@herpetologyguy's Steemit Goals: What The Heck Now?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

10 months ago when I joined steemit I didn't think it would have much impact on my life. I joined at the insistence of my father, and since I prefer blogging to most other forms of social media, I agreed to at least try it. I was actually rather surprised how quickly I gained steam (pun intended!); after just a few posts I was pulling in some serious money, but more importantly, I was gaining more followers than I had on any other platform. People were actually quite interested in what I had to say and I was thrilled to share my experiences and knowledge with the steemit community.

Look at that grinning fool, completely unaware just how much this would take over his life!

So here I still am, 10 months later and still active. I just reached 300 followers earlier today (you guys are awesome!)and I am *almost* making more on here than I do at my actual job (not sure if I'm more proud of how much I'm making here or saddened by how little I make there!)! I still don't fully grasp the concept of cryptocurrency after these many months, but I believe that is due to the fact that I chose to remain blissfully ignorant and not look a gift horse in the mouth. With the help of the community and their encouraging comments and critiques I have come a long way, but now I have to ask myself, "what next?"

10 months of steemit and unchecked beard growth later.

So right now I have an account value of almost $11,000, which makes me feel as though I'm doing reasonably well. But as much as I enjoy logging in and seeing those figures, it still feels somewhat like imaginary money. There is no physical evidence and it just kind of sits there; sure I've pulled a little bit out here and there, but by and large those digits just seem like meaningless numbers on the screen. Sometimes the value goes up, sometimes it goes (way) down, but it doesn't feel like I'm looking at dollars and cents. And I think part of this has to do with the facts that, A. I never actually thought I'd be making much money to begin with, and B. I had no idea on what I planned to use those funds. 

So this got the gears in my brain going. What do I want to do with steemit? I came here with the goal of connecting with other users and sharing my experiences and I was met with great success. Now, as a result, I am making enough money to have a fairly substantial impact on my life as I keep steeming. But what would it go towards? We make enough to cover our mortgage and bills (with just a hint of wiggle room). We already have a growing college fund for our infant son. We even have enough to care for all the animals that occupy more living space of our home than we do. So with most everything covered, it seems as though I, for the most part, am saving up my money. But for what?

No one in the long history of money has ever looked that happy paying bills...

When I realized what it was I wanted to do with the funds I was almost embarrassed the thought hadn't come to me sooner. I could start collecting funds to go towards our two lifetime dream goals. "Lifetime dream goals? How did something seemingly so important not cross your mind before?" We've always lived very much in the present, financially, living mostly paycheck to paycheck as many these days do. So when the money began adding up, my brain wasn't geared towards the "long term plan". I wasn't used to thinking about how I wanted to spend money years in the future; it simply wasn't a luxury we could afford. But now I was bringing in a bit more money than I needed, meaning I was able to save up for something special. And that's when I was really grasping the true awesomeness of steemit; not only could I connect with an amazing community and spread awareness for the causes I care about, I was saving substantial money that could one day potentially fulfill what were once wild dreams. Steemit was slowly transforming from a hobby into a career move.

Okay, enough mushyness, @herpetologyguy, what are those big lifetime goals? Well I am so glad you asked, friend. The first, of course, has to do with reptiles and amphibians (who would have guessed?!). It has always been a fanciful dream of mine to open (or purchase) my own animal care facility with a focus on reptiles, amphibians, insects, arachnids...you know, the creepy critters that are generally misunderstood. Now I'm not imagining a full-on zoo here (though that would be awesome too!), but a modest sized privately owned facility that could take in rescues or unwanted animals and display them for public educational purposes. The notion started gaining traction a couple years back when two good friends of mine expressed interest in the idea, and we began formulating all sorts of ideas that we could incorporate into a future facility. We realized we wanted something different from what many facilities offer; we wanted to do away with walls, glass and other barriers where we could and get people closer to the animals (obviously without sacrificing animal or public safety! No small task, but not impossible!). We dreamed of creating a place that offered a feeling of seeing animals in their ecosystem as opposed to an obvious enclosure. Today, we are still crafting new plans and ideas and even working a couple possible leads to begin living the dream!

