @iamnotageek .For me, something new!Thank you!

ЯЯЯЯЯ.gif

Thank you :-)

This post has received a 0.16 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice one. The Rev has done you a real cool one there. Hope it gets you what you need.

Thank you my friend. & thank you for your support! ( The upvote )

I had a good feeling about you. I just wanted to help you get on your feet some.

Thank you so much Justin!

I don't think there is anything wrong with upvoting your own posts, if they are good quality. Same goes for comments, but then they have to be kick ass mother f*cker comments, like in a whale battle kinda sitch. I don't upvote my own comments, except for visibility, and then only by 2%

Good luck with your new POWA xx

Thank you very much :)

My buddy my pal my brother mi hermano.... whats good how u been long time no see lol so uhhhh u have power now huh lol

Oh-Gee! Yea, I can now go Super Saiyan! LOL

A few days ago, I read a contest that says the 5 winners will get 700 SP for one month. You got a lot of more than that. Can you guess how much an upvote get if we have 700 SP?

If I get, I use 50% for self and 50% for curators, and goo posters.

Your upvote value depends on the value of the markets and yes of course your Steem Power.

Thanks, please give present value of upvote when SP is 700.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94