Set Up a New Desk

in #steemit7 years ago

Most of you probably didn't catch my previous introduce yourself post but I am currently studying for my CPA before I start work in October. I'm back at my parents house for a little while and mentioned to them that there wasn't a great spot for me to study since my parent's work does not require any sort of home office space. My father remembered that my grandfather's (his dad) desk has been in the attic for the past twenty years and that it would definitely be large enough for my books, laptop, scrap paper, and whatever else I need. So we went up there, on the broken attic stairs (story for another time) and brought down the desk piece by piece.

Since my parents house is near New York City where I will be working and living, and they are getting older I plan on spending more time at their house whenever I can. To make myself more comfortable and help with my work I've decided to make the basement my future office away from home and work as well as a man cave of sorts to watch sports (I'm a huge Yankees and Jets fan). This would be the perfect space to set up the new desk.

After a lot of dusting, vacuuming, cleaning, and broken glass (my father bumped in to me while I was trying to hang up a picture) the desk was finished.

IMG_3978.JPG

It is a Clark and Gibby Inc. desk from the 1920's or 30's and although it could use some refinishing, for a 90+ year old desk I think it looks great. I also haven't seen anything in stores with this kind of quality wood and craftsmanship. I've added a few things and here is my current set up:

IMG_3981.JPG

I plan on adding a nice wood chair in the future, possibly something like the picture below, and would love to hear if this great community has any other suggestions on what I should add. Please comment if you have any ideas and don't forget to like the post and follow me for updates on my future endeavors as I begin life in the working world and eventually start my own company. Thanks!

81uxb4yNmDL._SL1500_.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you!

Welcome looks like you have a great place to study with no distractions.

No distractions except for steemit obviously! Glad you like it.

Thanks I just found and added the baseball autograph of Roger Clemens too and put it at the end of that post.

@huskie bro i love accounting too and welcome to this wonder world of steemit follow everyone if u wana get followed follow me i will follow u

Thanks for the advice, followed you to get a jump start on following everyone!

Congratulations @huskie! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @huskie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54