You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Voter Review: bringing bot power to the masses

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi @cryptomancer - I have read this article about 4 times now and while it is very informative and I've gained a lot of knowledge from it, I am still slightly confused and am hoping that you can put an end to my struggle :) So, I got myself a steemvote account (thank you for the detail showing me how) but now I am trying to figure out the process of curating. I know you've talked about it here- trust me I am trying to wrap my head around all this new content but this is a whole new world to me and it's just not crystal clear yet ;) I noticed that my voting power went down to 40% (how did that even happen so fast?) I have used your rules here and tried to follow them in order to fix this problem but I am wondering if the issue lies with me manually upvoting and commenting (a lot)? I really enjoy engaging on here personally and have set aside a reasonable amount of time to do so, so in that case is it even viable to have a bot set up to do it for me? I would really appreciate your input as you seem to have it all figured out! Looking forward to hearing back from you! Thank you for this article :)

Sort:  

There was a recent upgrade to the Steem network that increases the strength of your votes but causes your voting power to drain quite quickly. You lose 2% of your remaining voting power for every vote at 100% strength. It is possible to mix both a manual and auto curation strategy (that's what I do myself). But if you do a lot of manual curation, you will want to turn the voting power of each individual Steemvoter rule way down so it doesn't drain you too quickly.

I suggest pausing your Steemvoter account for a couple days to let your voting power recharge, then re-enable it and tweak the rules until you find some good equilibrium point. It takes a bit of trial and error; getting things set just right is more of an art than a science.

OK- thank you so much for your response! That makes sense, I definitely overdid it manually while the bot was going on in the background. So, I've gone ahead and paused it for now and will remain strong and not press the upvote button for a couple of days to recharge... might need to hide my computer- the content on this platform is just out of this world ;)
Thanks again for your time helping me better understand this!

You're welcome. Haha, good luck resisting the temptation to hit that upvote button! Once you've gained a certain amount of Steem Power, you get access to a vote power slider that lets you set the strength of each vote just like you can do with Steemvoter rules. That makes it much easier to go on big voting sprees. For instance, I've been upvoting most of the comments in this thread at 15% strength, which allows me to vote a lot and still give a decent chunk of change without having much of an effect on my account's overall voting power.

Thanks for the support :) ... It's quite the battle not clicking that magical little bubble today. I keep refreshing the link, willing the VP to increase faster... sadly it is not working. On a positive note, it gave me the opportunity to explore and create my own content today and it's been fun interacting on the other side of this. I ended up writing a very basic 'how to' to help other people who were lost and confused like me and it seems to be helping people understand which makes me really happy! It's refreshing to know I wasn't alone in not having a clue haha Thanks again for your help, I mentioned you in my post as someone who supported me and helped me understand what seemed impossible. I'm looking forward to learning more and steeming on in this lovely community! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73