You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Voting-Bot Users: Is It Time To Review & Update Our Lists...?

in #steemit7 years ago

I noticed the exact same thing regarding Dana's content... and it is not the first time I have seen a previously respectable Steemian doing something that could be a bit sketchy.

To be fair, Dana is not actively breaking rules. I would not flag their account - but I did unfollow after I felt like it wasn't the kind of content that I wanted to engage with.

There was another user who I noticed doing something similar... one I had a lot of respect for.. and it really disappointed me.

Lastly, thank you for sharing your story about realizing you made a mistake with mindhunter. It takes courage to admit when you've done something wrong. It seems unfortunate that Steem's curation system encourages people to follow the herd and rush in to vote any content that will get money - regardless of the quality of that content.

I always encourage users, new and old, to just curate based on quality. The real rewards come from content creation and engaging with the community, NOT scavenging for dust from curation rewards.

Sort:  

re: flagging... yeah. I do disagree with the rewards, feeling they've been inproportional to the quality of content. However, it's a tough grey area determining when it may be appropriate to use the flagging power for such a purpose.

Thanks for bringing that up, as that was one point I wanted to touch on in the story but forgot.

And your welcome. Courage and some humility. But, we all make mistakes from time to time. And I'd rather suck it up and admit mine like this to set an example and pay forward the lessons, because it is a valuable lesson for the community and those using bots. Standards need to be set, and sometimes fucking up is a necessary part of the process of raising them - but if we keep our mistakes to ourselves, there's bound to be others who make the same fuckups, thus doing more damage to the community, when such could be avoided by simply swallowing one's pride and vocalizing as an example to others of what not to do. Not everyone might read or take such lessons to heart and implement themselves, but if even one or two do, the community will have upgraded because of it...

every time I look at dana's blog, I am scratching my head... there is a disconnect between content and rewards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70033.92
ETH 3504.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.81