You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is Making Waves with Hardfork 0.17.0

in #steemit8 years ago

Yes! I'll be covering busy.org next. I agree that strong decentralization is important, how do you feel about the delegated proof of stake and the limited number of witnesses?

Sort:  

"Iffy" is how I feel. I come from the "Bitcoin" mindset and as much as I'm pro capitalism and don't oppose hierarchies (of which there are many subsets, yet many peaceful) as such, I would prefer that there was more public discussion and attempts to examine the entire ecosystem more critically.

Running a truly decentralized operation demands that those currently in the know of how the system runs, actually make an effort in trying to explain it as objectively and accessible as they can to the community. After which they will need to ask that even the less influential and tech savvy on the platform bring up whatever risks they may think of as possible.

I think the importance of this has been downplayed a little too much, just because theory suggests ordinary users either "don't need" to know how the blockchain at large works, or they simply "don't know as much as developers do" so their concerns are not taken as seriously.

My own critique of how things work currently often focus on the risk that one or several cults of personality pose to the platform. Money on its own is not a problem, but a lot of very irrational people still have a lot of money in this world and they could use that wealth to influence the blockchain for reasons and in ways that the rest of us might not think benefits us. - I would like to see more of a "limited government" type of approach to Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.26
ETH 2696.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88