You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DO RESTEEMING AND MENTIONING actually work well? Are those efficient ways of building reach and exposure on Steemit?

in #steemit5 years ago

As I've mentioned before, now that the steem wallet requires a second log-in, I don't go there any more, so will not see any memos. I check my "replies" link several times per day, so THAT is the best way to reach me.

I know that Steemit was not built as a social media platform and lacks those things that would make it one. This is exactly why I post the weekly "promotions" page. If only people would start USING it, we could then have a central place where people could go to see what other have to offer. It takes some time to build it up, but if nobody wants to be first to use it, then the opportunity is wasted. The solution is there but I can't force people to use it. It is up to each individual to either support it or ignore it. Someone like you would be the perfect candidate to start the ball rolling.

Sort:  

Dear @happyme

This is exactly why I post the weekly "promotions" page. If only people would start USING it

I've learned already that your strategy may not really work well here on Steemit platform. I've seen few other people trying to achieve similar goals and they are all failing.

we could then have a central place where people could go to see what other have to offer

That's the thing. We are all overwhelmed with amount of content and choosing what to read and support is not easy. If people cannot even go through their own feeds, then very unlikely they would visit anyones post to see what he is suggesting as valuable content. That just doesn't seem to work this way.

The solution is there but I can't force people to use it

As a user I would say that 'your solution is not helping me'. After all users want to reach interesting content created by those who they know and recognize. Not that many people actually care about content created by "strangers". So for that reason your solution may not really work well on this platform.

So real problem is not to collect links to interesting publication in form of "promotions" page. Real problem is somewhere else: how to notify your followers about your new publication. This is what is missing the most here.

Yours, Piotr

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99