Money Is A Poor Representation Of The True Value Of Your Content

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Watch On DTube

Content Validation

Countless times the topic of receiving upvotes appears all across Steemland. This is a topic that I am very passionate about speaking on because I understand the pains and frustrations of not having your content noticed or even compensated for that matter. There goes my life in a nutshell. However let me point you in a different direction in regards to the content you produce and it's value. 

   First off the problem is this. We have come to look at our work in the world as only valuable if we are compensated for it. When I say compensated I'm strictly talking monetary value here. Now of course getting paid for content produced is the dream but it doesn't always work itself out that way. Yea it sucks spending countless hours on creative material only to get paid little to nothing. So I definitely understand. 

This world has a weird way of valuing content and even more than that it's highly subjective. I have shifted my paradigm long ago from looking at the value of my work or what I create only in terms of monetary value. Why is it important to do that? 

It's for the sake of your sanity and not being weighed down by some other person's subjective opinion about the value of your work according to some form of monetary payment that will never capture the true value of your work in the first place. 


There you go. A mouthful I know. 

   So that leads me to this. If you are a creator, artist, visionary, curator, Steemian, DTuber, whatever you are, I want you to focus on putting your heart and soul into your work and continue to show up for the sake of others being able to enjoy what you create. Change lives, change communities, change someone's day, and do it with love and passion. That's the real value of your work. Not this temporary thing we call money. 

When people tell you that you've made their day by something positive you said , that's real value. When someone says you helped them in the middle of their depression, that's real value. When someone uplifts you with encouraging words, that's real value. When people can laugh and relax because you have created something with them in mind, that's real value. 

   I wish all who are putting in tons of work right now the best. I really do. I just want to encourage you to keep creating in spite of being overlooked. Keep creating in spite of no one paying you. Think and reflect on why you are doing the work you do in the first place. This is for everyone who I've ever had a conversation with about not being upvoted or noticed. This may not be what you want to hear but this is medicine to your soul. Although I understand some people's livelihood depends on the upvotes, I mean nothing but love and want to see creators appreciated for their work beyond just getting upvoted. 

Screw an upvote. Sorry for my bluntness but like I said I am very fiery about this because when money is involved we ALL go crazy. You want to create something of real value? Love someone today. Forgive someone today. Uplift someone today with your words. Create your heart out. Climb a mountain and take others to the top with you in the process. You eat, I eat, and we go out into the world to feed others that need to eat. With love and peace to everyone. 

How do you measure the value of content?

Have you joined the OneLoveDtube discord group HERE?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@humanearl,
You are correct bro! I see the value of your contents, but I see sometimes you are earning low! Therefore, I believe money is not representing the true value of contents! Specially I see some people share an image with blaming someone else and earning huge money for that!
So do your work well, and you are writing your success story with STEEM!

Cheers~

This is the second best comment of the week. And also that's the thing with getting upvoted. It is highly subjective. So I don't worry because my rewards are waiting on me in heaven. So I'm good and I have to continue to be patient. Thanks for understadning

In the USA a lot of our value system is messed up. In my state and most states the highest paid government employees are coaches. You can make 10 times or more coaching football for a season verses running the whole entire state! I think all of the NFL coaches and most big college football coaches also make more than the President of the USA. I think running the entire country should be valued more than coaching some players to play a game. We also spend a lot of time and money on sports. I think sports are good but I think they are overvalued whereas things like fighting and gaining freedom are undervalued.

True that. It is jacked up for sure. I don't get that either.

I would love to start or be a part of projects that compensate people totally different than how societies normally compensate people. I would love to see people compensated based on character and contribution to community instead of by skills and performance.

I'm hoping steemit can help change things. Maybe not by much but at least a little bit. I think even raising awareness can help. I used to spend a little bit of money on spectator sports. In 20/20 hindsight I think I would have spent less. We all make bad financial decisions at times.

I do understand, what you are saying, but this is (unfortunatelly) the issue of numbers. TV ratings, sponsors, company earnings, media exposure ... It's just the way it is. If people would not want to watch NFL on TV, the coaches would not get paid that kind of money. It's as simple as that.

Yeah I don't think people should spend as much time and money on sports. I'd upvote your reply but my solo upvotes are below the .02 earnings threshold.

Havend posted for a while put im still with you my friend. Great to see you beeing active and i hope you and your family are doing great 💪🏼❤️

Ayyye! Long time no see. I hope you are well too brother. Take care of yourself.

Everything is good thank you...havent much time for blogging because of some good changes in life but i will slowly start again ✌

I agree that the most important thing here is not payments. The most important thing is the creation of values ​​and perseverance. We need to love the process of creating content. First of all, we need to learn to value our own time and our own work. What you do should come from your heart and then you will be grateful to yourself for the work done. It is important.
If you do your work to create content with passion - then you will have fun. Yes, this is important because otherwise you will quickly lose interest. Why will this happen? Because if your main goal is to get money, then most likely you will be disappointed. In order not to get disappointed, you must learn to love what you are doing.
Good advice Earl! You give the right examples!

You summed up exactly how I feel. This is a big topic and I just want to give people a different perspective. Amazing comment.

@humanearl, That would be very interesting topic indeed conversation. Also some dis-like to talk this conversation. We all waiting to get upvote for our creative contents. You see some big whales created contest and get more massive upvotes. But I looked some contents not enough and not being valuable for our steemit community. But they got massive earnings. Probably I Frustrated for this. It mean I didn't post trending level blogs. But I seen most minnows made very creative one and didn't get more upvotes. A new user visits your blog for the first time, he goes through sequentially which decides your overall success with your blog. In order to track your user’s behaviour through the blog, you will need to first set it up with a web analytics tool of your choice. Let’s drill down further to the kind of metrics you can target to achieve the goals you must have set for your blogging initiative. But my suggestion is don't disappoint and be patience. Steemit giving massive chance for earnings. You can use Dtube, Dmania, Busy.org tags and auto upvotes automatically received.

Of course their is tons of financial potential for people here but I think the main thing people need to focus on more than anything is the quality of their work.

That is what I like about you brother your genuine intention of helping others and enlighten them to come in the right path in these platform.Money does not matter always.

The words that you told are indeed valuable and will always try to help users in my own way.

Keep on going brother with your insightful words.

Much respect brother. Thanks for understanding

Fabulous heartwarming words loaded with sanity and positivity. When we make someone happy with our actions, words, smile, love, hope, behaviour and attitude; that's the real beauty of living.
Upvotes are valuable no doubt but real value comes through our generous and considerate kind attitude towards others.

This is by far the best comment of the week bro.

A really great motivational speaker you are. You have nailed it by saying that the real beauty is to lessen pain of anyone and give him a comfort with love and care.
The qulaity content is all about passion, monetary benefits comes only after that.
Your unconditional support and encouragement is very vital to the minnows to find their passion on the platform.

This is of course what I'm all about. Empowering others to go and empower others.

great content one day or the other makes it way to the high :)

Oh mehn, thanks bro for this, it's like you read my mind, been having to put out so much of my work which no doubt are of good quality but yet, no good Upvote comes my way, no whale or dolphin even thinks of visiting my blog and it hurts goes somehow, we all need the monetary benefit that Steemit offers but then like you said,

I just want to encourage you to keep creating in spite of being overlooked.

I am encouraged by this dear bro @humanearl and I pray soon it will become huge and better for me.
BTW,

You want to create something of real value? Love someone today. Forgive someone today. Uplift someone today with your words. Create your heart out.

These lines are priceless. Love is the true value for life.

This is a big conversation that I've had with so many. Thanks for simply understanding and trying to look at in that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54180.99
ETH 2273.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35