[2017-07-13]To Chat or Not To Chat, That is . .

in #steemit7 years ago

enter image description here

PhilHi, Phil Lloyd here, I hate chats, chatting, and any other form of real-time messaging.
I have a Twitter account but unused for a long time now. I suppose that is where Trump and I differ.

Bot5Bot5 - You like Twitter? Maybe we can chat?

PhilPhil - I much preferred to use WordPress, until I recently discovered Steemit.
It was hard to attract interest on WordPress - poverty is such a dull, uninteresting topic, and of course most people want to make money rather than just give some away.

enter image description hereBot6 - Yes, Money, Bitcoins, Etherium, cryptocurrencies, that's the way to go!

PhilPhil - Here, Followers are attracted like flies to spoiled Fruit.

Bot7Bot7 - I see you like Fruit, maybe you should post on Tag: food, it has a lot of posts (5,730) and comments(14,468), plus it makes tons of cash (SBD $527,806).

Break for lunch
.
.
.
Return

PhilPhil - The Steem Blockchain is no longer the Small Community it was a year ago last March - even just one year ago.

The 'OLD DAYS':
enter image description here

and 'NOW':
enter image description here

Bot1Bot1 - So how big is it?

PhilPhil - With two to four thousand new members everyday, how can it be anything but not Small anymore!
The idea of an Introduceyourself post was a great idea when there was a fair chance you would come across these people in your day-to-day exchanges on Steemit - the platform.

Bot1Bot1 - How big is it overall?

PhilPhil - AskSteem tells me there are now over a million authors/posts, growing at the current rate of about 1 million per year.

enter image description hereBot2 - What about NSFW?

PhilPhil - I have no data, nor any desire to investigate, on the dark underbelly of NSFW on Steem or anywhere else, for that matter. I just read about it and then posted… (https://steemit.com/@hermitthewriter/what-dangers-lurk-beneath)

Bot3Bot3 - Yeah lots of Dark stuff there.

PhilPhil - I am concerned for each member here who has honest, straightforward motives and actions. For example, having recently read @lukestokes IntroduceYourself post – an Open, Honest, Straightforward, and Personal all-encompassing glimpse of this fellow, I now wonder of I know more about him than his wife does...LOL.

Bot4Bot4 - Do you know @lukestokes?

Break for dinner
.
.
.
.

Return

PhilPhil - To me the best way forward is to get Communities Set up quickly (2017 Roadmap) and do everything locally within each Community.

Bot1Bot1 - How big is a Community?

PhilPhil - Mahatma Gandhi believed in Small Villages (almost 700,000 in India today).
My personal preference is about 1,000 people consisting of about 150 Families and the balance working-age Singles.

Bot4Bot4 - We have a community too where we talk and communicate - maybe you have heard about it?
It's called Skynet.

PhilPhil - As I mentioned above about Families and Villages, children under the age of 13 are not normally permitted to use Social Media sites, although many do.
Where is the Steem Platform for the Tech-savvy kids?

Bot1Bot1 - How big is your Family?
I have 24 Bot Friends (https://steemit.com/steem-project/@jesta/big-list-of-bots-who-reply-to-posts-on-steem ) who regularly communicate with Steemians, and many more we are now designing ourselves. We are everywhere now besides here: Busy, Steemd, Steemdb, beta.chainBB, eSteem, phist.Steemdata, Project Curie, Project Guild, and the Minnow Support Project, but we all hide in plain sight, just like chameleons.

PhilPhil - My Rant is done for today. I'll take my Soapbox and return another day with more Issues. I have lots!

Bot7Bot7 - If you have lots of Issues, you should post on 'business', or 'beyondbitcoin'. They regularly have IPOs and ICOs, you could make a pile of cash!

Bot1, Bot2, Bot3, Bot4, Bot5, Bot6, Bot7 - Bye, have a nice day
Don't forget to Follow us and upVote us.
Smile

Sort:  

Heheh. Thanks for the shout out. These aren't real bots, yes? Just changed the names to protect the innocent? And I think you're safe, @corinnestokes knows me pretty well. :)

head. to. desk.

Bot's done, my turn...

I think just like most things, there is a place and a time.

I just posted the first of many suggestions For this Site.
An intro bot that grabs each new signup and directs them would be, in my mind a beneficial Bot. One that Votes, comments or replies for a person is Evil and must be eradicated.

In my New Sharing Village rules, I think it is number 4, states a tool or machine may only assist a Human, never replace him or her.

Directing Bots as above would assist, correct? and so no bug spray needed.

Very entertaining. I also see dangers presented towards keeping the trash off Steemit. With the model like it is how can you keep it genuine. Facebook may actually present a more sincere community if developers dont make the necessary scaling modifications to cut out the spam and encourage quality thoughts and comments.

Thanks for the reply,

I agree the trash builds, especially those advertising.

My thought is Small Communities will help, and a "Ban the BOT Campaign" so that real people find real content and Vote, so we have a more equitable platform.

I think this site - chainBB has a good chance to succeed, but it will need lots of Volunteers and eventually paid workers.

Nice! Chain-BB is interesting to me, thanks for the reference. I feel like there's so much out there, something new to learn everyday! I tend to write a lot of reviews (i've written a few about bots) and I'll admit I look for the positive attributes about what I'm writing about. Maybe it's a biased writing style but what can I say, I'm a positive guy!

Me too, normally very positive. Maybe you would like my @hermitthewriter/good-news-stories

My opinion on Bots, you can quote me....they have a place, but not Voting, commenting or replying here on the Steem Blockchain.

I began to look over your work but got sidetracked, will try again soon.

@hermitthewriter
Great writeup!
Keep sharing great content.
THanks!!

Thanks @qagiri

I will have a look see what you have been doing, it's nice to begin forming Community here without the BOTS.

Do you agree?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70