You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit; The Trojan Horse of Information Dissemination

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Fantastic post! I joined this community to receive feedback and critiques on my writing, thought experiments and photography. I had been using Facebook and Instagram but my articles went unread, my poetry elicited private messages asking if I was depressed, theories were ignored and my photographs were liked without evaluation.

I look forward to a forum "created, curated and valued by a truly discerning audience; one brimming with all sorts of intellectuals, deep thinkers and creatives." Currently, I am attempting to gain an audience and have been posting content with more images and catchier titles but hope to increase my reputation enough to be able to post content sans marketing gimmicks. Thanks for being a supportive member of the Steemit community!
Truly,
H

Sort:  

Hi @hmfoucalt, Thanks for your kind feedback.

I'm sorry to hear about your negative experiences in regards to the unreceptive community that you were limited in reaching out to within the confines of those dinosaur platforms. I'm sure that you'll find a more than welcoming, appreciative and interactive audience here on steemit!

From my observations, marketing is most often not adding anything enticing to a post. In fact, it often detracts from the integrity of the content, which could be especially damning if you have written a killer piece, that would have otherwise been far better received without the sales pitch approach.

Determine the content that you personally most value and then concentrate your efforts on sharing it in an engaging way; This is a great starting point in my opinion. I'm sure that many of your steemit comrades will also agree on the value you have identified, through upvoting and leaving comments, if your assessment of the offering is one that you can conclude provides people with original, inspiring, thought provoking, interesting, informative and entertaining content - Then you really don't need to consider dressing it up in bells and whistles. It will stand out on it's own accord and by it's own merits. This is the theory anyway.

Before you draft your post, just ask yourself questions like - "how helpful" "how useful" "how original" etc. is my offering? Maybe write down the identifiable examples of "how........" your content is.

Once you realise the value proposition that your content provides, so will others.......and then you'll be sailing!

Being ever mindful that quality over quantity wins out in the end, is a very effective, and useful practice.

Welcome to steemit. I wish you all the best on your journey here. I look forward to your sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62390.04
ETH 2455.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66