There Is No Secret To Doing Well On Steemit, It's Actually Quite Simple

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Watch On DTube

Add Value

Recently I've gotten questions regarding how to do well on Steemit. Many newer people want to know the "secret". There is no secret to doing well on Steemit and although there are a few factors that help, I only want to focus on one. 

The common thread I'm noticing with many so called successful Steemians is that they are adding value to the platform or to the lives of many people. Now, there are so many different ways you can add value to the lives of other people. You have to ask yourself this question.

"What am I really fired up about that can also help someone?"

This is a simple question that I understand is hard for many to nail down. Think about your life experiences for example. You may have a pool of knowledge about what you've been through that can encourage or inspire someone else. I've shared many stories here about the difficulties in my own life. For me I know that if I can open up about these problems in my life there is someone who can relate or be helped by it.   

Look, we all have something to give. Yes. Every last one of us. When we give we truly live. Focus on giving and you will have no problem connecting with other people. If you can just help one other person then you've made a difference. Everyone's success looks different so just focus on being yourself too. 

Ideas To Add Value:

  • If you enjoy fitness you can share with people how exercising can improve their cardiovascular health
  • If you enjoy traveling you can talk about what you learned about a particular culture
  • If you enjoy reading you can write about some books that have changed your life
  • If you enjoy math you can teach people how to solve difficult problems
  • If you enjoy talking about money management you can give people tips on how to use their money more wisely
  • These are only a handful of examples of things that can help people. What you need to remember is that your life is not just for you to enjoy. It is to be shared for the benefit of others as well. That's why I showed the picture of Ikigai right up above. Hopefully understanding Ikigai will help you brainstorm some value adding ideas that can help you improve your blogs or videos and connect with others much better. You can learn more about it here.

    Matthew 23:11-12 “But the greatest among you shall be your servant.“Whoever exalts himself shall be humbled; and whoever humbles himself shall be exalted."


    What are some ways you can add value to others?

    Image 2


    ▶️ DTube
    ▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What are some ways you can add value to others?

one of those ways we can add value to the loves of poeple on steemit is by leaving heart-warming comments on their posts. Everyone needs encouragement to once in a while. I might make a post that pays me $0.02 after 7 days but if I have very nice, engaging and encouraging comments on it, I would feel like the payout doesn't matter anymore. Good comments of people's post is synonymous to a lovely smile in reality.

Talking about success on steemit, I often tell those I mentor, patience and consistency is the key. Nobody gets up a ladder without first taking the first step from the lowest part of the ladder. Little drops of water makes the ocean and the way of a thousand miles begins with a step. People come into steemit and want to become successful overnight but it never works that way. Patience and persistence has always been my watchword here and I will continue till I see myself at the top even though I am a minnow today.

Right it takes a good amount of pushing through and having patience. And even though people have to put in the work I still enjoy helping just to give some encouragement and fuel to keep pushing forward. Great thoughts you have.

I am BRAND NEW to this, but posts like these are so helpful. Thank you! And you're totally right, a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step!! What a wonderful reminder.

There are so many tags here in steemit and if one pays little attention to those tags then definitely he can find his interest area to share here in this community.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

So many tags and so many communities to be a part of. There's something for everyone.

Majority of people who complain that they are not successful on steemit don't produce original content. There is no way you can truly impact people if you don't produce a content from your heart. You have to birth live changing write ups.

Don't feel like you can't do it, but know that you can. Be yourself, be happy and spread the love. The community is all about caring for each other, so don't worry if you don't see the love yet - it will come knocking on your door pretty soon.

Just write from your heart, and before you know it, people will come knocking on your page.

Yea I've seen way too many people copy and pasting material from other sites and try to get credit for it. It's hard creating original work but if you want to build your blog then that's what you have to do.

You are so right. You have to be you. We have enough people trying to be someone else.

Yes there is a lot to learn and contribute to this community and as we experience more, we can deliver more and that is what i have learned so far.

But one thing is quite certain here that the learning process is continuous phenomena and value addition is always there.

Thank you @humanearl...steem on and stay blissful...

It's so much to learn which is s good thing. I still have a long way to go in that department.

Thank you so much @humanearl, I learnt a lot from this post with regards to being a successful steemian. But I feel it's important the steemian in quote gives a description of what he takes as success. To one, success might mean an increase in steemit reputation, to another increase in upvotes, and to another increase in the influence in the lives of others.

If your definition of success is to influence the lives of others, then you have to have a heart connection with them. I can recommend @humanearl method of this heart connection, by asking your audience questions, giving them the opportunity to ask you any question that bothers them, and trying as much as possible to give solutions to those problems.

Through this means, you would have impacted the lives of so many, and success would have begun.

Right bro. That's why I said whatever success you are trying to achieve here because it is different from person to person. You pretty much hit the nail on the head with my goal here and how I view success. Reputation, upvotes, and payout are just bonuses. But what I really love is connecting.

I know God will bring the harvest in due time so no worries.

For me being good on steemit is being yourself.We know what talent we have,we should use those talent to be an inspiration to others.But do not stop there because others has also talent that they can showcase.Be open to everyone.We should practice the give and take.Steemit is not focusing in 1 person only,it is a community that shared different talents and different thoughts,different races with different culture.We should be open to that.Teach them at the same time learn from them.With that you can be successful.And you @humanearl has that character that makes us,your followers,keeps visiting your page.

@kimaben I appreciate you so much. You said it perfect. That's why I talk about the Art of Reciprocity because it is about us helping each other out and using our talents to do so.

Exactly that is also the reason why i love your blogs you keep sharing experiences and bring motivation to every steemians.Thank you for appreciating my thoughts.

While reading this post, I must say that something @humanearl does with respect to this topic came to my mind. There is no other content creator I know that engages and reads the comments of his commentors like @humanearl, and this is a secret what taking note of. If you spend time reading the comments of you post, not just for the sake of reading, but for the sake of digesting and replying, not giving the "nice comment" reply, people will become addicted to your posts.

Unfortunately I just ignore those "nice comment", "good post" replies. I really don't mind responding to comments and upvoting them but at the same time I want people to contribute to the conversation.

@humanearl adding value is what ive known u for since i met u on steemit.. And i must confess, i wish to do the things yu do here on steemit.. Thks so much for this inspiring post. Its a daily pill to me. U have my upvote on this, tho it worths very little but its from my heart

It's from the heart man that's all that matters. I hope that the culture of giving to one another and supporting followers becomes a big deal on Steemit. I am just playing my part.

thanks for the acceptance. And I hope so too. All I know is that for those who are doing it now, will surely get rewarded bountifully both on Steemit and from God. So keep up the work sir.

Time is a very great factor in the success equation. Most people want to start steeming today, and start influencing 50 people today, that's not possible. You need the ingredient of time to bring your success to fruition. You need time to understand the steemit system better, to become better at writing and formatting your posts, to become better at replying to comments, etc. And if you continue diligently, you will grow to become a big success and influence.

Yes time is so huge in the equation. I think people want things to happen fast since we have all this new tech but building something usually requires an amount of time spent.

I believe the first step towards being successful at anything is the believe that you can be successful and you believe in God, yourself and your abilites. Success comes to those who believe in themselves. Points of doubt and feelings of uncertainty have a knack of holding success at arm’s length.

Don't look down on your experiences as not good enough to help another. Someone might just need exactly what you have to offer. And that would be the turning point for him or her.

Our experiences however painful they may be in the moment are valuable lessons learned. I have now embraced all that I've experienced in my life and I use it constructively.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48