Kayton's Law: How Steemit Fixed The Eternal Problem Of Internet Anonymity

in #steemit8 years ago

Kayton's Law states that as long as there is no mechanism or vehicle that encourages or empowers users to willingly give up their internet anonymity then the community is destined to fail as a mass market social platform. 


The (Un)intended Effect
Steemit has either wittingly or unwittingly successfully adhered to Kayton's Law and I find that just incredible! First let me give you a background of the Law. The Law comes from my personal friend, Keith, but we always call him Kayton (due to various reasons). He once made a very interesting comment about how many platforms that want to be social often struggle with the vitriol and toxicity that naturally comes from internet anonymity. 

The Law Explained
Kayton said that in order for a social platform to succeed and reach the mass market they need to find a way to make users belief that it is in their best interest to give up their internet anonymity. He argues that people turn more rational once they know that their real self are being put out there. By removing that veil of anonymity your are effectively removing a lot of the hate, vitriol and spam. This will therefore entice new users to check out the community as it becomes a more and more inviting place.

When Kayton was mumbling these words in one of his usual rants I was simply gobsmacked with just how accurate the law actually is. Just take a look at Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat. All of these platforms encourage users to show pictures of themselves and share their real selfs. 

Steemit & Kaytons Law
And Steemit does this in an excellent way by having the "introduceyourself" section. By having lots of these posts upvoted it encourages new users to do the same. Which in turns makes gives the Steem community mass market appeal. Which in turn removes the problem of internet anonymity by a large chunk. It truly is brilliant! 

Just seeing Steemit adhere so much to Kayton's Law is something that I find truly fascinating. Although the law is not perfect, I find that reddit lies in direct contrast with the law I find it to be incredibly applicable for Steemit.

Sort:  

True! It just makes you want to share more with the community and because you reveal bits and pieces of yourself, you always strive to do better.

Indeed! It really is a cycle of progress.

What is most interesting about this article is that I have been pondering this for a few days already. If you read my intro, and or my blogs, you will see or read about my reasons for not posting a picture. But for the last few days I have been contemplating doing an intro#2, with a verification pic and all....stay tuned. I will refer to this article. Thank you.

It is good to read that this article made you contemplate more! Kayton's Law certainly does make you realise just how impactful the introduceyourself section really is.

I agree the introduceyourself section does give Steemit mass market appeal. I just upvoted you! I just posted steemit's first pool meeting where I talk about my initial thoughts about it. Check it out! https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/first-pool-meeting-on-steemit-initial-thoughts-and-advice-from-someone-who-has-made-money-online-since-2008

Thank you so much for the support, I did not think that people would actually care too much about what Kayton usually has to say. And the pictures of the pool meet look rather fun. I have not been in a pool in ages.

Congratulations @howtosteemit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71