Should users be forced to open a post before upvoting it?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I am not talking about the blockchain here, I am talking about the SteemIt interface. I say this as there is no way to prevent a bot from upvoting an article on the blockchain, because this is seperate from the SteemIt web interface, which just reads and interacts with it.

Time after time, I see posts with a large dollar value and/or large number of votes only to later see that very few people have actually viewed it.

I understand the argument of upvoting and then viewing later, but this simply does not happen in most cases. For me, the problem is that the people who benefit from voting without viewing are just perpetuating the money without content value paradigm. Even when viewed, poor Whale content is often rewarded with comments such as, "This is the quality content we need on Steemit", and that from 'respectable' SteemIters!

There is one very 'popular' and high-reputation person on SteemIt I could single out, with examples, but I would be downvoted for doing so, so I will not. That's the problem with SteemIt, downvoting is too powerful a mechanism. (FYI, its effect on reputation is only in the web interface, beit in SteemIt or a different one. It would be quite easy to develop an interface that calculates reputation differently, or not at all.)

Not much more to say on this, only that things really do need to change. I would suggest developing a different web interface, one that shows the disparity on each post, but I've seen that the SteemIt one is just too dominant.

(Picture: www.pixabay.com)

Sort:  

Its a great picture. thats right ! I'will follow you and upvote you. follow me @sonysainto . thinks to you

Yet, they should.

Congratulations @hate-stopper! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hate-stopper! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59628.53
ETH 2405.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45