Sort:  

One thing your equations do not allow for: curation is more fun than self-upvoting.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

@holger80, I think that no matter how you slice and dice it, something ought to change. Maybe if self-voting always gave you zero reward for that vote (including when self-voting comments) it would have an impact for the better. I, for one, would love it if it were impossible to upvote yourself for any reason. I can't tell you how many times I have accidentally hit the upvote button on my own comment or post while on mobile due to a lag or something wierd in the screen response. It matters a lot to me when I am saving my votes for my Curation Trail Project, and I accidentally waste a vote on myself.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 07 FEB 2018.

Cheers!

Thanks a lot! I think there will be some changes, steemit is still very young and there are many people which care about steemit :).

That is an interesting notion indeed and if i wasn't community building maybe that would be the way to go as it seems more effective

Thank you for doing the math. I was just thinking about this yesterday and about should I or should I not start self-voting. For now, my decision is no.
I am grateful for this post :)

You've convinced me to only upvote myself!

Kidding. This is a legitimate problem. On the flipside, though, I get the impression that reaching out and interacting with other steemians, upvoting others, encourages return upvotes. Gift economy is a good way to look at this site. So, theoretically, if you build up a large enough network where people are sharing, curation could outweigh self-votes.

haha I was about to say something similar, but in truth that's a bit disappointing that it works that way as curation helps the community as a whole I think.

That's true. I'm trying to do this.

But you can build a small python bot, that creates comments and upvotes them. So you can recieve maximal rewards by doing nothing. This worries me...

I personally wouldn't want the author/curation paidout to change but got no solution to the problem neither...
but I'm sad that a few days ago my upvote was worth 0.02$ and now is only worth 0.01$ :(

useful postings.

This is a massive calculation am trying to balance my self so i give it a good try @holger80

hey, you should have a look into abh12345's weekly curation league. There are a couple of users that make 1-4 STEEM/1000SP with manual curation. So it is possible, but I agree it's really hard and time consuming!

Nicely calculated, indeed educative and eye opener of cause. Let's keep educating ourselves on steemit to keep growing this wonderful community.. Steemit and be more calculative like my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47