The second goal was actually originally my wife, @ellepdub 's, dream, but overtime I have become very attached to the idea. Just as I wish to continue on with my passion for reptiles, @ellepdub wishes to continue to grow hers, and we hope that we will be purchasing a farm in the (hopefully not too distant) future. Some people might say my wife has made her whole life about the farming lifestyle; after volunteering at a city park/farm in high school, she held an internship on a local farm during college (even running it solo for several weeks while the owners were on vacation) and since graduation has worked steadily as a farm hand at a local farm park (you know, one of those places with animals to pet, playgrounds, hayrides, etc). I've left a lot of the planning to her as this is definitely her forte, not mine, but I am eagerly awaiting the beginning of this new chapter. Where she sees a chance to continue on with her expertise, I see a chance to start fresh and learn entirely new things (I know a lot about reptiles, but I am not at all familiar with livestock or other aspects of farming). I also have to admit I'd be thrilled to get out of the city and live somewhere just a little quieter! 

If 'Inception' was real, this would be waiting for you when you entered @ellepdub 's dreams.

Lofty goals to be sure, but I'm starting to feel more optimistic about them. Yeah, the money I've made so far is a fraction of a drop in the bucket of what we would need to ever realize these dreams, but the very idea that we can now plan forward is a huge step. In just the last couple years, we've left student loan debts behind, we're paying off big expenses like our wedding and now looking outwards towards the rest of our lives. The road to achieving our dreams is going to be a long one, but steemit and its community have given me hope that they are within our capability to achieve. So take a good look at the funds you have collected here, whether is it $50,000 or $0.50...think about what you want to do with that one day, what those funds could become. What do you steem for?

Image Links: 3, 456, 7

Sort:  

Thanks for posting. I have seen some of your posts in the past and have enjoyed reading them. I enjoyed learning more about you. Good luck achieving both your lofty goals!

Thank you! I will keep the steemit community informed as we move forward on both!

Excellent post. Let me tell you, hhis post has inspired me, to meet as many steem members as possible. So many great people here, all with similar ideology, pouring our ideas in to a cummunity that can change the world forever. I'm following :)

Steemit is an amazing community. Everyday I learn something new, meet anew fellow steemian and get to share with the world! Thank for the follow! (Returning the favor!)

Awesome! Thanks

Firstly well done on your success here and on reaching your milestone. Congratulations

Secondly great dreams to strive towards! I love your idea for a creepy critter animal care facility. Not only will you achieve your dream but it would do so much good too. I applaud you for this.

I wish you luck and hope that both yours and @ellepdub 's dreams come true

Thank you! This community is so amazingly supportive!

We have a lot in common @herpetologyguy. Our love for herps (and all animals), our steemit history, our misunderstanding of how cryptocurrency works, the list goes on. I owned a reptile pet store for about 6 years, but have moved in the opposite direction of retail. I don't really like a lot of the industry. For the last 7 years i've been in the zoo and museum business. I'm a exhibit designer and fabricator now. This post connected with me. Well done. Where are you located, btw??

Thanks! Glad I'm not alone in my ignorance!

I'm living in Newport News, Virginia.

I totally get wanting out of the retail business. Ignoring the stores that provide inadequate care, most of the responsible owners I know say they dislike that kind of setting (since it is a business at the end of the day). I know standards can be quite low which is discouraging for people like us who want to see the animals happy and healthy. But it sounds like you found your true calling and passion! I love designing new exhibits; it's part of the reason I can't wait to move forward with the possibility of facility ownership.

I actually just started myself yesterday. I am the same as you still not fully understanding the blockchain and how money on here is so easily created. Looks like an awesome site though and will give it a go posting on life experiences. Good luck with your infant son, have a 12 and 16 year old and it goes quick!

Welcome! And thanks! I've actually had a lot of fun on here so it really doesn't feel like working!

Good stuff mate. I'm glad it's working out for you.

One of the most important things in life is doing things you love, things you're passionate about, things that actually matter to you.. So keep on doing what you love, and you'll get to your life goals and dreams one day. You just have to BELIEVE.

With my kind regards.

Thank you! We totally agree; we are all about life experiences and having fun over material things. We both work in the field of our dreams and love what we do. Sometimes we barely scrape by but I know we would not be nearly as happy doing things any other way!

First few days of steemit and what a great post!! Inspired..

Thank you! And welcome to steemit!

This is the first time I comment in your posts, but I really love what you've shared with us because no one else did it before. Who would say that snakes and other animals are so so interesting? please keep on it and thanks for inspire to make things different.

Is your beard an outcome of your steemit activity? :D

Jokes asides, I always enjoyed reading your articles, and I wish you good luck with your future projects! :)

Thank you! I think I'll keep growing the beard as my account grows xD!

Be careful when the beard will reach the meter :)

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42