Getting To Know Steemit - By Commenting on it

in #steemit6 years ago

In this post I want to call out to people who are new or want to join steemit. I am not going to be sharing any technical details about the platform but in this post I would like provide a reason for people to join steemit. Better yet I would like to give a reason to the new people who are on steemit to stay on steemit.

I joined the platform in January 2018 with this naive idea of going big time on steemit. The ingredients were already there - You post and you earn, you comment and you earn. Hell even if you upvote somebody else, you still earn curation rewards.

This was me a few months ago:

What I actually thought was all true but with a minor difference. I realized that if I want make something of myself here then I needed to stop thinking like an individual but start to think in terms of how we can grow as a group. I would get back to this point later but I can't impress enough on you how important it is to actively participate on the platform, rather than being a solitary blogger who just posts and does not interact.

So you have an account on steemit now. If you check your wallet then you would notice that some steem power (SP) has already been delegated to you for free! This way you don't have to start with a zero balance. So how do you work on steemit? Lets break it down a little:

  1. You post or comment
  2. You may or may not receive an upvote from fellow steemians
  3. If you get upvoted then you are rewarded with Steem or Steem Dollars (SBD)
  4. These rewards are automatically sent to your wallet after a week where you can collect them
  5. You can choose to convert your steem and SBD to steem power in a process called powering up.
  6. The more you power up the more is the value of your upvote.
  7. Next order in things would be to join some communities on steemit and be a part of something worthwhile (I am a part of #steemsilvergold - a group that shares a passion for bullion). This way you contribute to a groups cause and earn their support, all the while getting to enjoy the group activities :-)
  8. Participate in contests. A few days ago I came across 'Pay It Forward Curation Contest' and it is a very nice way to bring more people and earning to your blog posts and at the same time become the reason to bring the same steemy goodness to somebody else's posts as well.

The above points are just a little bit of ground work that you already know by now and I just put them here because the post felt oddly incomplete without the logistics. There is far more better information available on this on other blogs. My main purpose here is to write something of use to you here. Something that can make you grow on steemit.

For a newbie like me, that something is 'Writing Meaningful Comments' for the posts that you read.

Follow people you like to hear from and read their posts and I mean truly try to understand what they are trying to tell you. Once you understand that and give them a meaningful reply in form of a comment, I can practically guarantee you that they would upvote you. Why wouldn't they? You heard them, you heard what they were trying to tell you (that's why they wrote the post in first place - to share it with you). They will appreciate that took the time to listen to them and would upvote you based on how good the found your feedback.

Remember that for newbies on steemit it is difficult to get visibility. sometimes your posts may not get any upvotes not beacuse they were not good but because nobody saw them. So the idea of commenting for newbies is that when nobody is coming to you then you go to them.

Oh and remember that before you start commenting, you have some decent posts made. Once people see and like you comment they might upvote it but they also might want to visit your blog. If you have no decent posts on your blog your credibility goes down, hell you start looking like a bot.

Comments are the proverbial grease that makes this system run. So we need to get out there and leave some comments that would let people know that you are worth their upvotes.

Sort:  

awesome job @hashcash you are working hard I can tell!

Thanks dude! It feels great to know that somebody knows what you're doing and recognizes it.

I know how it is to be a lonely blogger. Done that and totally agree with you that interaction and being part of a community is as important as writing good and interesting posts like this one which has lots of valuable information and tips for the newbies.

Thanks man!

Interaction is key! I'm jealous of people with many comments on their posts haha. Getting so many few interactions can make a person lose motivation :/

Mild jealousy is good man. Drop by a lot of good posts and leave comments. Red fishes like us need to let people know that we are out there.................................

If you had written this article three months ago, I would not have made so many mistakes here in steemit... Living and learning...
About your points, have you read this? https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@silverstackeruk/new-steemsilvergold-community-upvoting-trail-who-s-interested
and this https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@silverstackeruk/step-by-step-how-to-join-the-steemsilvergold-community-trail-all-members-welcome
I think it is a good idea and I am following the trail.

Man three months ago I would have loved to hear my own advice :-) I guess we all learn by stumbling around a little.
Read the first post and going on to the second after this...........

Your comments are so good I fell in love with you...hahaha <3

A fine sense of humor you have...I might felt in love with it ;)

Ha ha.....your art is so good that I love you back for it!
BTW did you check my poem for E and Chickenosaurus that I left in the comment marathon that we had last week :-)

Oh I missed your poem, I didn't catch it, I've been so busy, so sorry. I will use it in my story, I've kind got lost in my new art projects....bad-bad-me, I am so selfish <3

@acesontop share the love (hugs to all without expectation. )

Why wouldn't they? You heard them, you heard what they were trying to tell you (that's why they wrote the post in first place - to share it with you). They will appreciate that took the time to listen to them and would upvote you based on how good the found your feedback.

This is the thing that people forget in a disconnected world. People want to be heard. Listen to them and they will appreciate the effort and reciprocate in some form.

and remember that before you start commenting, you have some decent posts made. Once people see and like you comment they might upvote it but they also might want to visit your blog. If you have no decent posts on your blog your credibility goes down, hell you start looking like a bot.

This too, it drives me insane when there is nothing there, or nothing posted for 2 months. To me, it is a sign of being uninvested and only in it for the votes. give of yourself, regardless of return

Really glad that you dropped by!

I think when people talk we rarely listen to each other. The least we could do is to read them carefully (since the words have been written and no longer effervescent) when written down.

True. It's very difficult to stand out when you have so many followers or follow too many people. The best way to do this is to be active (especially with comments). I might need to join a group or find a contest. Very good advice.

Thanks Bro.
Long time no see..... ?

It takes a lot of work, but commenting is really good-especially when you drop related comments that add value...... stuff like "Great post" "awesome", dont just cut it. Seems too generic....try and make it authentic.

To buttress what this post is saying..... I took my time to comment on about 60 posts on Thursday or so....and after I had commented on about 45, I discovered about 30 of my comments had been upvoted already!

Your votes aren't worth much as a newbie, and just like @hashcash pointed out......commenting would go a long way.....contests have been really helpful too..... being part of the winners of contests just about every week has massively aided my growth on here.

Good job mate, and keep up the good work.

Thanks for the support man. Really glad that newbies like us taking the initiative here and reaching out to other senior members. I remember several people who started almost at the same time as me but never made it beyond a few weeks. I am just glad that I got to understand the system before I gave up.

Indeed mate.... Well said. Cheers

I must say, you have a really good understanding of Steemit in your short time. I luckily never came to this site thinking about going big. I just kind of do me and I have been completely fine with the results.

You are right too, that comments are much more important than the majority of people on here think.Without the grease, everything starts to lock up.

Thanks man :D

For me posting stuff is important too but I am more of an observer, so perhaps that also helps in reading and then trying to give back a meaningful reply.

For me going big meant making a lot of dollars. When I came here I have already heard that you could make money on steemit. Although that is still true I just didn't appreciate at that time the true value of genuine interaction on a blockchain based platform. I know that I am not going to go big here on steemit but I do one day hope to convert my time here into a decent investment.

Well said! From my perspective, interaction and engagement are pretty much the backbones of how to build a presence on Steemit.

I think a lot of people come here with unrealistic expectations and think they will get rich from posting a few clever memes and cashing out. Not how it works. And I think part of the issue with retention can be tracked to the many who end up disappointed that this isn't "easy money."

Appreciate the response man!

Yeah coming in with unrealistic expectations is pretty mush the motto of every beginner. Still some people get to find a rhythm that works here. I am glad that I at least got myself started here.
With comments I found a way to engage with some really great people here and not to mention how much I have learned because of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54