Troll Accounts on Steemit! DOWNVOTING for FUN?! ๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜”

in #steemit โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

I got downvoted for the first time and I am so annoyed!!

It is 8:30am here on a Sunday morning in Sydney... I am working from my office at home but there are no calls coming in, because it seems that credit card holders in Australia and New Zealand are asleep in their beds (thank you) ๐Ÿ™ and I thought I would swing by https://steemd.com to look at my reputation, voting power, etc.

I was horrified to see a down vote on one of my posts!

A post that I had put time and effort into writing for a creative writing contest, which there is still time to enter so go here if you want to enter tonight

I had to know who this person was who downvoted me... had I done something to offend them??

I clicked to look at their Steemd profile and saw a series of downvotes from this guy... seemingly random... like he is just downvoting people for the sake of it.

When I go to his profile on Steemit I can see he has a 13 reputation... so he has obviously been down voted himself a few times... who knows what his story is... maybe he has now gone on a vengeful rampage of down voting haha....

Obviously it's not too big of a deal, but just a little annoying when you worked hard on a post for someone to downvote it just for fun or to be spiteful. I am thankful that in general Steemit is a nice, friendly place full of great people!

Have you guys ever been randomly downvoted by a troll account before? Let me know!

title image source: pexels.com

Sort: ย 

No reason and reply..... What an a*******

haha yes @art-universe agreed :)

LOL, I had a dissimilar experience, I had my first down-vote and I also investigated the "culprit"... Turns out he (or she, does not specify) possibly did have a valid personal reason to give me the small penalty. I went to their latest content, which I did enjoy, and gave them my F.U.R.R. Treatment, which is Follow, Up-Vote, Re-STEEM and Reply. In the inimitable "Way of the PEACH" it seems I have gained a new friend! Definitely a Follower, and I got an up-vote this time for my comment on the post. Had it been a bona-fide troll, I would not have done anything. Seems you have a real anti-Hannah-Luscious stalker, I hope it does not escalate. LMK if you need my help, I am here for you, most marvelous Hannah! ;)

hahah thats so funny that you gained a friend and follower from your downvote!!!
Thanks a lot for the kind comment, I doubt it will escalate :) Don't know how much longer a person can survive on 13 reputation.
:)

Quite a while, my friend! I have seen -3 reps, maybe LOWER! :eek:
It must take quite a while to reach those depths! :D

haha oh man -3 that is crazy!!! yeah I wonder what they did :)

IDK, he PO'ed a POD of WHALES, you think? :D

haha probably :)

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

For me It clearly looks like an steemit abuse action I think you should consider using the #steemit-police tag too in order to expose this account behavior,
when we have a look at his blog his account is about 4 months old and have never made a single post, he only comments, sometimes, wich means he got downvoted more than upvoted in his comments which means he is not bringing any good thing to steemit.
A good thing is that due to his low reputation he is not able to harm yours, but this behavior still being annoying and I think a non sense violence like this should not be tolerated in here, lets expose it and see what others have think about it too!

Steem on dear friend ^^

thanks @andyluy I have used the #steemit-police tag now :)
Yeah okay that is good that it doesn't harm my reputation, I was worried about that. But yeah definitely still annoying, not sure why people would bother to do things like that with their free time.
Thanks for the support!! :)

It could be a bot too.

lol a troll bot?

Sometimes it seems like steemit is degenerating.. Anyone can downvote vote you with no explanation that is BullSHiT ; it's also slowly becoming one big Spam folder.. people can make posts with ZERO Original content... just post someone else's YT video and Have absolutely Nothing to contribute themselves ... there is No recourse @steemcleaners only deals with copy paste plagiarism.. i though Steemit was supposed to be about adding original content @ned ...

yeah it does suck that they don't have to give an explanation - I feel like that would be a good thing if people had to explain their downvotes.
And yeah I do agree there is a lot of spam on Steemit as well which does suck, there is a lot of great content too... but you do sometimes have to wade through a lot of spam to find it!

A sad day in the world was when the no good trolls were born.. this name i will watch out for.

I have been recently having this problem. There are too many troll accounts down voting me to tag, but you can go on my profile, go to my posts and see. Its very annoying I am being down voted and I have done nothing wrong. I wish these people would stop.

It's hard to keep bad apples out of the bushel. I don't waste my time trying to eat bad apples :-)

hahaha :)

Some are haters unfortunately - sorry to hear this

thank you :) very true

Congratulations @hannahlicious! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really think reputation must play a role in downvote power, this should be changed. If your rep is 25 or higher, there should be no effect, everyone in good standing should be able to downvote with full effect. However as you drop below 25 reputation, your downvote effect should be exponentialy weakened for every drop in reputation score.
The reason for this is you can just buy STEEM and power up, and even if you have a poor rep you can go on a downvote rampage.

I'm new to Steemit so still learning the process, but I've thought that being able to buy Steem Power is allowing money to control a system that is supposed to be merit based.
I agree from my limited knowledge that those who have worked hard to earn a good reputation shouldn't be penalised by those who have a lower reputation.
The whole Steemit system sounded amazing when I first read about it, but seems that quite a few issues have crept in that are spoiling the original aim.

I still like/prefer steemit because these issues are out in the open, because its block-chain based its fully transparent.
The idea of people buying STERM for influence is fine as it creates an jncentive to buy, which increases/supports the price, which makes the platform enticing.
I think we agree though if you fall into poor standing among the community, your ability to honder those in good standing should be reduced.

I do like the whole concept of Steemit for sure and the intention to support quality content and do good in the world.
It just concerns me if that can or could be corrupted. Money does seem to have the ability to corrupt, whether fiat or crypto!
Yes those with a good reputation have worked hard to earn it, and it shouldn't be spammed away!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52